Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oakton Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2014
- a parent
Oakton is the first public school my daughter (a professor at Northwestern) has used for her five year old daughter here in Evanston, and we have been thrilled with it. Her teacher, Mr New, was not only a talented educator, but funny as well - the kind of teacher who draws kids in and relaxes them, but then takes the time to note individual approaches to learning. Really wonderful. The classroom itself was large, bright and merry, and the kids had interested, open attitudes whenever we visited. We wanted a diverse population for our adopted Ethiopian daughter and not only got that, but were very impressed by how educated and verbal the parents themselves were in discussing general elementary school issues. They have Spanish emersion classes but we didn't apply for them - I think it's sort of a lottery at the kindergarten level. Our one concern was that there was lots of waving in the halls and cheery greetings on the fly on the part of the principal, but not much other exposure.

Oakton Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
This school has amazing staff and support staff who help to create a loving and nurturing environment for all students, faculty and families. I am proud to be a roaring cougar.


Oakton Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a community member
"Unconditionally".. Oakton's Elementary (Staff') Will...For their students...Is an.."Early/Continous Life Educational Experience",,.consisting of an.."One On One"..."Child/Parent"..guidance/support... to their "Students" Well Being/Educational Needs...As I"ve noticed/witnessed..."Oakton Elementary"...Is an "No Nonsence/Zero Tolerance"...from it's Staff...inregards to "Any Child Left Behnd"...regarding their "Abilities" to "Succeeding"! Again...wish to include..."ALL" of Oakton's Goals for the "Success" of their "Students"...surely Falls under their "Goal" in "Making an Difference" in the "Life" of their "Students"...But Again...It takes an "Village" to "Raise/Teach an Child".. This is where...Oakton Elementary School..Falls Under..Teaching their Students...Reaching Out to it's "Parents"...for "The Greater Educational Being/Achievements of their Childrens/Students!!!!!

Oakton Elementary School 4

Posted April 24, 2011
- a parent
At first we were a bit nervous about sending our son here, because of the school's low test scores. We were so wrong! Our son has flourished here, and we are very happy with having him attend our local school.

Oakton Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2010
- a parent
Fabulous school. My three children have excelled there. Great teachers who get to know and show concern for each student. The creativity and inspiration of the teachers has been remarkable. The principal is approachable and willing to work with parents. I have found the curriculum to be very challenging. Children learn how to work independently and also how to work in groups. We enjoy the wonderfully diverse student population and the different ethnicities are shared and appreciated in a very relaxed environment.


Oakton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
One of a kind in the nation combining general education, two-way immersion, and an African-centered curriculum! We are a Spotlight School and have great kids, teachers, and administrative staff.

Oakton Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
I also feel the need to chime in on what a great experience we've had since our oldest began kindergarten. He has homework and loves it because he loves his teacher! Wow! We would've never expected this level of learning in K but the way it''s presented we're totally on board. We love the Principal and how he has managed to bring everyone together. The music program at our recent 'brotherhood night' had us all in tears. So happy to be in a diversified environment that actually functions! a loving parent

Oakton Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
We are thrilled to be part of the Oakton Elementary School and it's multi cultural community. Our children have excelled in all areas, math, reading and science. By the time they were entering 2nd grade - they were reading at a 3rd grade level. I would highly recommend Oakton!


Oakton Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
Our experience with Oakton has been totally positive! Not only is our child challenged academically (Oakton was recently named an Illinois Spotlight School), but the school has a total commitment to teaching the value of cultural diversity through both classroom and all school events - this is ensuring my child is receiving the most well rounded education possible. All of this in conjunction with involved parents, excellent teachers and a supportive and creative school principle, has made Oakton a gem for our entire community.

Oakton Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
This is a school community that s shown great academic improvement on the D65 curriculum platform and astounding resilience against the naysayers. My kids at Oakton are already reading above their level and doing math in their heads. I m under no illusion that they re geniuses; the whole class is doing well using the differentiated instruction method. Their teachers engage them every day and they have home work every night. I m completely happy with their progress and have confidence they will continue to perform well in this challenging environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakton Elementary School
436 Ridge Avenue, Evanston, IL  60202
(847) 859-8800
Last modified Oakton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oakton Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews.