Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


M L King Jr Lab Experimental School 1

Posted January 04, 2016
- a community member
My child attended King Arts for seven years. His experience was great, until he got to the sixth grade. His teacher harassed and bullied him. Made racists comments and made him sit on the floor. Even when he tried to sit at the table with his classmates she denied him a chair. He is in the seventh grade and this teacher still goes out of her way to approach my child and bully him. I brought our situation to the principle attention and then to the district. The teacher was instructed not to have contact with my child. My child is very uncomfortable at school because of this teacher. We are planning to move out of the district. It saddens me that he will not graduate from King Arts with his friends.

M L King Jr Lab Experimental School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a parent
We're so pleased to be a part of the King Arts community! Principal Brown and the teachers at our school are all very involved, committed and caring. We love the various arts programs and couldn't be happier here!


M L King Jr Lab Experimental School 5

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
We've been at King Arts for the past 3 years. Most of the teachers are very good. The principal, Dr. Brown, is amazing. There is a strong PTA. If you get involved you'll soon get to know many of the staff, administration and other parents. We love the fine arts and literary focus. My 2nd grader just performed in the 2nd grade musical Willy Wonka Jr. All of the fine arts teachers are top notch.

M L King Jr Lab Experimental School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a teacher
Martin Luther King JR Lab School has now been renamed Martin Luther King Jr. Literary & Fine Arts School -- but, it is still the same great school. This public school is a model for others in the area. With a very diverse population, this school meets the needs of all. Whether a student has special educational needs, physical disabilities, or is a student with average to above-average or "gifted" abilities, this school works with every parent and each student. I have had an affiliation with or taught within many fine schools -- MLK junior teaches academics, builds upon creativity, and emphasizes cooperation and character building to each child that enters here. If all public schools sought to meet these standards, our school systems and citizenry would not be in such a state of turmoil. Kudos to MLK jr Literary and Fine Arts School in Evanston, Illinois.

M L King Jr Lab Experimental School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
My children are getting a very good education. They are in a diverse school setting and learning respect for all people. The teachers & staff are great! The principal,(Dr. Brown) is fantastic!!! KL is meeting all of my children's needs. I feel very lucky to be able to send my children to King Lab.


M L King Jr Lab Experimental School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
In our two years at King Lab, we've been extremely happy with the school. The teachers are so involved and caring. We're lucky to have such a great, unique and diverse school.

M L King Jr Lab Experimental School 5

Posted November 12, 2009
- a parent
What a great group of teachers, parents and kids! We feel lucky to be at KL.

M L King Jr Lab Experimental School
no rating

Posted October 23, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are excellent and I am looking forward to sending all my boys to King Lab and having as many different teachers as possible. That way I can get to know most of the faculty.


M L King Jr Lab Experimental School 4

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
The arts program is amazing! Having kindergarteners through 8th grade in one building is a great asset to both the primary age and the middle school.

M L King Jr Lab Experimental School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
The teachers & families are wonderful. Everyone pitches in to make the school as good as it can be. The PTA goes out of their way to ensure that we keep art and music in the curriculum. We are so happy to be a part of this community!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

M L King Jr Lab Experimental School
2424 Lake Street, Evanston, IL  60201
(847) 859-8500
Last modified M L King Jr Lab Experimental School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
M L King Jr Lab Experimental School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top