Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter transferred here in 6th grade, as the already overcrowded public middle school in our neighborhood was slated to grow by 100+ students without adding teachers. At St. A's our daughter's 6th and 7th grade classes have been ideally sized (about 17-20 per class) and she has had innovative, and exciting teachers. We are especially impressed by her the social studies teachers, who are dynamos...as well as her English teacher. This is not a stodgy old fashioned Catholic school. Most of the teachers have MAs and are using newer teaching methods, some very creative. (for instance, Her social studies teacher in 7th grade is having the students analyze primary documents to gain appreciations of social history...something we did not do until college!). As a result, she loves school. Our only complaint is that there is far too much homework...but I guess that is a common complaint in all schools today!

St Athanasius Elementary School 4

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
St. Athanasius, a Blue Ribbon School, is a wonderful place to learn. It has an excellent curriculum and loving teachers. My childrens' favorite memories are the book report dioramas, the Native American Indian Village project, the timelines with photographs of their life and the Flat Stanley travel assignment and bulletin board!


St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2012
- a parent
Saint A's is well worth the financial commitment for our family. The enthusiastic teachers at St. A's give each child the time & attention he/she needs to help them excel. I couldn't ask for a better learning environment! You can feel the love and connectedness when you walk in the doors- between the students, parents, teachers... St. As is an amazing school community providing so much opportunity for the students!

St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2011
- a parent
We are thrilled with the education our children are receiving at St. Athanasius. There are many truly amazing teachers who care about the children and challenge them to excel, the sense of community is wonderful and parents are very involved. The education is first rate, there are many opportunities for children to development leadership skills, and the atmosphere is nurturing.

St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2011
- a parent
St. Athanasius provides and outstanding educational experience for grades k-8. The challenging, supportive and nurturing community and staff help each individual child make the most of their potential. Whether a child needs a helping hand, enrichment to satisfy advanced skills or something in between, St. A's is attentive to each student. They focus on the whole child. The parent community is involved, accomplished and welcoming. 5+ stars!


St Athanasius Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2010
- a student
I go to St.Athanasius, and I'm in 7th grade. Throughout my young years as a student here, I loved it. When I reached 5th grade, I didnt love it as much. In 6th grade, I dint really like it, either. This was because the teachers were not the best, the Math program was terrible, and the kids were a little mean, too. Now I'm in 7th grade. I think the Community of parents are very kind, but that may be the only amazing thing I can find about this school. Im Unit D, the Teachers dont really answer questions, nor help you understand it. I also had some people be mean to me, not the best school....

St Athanasius Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
It is warm, friendly, spirited, nurturing, inspiring, challenging, old-school values with new methods of teaching.

St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
St. A's provides educational excellence as well as ethical values. It is worth every penny and then some.


St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2009
- a parent
St. Athanasius is an outstanding community of involved parents and dedicated teachers with a well developed curriculum. Class sizes are kept small and the lower grades all have teacher's aides. I would strongly recommend St. A's to prospective families. Make sure you are aware of application deadlines. There has been a wait list in recent years.

St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2008
- a community member
as a recent alum, St. A's was the best. They prepared me for highschool very well. However the best thing about St. A's was the sports. Football was a huge part of going to St. A's

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Athanasius Elementary School
2510 Ashland Avenue, Evanston, IL  60201
(847) 864-2650
Last modified St Athanasius Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St Athanasius Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top