Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
342 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
Saint A's is the hidden gem of the North Shore. The school provides a strong academic foundation in a loving faith-based environment. The teachers are great and the dedication of the staff is apparent at all levels. I've been extremely impressed with the school's participation in a wide variety of charitable community projects. We've been very happy with our experience at the school and our daughter loves it!

St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter transferred here in 6th grade, as the already overcrowded public middle school in our neighborhood was slated to grow by 100+ students without adding teachers. At St. A's our daughter's 6th and 7th grade classes have been ideally sized (about 17-20 per class) and she has had innovative, and exciting teachers. We are especially impressed by her the social studies teachers, who are dynamos...as well as her English teacher. This is not a stodgy old fashioned Catholic school. Most of the teachers have MAs and are using newer teaching methods, some very creative. (for instance, Her social studies teacher in 7th grade is having the students analyze primary documents to gain appreciations of social history...something we did not do until college!). As a result, she loves school. Our only complaint is that there is far too much homework...but I guess that is a common complaint in all schools today!


St Athanasius Elementary School 4

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
St. Athanasius, a Blue Ribbon School, is a wonderful place to learn. It has an excellent curriculum and loving teachers. My childrens' favorite memories are the book report dioramas, the Native American Indian Village project, the timelines with photographs of their life and the Flat Stanley travel assignment and bulletin board!

St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2012
- a parent
Saint A's is well worth the financial commitment for our family. The enthusiastic teachers at St. A's give each child the time & attention he/she needs to help them excel. I couldn't ask for a better learning environment! You can feel the love and connectedness when you walk in the doors- between the students, parents, teachers... St. As is an amazing school community providing so much opportunity for the students!

St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2011
- a parent
We are thrilled with the education our children are receiving at St. Athanasius. There are many truly amazing teachers who care about the children and challenge them to excel, the sense of community is wonderful and parents are very involved. The education is first rate, there are many opportunities for children to development leadership skills, and the atmosphere is nurturing.


St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2011
- a parent
St. Athanasius provides and outstanding educational experience for grades k-8. The challenging, supportive and nurturing community and staff help each individual child make the most of their potential. Whether a child needs a helping hand, enrichment to satisfy advanced skills or something in between, St. A's is attentive to each student. They focus on the whole child. The parent community is involved, accomplished and welcoming. 5+ stars!

St Athanasius Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2010
- a student
I go to St.Athanasius, and I'm in 7th grade. Throughout my young years as a student here, I loved it. When I reached 5th grade, I didnt love it as much. In 6th grade, I dint really like it, either. This was because the teachers were not the best, the Math program was terrible, and the kids were a little mean, too. Now I'm in 7th grade. I think the Community of parents are very kind, but that may be the only amazing thing I can find about this school. Im Unit D, the Teachers dont really answer questions, nor help you understand it. I also had some people be mean to me, not the best school....

St Athanasius Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
It is warm, friendly, spirited, nurturing, inspiring, challenging, old-school values with new methods of teaching.


St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
St. A's provides educational excellence as well as ethical values. It is worth every penny and then some.

St Athanasius Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2009
- a parent
St. Athanasius is an outstanding community of involved parents and dedicated teachers with a well developed curriculum. Class sizes are kept small and the lower grades all have teacher's aides. I would strongly recommend St. A's to prospective families. Make sure you are aware of application deadlines. There has been a wait list in recent years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Athanasius Elementary School
2510 Ashland Avenue, Evanston, IL  60201
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (847) 864-2650
Last modified St Athanasius Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top