Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 214 students

We are best known for successful graduates.

 
 

Living in Evanston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $335,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2014

Great school, but diversity is lacking - I was a student there - class of '82


Posted December 9, 2013

Our experience at St. Joan of Arc has been nothing short of outstanding. We moved from the City to the Evanston community ten years ago. We were embraced by the school and it has been an exceptional experience. The community embraces all students, stresses the importance of education, respect, committment, giving to others, leadership and community involvement. We believe this is the best kept secret on the North Shore. A hidden jewel among several other choices. The Principal and Teachers are firm, committed and caring. Every student matters at St. Joan. We have been so fortunate to have landed in such an outstanding community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

We thank God our three young men had the experience of St. Joan of Arc as a child. In this every changing world with all the pressures youth endure, the school provided a consistent basis of morality, respect, spirituality and service to others. I am very proud of how my boys have matured along with their school mates. The kids got a solid education and I was truly impressed at their HS graduations to realize that the majority of their grade school friends were in the top ranks academically as well as honors for their service to others and extracurricular activities in which they were involved. St. Joan of Arc is a unique and dynamic school with a caring, connected staff led by a top-notch principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

I have had three children attend this fabulous "treasure" of a school; two have graduated onto high school and college and one is just finishing at SJA. I would highly recommend this school to all parents---it is the perfect combination of academics and caring. Ms. Hampson, the current principal is incredible. She has a great vision for the future while ensuring high quality education on a daily basis. Also, Ms. Hampson along with the teachers really get to know the students, care about them and instill a love of learning--verus just getting grades. They also have the abilty to differentiate learning so that a child can build on its strengths while working on their weaknesses. You notice a major difference in the children who attend and graduate from SJA--they are articulate, poised, caring and hard-working. We can't truly say enough good things about SJA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

Both of my children have attended St. Joan of Arc School (SJA) from K-8th grade. Both tested into honors in HS and felt they were well prepared for their course load. SJA has a strong focus on academics and student leadership that is unparalleled in our area. Class size is small so teachers have the ability to use progressive teaching techniques that support the highest achieveing students in the class as well as those who may need extra assistance. Manners, community service, and a respect for all are instilled in the children from the moment they enter the school and reinforced throughout their tenure. I feel very lucky that our family has had the oppotunity to experience a truly fantastic K-8 well-rounded educational institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

My two kids have come through St. Joan and it has provided a tremendous foundation for them as they moved into their high school career. St Joan kids consistetnly achieve at a higher level in high school than students from other middle schools. Tuition is lower than most Catholic schools on the North Shore as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

We have four children who attend St. Joan of Arc school. They range in age from pre-school to 6th grade. Our children have really thrived in the early childhood program. The teachers have provided a safe and nurturing environment for the kids to learn and play with new friends. In the elementary grades, our children have been challenged by excellent teachers, developed great study skills, and made long-lasting friendships. They love being part of all the SJA sports teams and enjoy the meaningful extracurricular activities that are offered each day! I would highly recommend this school to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

I have 3 children enrolled here and since the beginning (pre-school) we have found this to be a wonderful, nurturing environment for all of them. The school has challenged my kids academically and offers a variety of extracurricular activities (ie: band, Science Olympiad, sports. etc...). There are numerous school events where all students can participate allowing each of them to "shine" and as a result my children have grown to be quite comfortable when required to speak in public. I find the teachers to be outstanding; a trend that has continued when a new hire is brought on staff. Parental participation is also a big reason this school works! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

I have 3 children at this wonderful, Catholic school and believe it to be the best decision we ever made. I have witnessed how well prepared children who graduate from SJA are for high school (public and private) and beyond. Support and participation is necessary from families to make it work and personally we have found that whatever we put into this school we get back ten fold. You get what you give...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

I graduated from SJA a few years back. Attending school here was one of the worst experiences of my life. The teachers shamelessly chose favorites out of a class of 21 students and would call out the others while allowing the favorite exemptions from homework and consequences. There is an extreme bullying problem at this school. The students form clicks and are highly exclusive. Many of the graduates have ended up in very bad places in the high school years; drug use and suicide attempts being common- of course not entirely the school's fault but in many circumstances it did play a large role. Despite the title of "Catholic" school, religion is seriously minimized and takes a backseat as the students homeroom teachers who specialize in other subjects attempt to teach a course they know little or nothing about. Overall, if you are considering sending your child here, I would highly not recommend it.


Posted January 4, 2013

I would give it 10 stars if I could! I have two children at this school, one in 1st grade and one preschool. We count finding this school and this community as one of our life's greatest blessings. It is a rich, academic environment paired with a family-like atmosphere. We never doubt for a moment that through SJA we are offering our children the best education and childhood experience possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

I have two children at the school. From the first day when we transferred my children here, the staff and parents have taken us into their circle to make us feel included in all activities inside and outside of school. Their extended care program is also wonderful in that it is affordable and well managed. Looking at their population of teachers and students, you'll find generations of families that attend and who come back to teach. I am confident in saying that my children feel safe and motivated when they go to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

My daughter started at St. Joan of Arc two years ago. What a special school - involved and dedicated families, teachers and staff go above and beyond to make this small school amazing. Solid academics combined with a values-based education provide students with a PreK-8th education that will carry them well into high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Saint Joan of Arc is a wonderful small school within a vibrant Christian community. It offers strong academics, a great extracurricular program, and teaches children about service to community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I have three children currently in St Joan of Arc School. It is an excellent private, Catholic school with passionate, highly educated, professional and caring teachers led by a talented experienced spirtual principal. I feel the teachers really know the children and what will help them be their best. Parents are active and support the school and staff. Families share common respect and values for each other and feel part of a community. It is a mighty little school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

the little school that could. yes it is small, like any smaller institution there are imperfections, BUT,this is a seriously wonderful community that is rarely found.The new principal is phenomenal to say the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

It is a great school and a wonderful sense of community. They are especially committed to early child development of the fundamentals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

I am the parents of three SJA students. The school has a wonderfully supportive, loving and enthusiastic staff. Acadmeics are solid, particularly in the lower grades. Sports and extracurricular atciivties such as Chess club and Mad Scientist attract many students. Parental involvemtn is encouraged in areas such as classroom reading, being a room parent and lucnh/recess duty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

The school is good academically to a certain extent. For instance, the curriculum does not have a solid foundation of providing art, music and a strong language curriculum. The children form clicks, in the classroom, because the classroom size is small. Also, clicks extend beyond the classroom and even occur between the parents and administrators. This in large part can be attributed to the community of parents that have grown up in the area for years and who have graduated from the school and decide to send their children to the school. If you are a minority, I would not send my child to this school, because of the ridicule that occurs from other children based on cultural differences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

Quality of education was good, however the small number of children makes the social enviroment poor. Clicks are created and the children can be very mean to newcomers. Not a good school for any child with a learning disability or any disabilty of that types as services for this are also poor. Sports are very popular here. unfortunatley there seems to be a lack of drama music and art. This would be a good school for students that are very strong in their studies however with only about 2o kids in each grade there is a real lack of social interactions and some kids seem to lack social skills. They end up graduating the eight grade being with the same 20 or so kids for eight years and it is all they know. The real world hits them fast.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black 1% 18%
Hispanic 1% 24%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Gail Hulse
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • St. Joan of Arc is a small, caring community dedicated to fostering the unique talents and potential of each child. Our size – about 225 students – insures that each student has an opportunity to shine. Our teaching incorporates Catholic values that help children to grow spiritually as well as intellectually. A student-teacher ratio of 11-to-1 and state-of-the-art technology ensure differentiated teaching to meet each child’s needs. Parents are welcomed as partners in their children’s education. A wide range of family-centered activities and volunteer opportunities allow parents to be closely connected to the school and parish. To bring out the best in our students, St. Joan of Arc's curriculum includes music, art, Spanish, computer technology, physical education and religion, along with core classes in language arts, math, social studies and science.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9245 Lawndale Avenue
Evanston, IL 60203
Website: Click here
Phone: (847) 679-0660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT