Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2013
- a parent
We were new to the area and to Washington this year with a kindergartner. We had heard nothing but positive things about Washington, but I was a little concerned about the school relative to a few other District 65 schools with higher test scores. However, I took comfort with Washington's reputation for being such a warm, diverse and fun community. Our family could not agree more! It has been a very smooth and pleasant transition for us and we are very happy to be in this school's attendance boundary. Our child is learning a lot from a very caring, intelligent teacher with a knack for teaching and reaching out to children. We haven't had to contact the principal but we have met her on several occasions and she has been kind and she seems very available and involved with students and parents. Of course we are new-ish, but we highly recommend this school to date.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
We arrived from France last summer and our 2 daughters attend this school. We are amazed by teachers and staff's involvement to help them. Everything has been made easy for them. The parents are really helpful too. We could not have been more pleased by a school.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2012
- a community member
I loved Washington School! I went there for 6 whole years and enjoyed just about every second of it!

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2011
- a parent
I have three children who've attended Washington over the past 9 years. I can't say enough good things about it. Washington has a strong sense of culture that draws students and families back year-after-year to annual events like its Back-to-school Icecream Social, its Fall Festival, and Garden work parties. It's culture of caring that has been passed down from teacher to teacher and family to family in this nurturing community. Washington welcomes the entire family. One of it's greatest strengths is its parent involvement. Principals Ms. Ellison and Mr. Friedman believe in the importance of fostering a welcoming, inclusive, postive climate. They are always on the playground, welcoming students each morning and sending them off at the end of the school day. They host a new parent orientation and monthly coffees throughout the school year. They communicate regularly and set a postive tone, encouraging parents to call or drop in to see them any time. For more info & to preview all of the amazing before- and after-school clubs and activities offered by Washington's PTA, visit <www.washschool.net>, their parent-hosted website.

Washington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
Very attentive and involved principal. Teachers work carefully to engage students and help/ challenge them. Unbelievablely active PTA and parent volunteers. Two sets of TWI (two way immersion classes) makes it so that your TWI child's classmates get to vary a bit from year to year. Lots of clubs.


Washington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
teachers, curriculum, class size, parental involvement, after school activities

Washington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Washington school is undergoing great positive changes and will get a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 within the next year. We parents are excited about all the positive developments taking place. The biggest changes center around the current principal Ms. Lewis, the PTA, and all the other parents involved making certain that Washingtion is successful in its mission to educate our children.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
We have a fabulous, committed, talented staff of teachers, the best principal in the world, and wonderful parents who nurture an inclusive environment for students and parents, one free of bullying and full of fun.


Washington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
We love the great community that exists at and works for Washington School. The kids, the teachers, the parents, and our wonderful principal Sue Lewis make the school an all-week, year-round center of learning, friendship, and community where all kids are safe, valued, and encouraged.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Elementary School
914 Ashland Avenue, Evanston, IL  60202
(847) 859-8180
Last modified Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Washington Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews.