Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Athanasius Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 33 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Evanston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $345,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,220.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2013

St. Athanasius, a Blue Ribbon School, is a wonderful place to learn. It has an excellent curriculum and loving teachers. My childrens' favorite memories are the book report dioramas, the Native American Indian Village project, the timelines with photographs of their life and the Flat Stanley travel assignment and bulletin board!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

Saint A's is well worth the financial commitment for our family. The enthusiastic teachers at St. A's give each child the time & attention he/she needs to help them excel. I couldn't ask for a better learning environment! You can feel the love and connectedness when you walk in the doors- between the students, parents, teachers... St. As is an amazing school community providing so much opportunity for the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2011

We are thrilled with the education our children are receiving at St. Athanasius. There are many truly amazing teachers who care about the children and challenge them to excel, the sense of community is wonderful and parents are very involved. The education is first rate, there are many opportunities for children to development leadership skills, and the atmosphere is nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

St. Athanasius provides and outstanding educational experience for grades k-8. The challenging, supportive and nurturing community and staff help each individual child make the most of their potential. Whether a child needs a helping hand, enrichment to satisfy advanced skills or something in between, St. A's is attentive to each student. They focus on the whole child. The parent community is involved, accomplished and welcoming. 5+ stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

I go to St.Athanasius, and I'm in 7th grade. Throughout my young years as a student here, I loved it. When I reached 5th grade, I didnt love it as much. In 6th grade, I dint really like it, either. This was because the teachers were not the best, the Math program was terrible, and the kids were a little mean, too. Now I'm in 7th grade. I think the Community of parents are very kind, but that may be the only amazing thing I can find about this school. Im Unit D, the Teachers dont really answer questions, nor help you understand it. I also had some people be mean to me, not the best school....
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

It is warm, friendly, spirited, nurturing, inspiring, challenging, old-school values with new methods of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

St. A's provides educational excellence as well as ethical values. It is worth every penny and then some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

St. Athanasius is an outstanding community of involved parents and dedicated teachers with a well developed curriculum. Class sizes are kept small and the lower grades all have teacher's aides. I would strongly recommend St. A's to prospective families. Make sure you are aware of application deadlines. There has been a wait list in recent years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

as a recent alum, St. A's was the best. They prepared me for highschool very well. However the best thing about St. A's was the sports. Football was a huge part of going to St. A's


Posted November 7, 2008

Our whole family is having an incredible life experience at St. A's. We are all involved in the many wonderul offerings of the school. The kids are recieving a terrific education, in a strong, loving, positive environment. The teachers are the best, we are so very lucky to have enthusiatsic, inspiring people, who give so much to enriching our children's lives. As parents , we are very involved in the parent organization, the fundraising and are greatly benefiting from the parent community we have been blessed to bring into our lives. I cannot say enough about how happy we are with our decision in choosing St. A's. Your life is what you give back and how you choose to participate. Check us out! Dawn Betz
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

At St. A's you pay for a private school, but they overload the classes so that the class sizes are larger than the public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

This is a real terrific school. All three of our boys have attended and we have always been favorably impressed by their 'teach the whole child' philosophy. The recent renovations and new principal are also great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

We have been blessed this year with a new principal, Sue Castagna. I have 2 boys at St.A's and cannot say enough about the faculty and staff. Ifeel that both of my children are being challenged academically and I know that the best is yet to come as they get closer to high school preparation. There were some faculty changes a couple years ago and they have made the school stronger. Most importantly, our new principal is outstanding. I am confident that any areas of weakness will be over come in a very short period of time with her in charge. There is the strongest sense of community and pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

Parent envolvment is outstanding at this school and probably the best thing about it. Unfortunatly the education, which is what truly matters here wasnt the best for my child. Good environment but just not enough emphasis on acedemics and faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

Overall a nice environment. My child however wasnt challeged enough or had the oppertunity to learn more than one foreign language as other Catholic schools do in the area. A stronger math program would also be a nice addition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

Its a good school, although there is very little diversity, so it makes it hard if you are a minority trying to fit in. That was just my perspective with my sons class, however, it may not be that way for all.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2005

Our family has four children enrolled in St. Athanasius School, and I have been very favorably impressed with the quality of the faculty and the principal. This is an outstanding school. The teachers on the whole are well prepared and professional. The academic programs are strong, especially in the primary and middle grades. French and Spanish are taught. There is a real feeling of commitment to the success of the students and to their spiritual development. The strength of the programs reflect the strong leadership of the principal. Extra curricular activities abound, and consistent parental involvement is a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

After 2 years in Sauganash Public, we went to St. A's and are absolutely thrilled with the school. The ethos is caring - the curriculum very well thought out - the spiritual orientation refreshingly thoughtful. Being university professors, we have high expectations of what should happen in elementary education and St. A's has truly exceeded our hopes. It really strives to educate the whole person. Contrary to one reviewer, we have not found it to be cliquish at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2004

Very Clique-ish. Good academics, but inflexible style. Fine if the child fits their very rigid mold.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 51%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Hispanic 2% 24%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Susan Castagna
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2510 Ashland Avenue
Evanston, IL 60201
Phone: (847) 864-2650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Francis Xavier
Wilmette, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT