Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 491 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

I have had various issues with all three of my children and we had just moved I to this district. The school was great! They stepped in and immediately did assessments, then arranged meetings with me to establish interventions and accommodations. I feel like the teachers went out of their way and were extremely thoughtful. I was seriously impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

We were new to the area and to Washington this year with a kindergartner. We had heard nothing but positive things about Washington, but I was a little concerned about the school relative to a few other District 65 schools with higher test scores. However, I took comfort with Washington's reputation for being such a warm, diverse and fun community. Our family could not agree more! It has been a very smooth and pleasant transition for us and we are very happy to be in this school's attendance boundary. Our child is learning a lot from a very caring, intelligent teacher with a knack for teaching and reaching out to children. We haven't had to contact the principal but we have met her on several occasions and she has been kind and she seems very available and involved with students and parents. Of course we are new-ish, but we highly recommend this school to date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

We arrived from France last summer and our 2 daughters attend this school. We are amazed by teachers and staff's involvement to help them. Everything has been made easy for them. The parents are really helpful too. We could not have been more pleased by a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

I loved Washington School! I went there for 6 whole years and enjoyed just about every second of it!


Posted July 16, 2011

I have three children who've attended Washington over the past 9 years. I can't say enough good things about it. Washington has a strong sense of culture that draws students and families back year-after-year to annual events like its Back-to-school Icecream Social, its Fall Festival, and Garden work parties. It's culture of caring that has been passed down from teacher to teacher and family to family in this nurturing community. Washington welcomes the entire family. One of it's greatest strengths is its parent involvement. Principals Ms. Ellison and Mr. Friedman believe in the importance of fostering a welcoming, inclusive, postive climate. They are always on the playground, welcoming students each morning and sending them off at the end of the school day. They host a new parent orientation and monthly coffees throughout the school year. They communicate regularly and set a postive tone, encouraging parents to call or drop in to see them any time. For more info & to preview all of the amazing before- and after-school clubs and activities offered by Washington's PTA, visit <www.washschool.net>, their parent-hosted website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Very attentive and involved principal. Teachers work carefully to engage students and help/ challenge them. Unbelievablely active PTA and parent volunteers. Two sets of TWI (two way immersion classes) makes it so that your TWI child's classmates get to vary a bit from year to year. Lots of clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

teachers, curriculum, class size, parental involvement, after school activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Washington school is undergoing great positive changes and will get a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 within the next year. We parents are excited about all the positive developments taking place. The biggest changes center around the current principal Ms. Lewis, the PTA, and all the other parents involved making certain that Washingtion is successful in its mission to educate our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

We have a fabulous, committed, talented staff of teachers, the best principal in the world, and wonderful parents who nurture an inclusive environment for students and parents, one free of bullying and full of fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

We love the great community that exists at and works for Washington School. The kids, the teachers, the parents, and our wonderful principal Sue Lewis make the school an all-week, year-round center of learning, friendship, and community where all kids are safe, valued, and encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Washington school is simply a wonderful community of caring familes and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Washington Elementary keeps my daughter so busy with all of it's after school activties. The teachers and staff are just wonderful. I couldn't be happier here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Washington School has such a rich history in the community with wonderfully talented and caring teachers, students and parents to take it into the future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Great community, lots of involved parents and teachers, lots of afterschool activities, etc....


Posted October 3, 2009

Amazing Principal, incredible-active parents and caring teachers. What more can you ask?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The school has become the epicenter of our neighborhood. It's a consistent, beautiful, exciting place for our kids to be. Students are very proud to attend Washington. The teachers and staff encourage respect and high standards. The parents and families participate 'beyond the call'. The community knows we are a diverse school with a familial attitude toward all. It's a privilege to send our children to Washington School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Washington is a wonderful community of administrators, teachers, students and families. Everyone works together to ensure that everyone has the opportunity to succeed. As a parent, it's a pleasure to participate in creating such an environment not only for my family, but for the surrounding community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Great, diverse community. Fabulous teachers. Within walking distance of most kids. Great volunteers. Amazing PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Washington has such a great community of administrators, teachers, students and parents!! I feel my child is getting a great education and most of all - she loves going to school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I can't say enough good things about our school, but one thing that is really special is the staff - and I mean ALL of the staff - from the Principal and teachers to the crossing guards and maintenance staff they all encourage our children to be and do the best they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female59%
Male66%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income37%
Not low income88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)55%
Students without disabilities64%
English language learners27%

Reading

All Students61%
Female58%
Male64%
Black54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income34%
Not low income88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
Students without disabilities65%
English language learners20%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female81%
Male77%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial82%
Native Americann/a
White100%
Low income60%
Not low income93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female69%
Male67%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracial73%
Native Americann/a
White100%
Low income37%
Not low income91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female78%
Male88%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial91%
Native Americann/a
White100%
Low income69%
Not low income96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female82%
Male73%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Low income62%
Not low income93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female72%
Male83%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Low income56%
Not low income95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 51%
Hispanic 36% 24%
Black 17% 18%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Katharine Ellison

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

914 Ashland Avenue
Evanston, IL 60202
Phone: (847) 859-8180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Park School
Evanston, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT