Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Queen Of Martyrs Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 396 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Evergreen Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2013

I have four children currently attending Queen of Martyrs school. My oldest is set to graduate this year, and my youngest is entering first grade. We have experienced each and every teacher from pre-k to the junior high. As parents, we are very pleased with the education we have received at Queen of Martyrs. We have encountered so many teachers that have taken extra time to work with our children when it was needed. The strong foundation my children are building at this school will be an asset to them when they start high school. This school provides many programs and sports opportunities for the students. My children are developing into well rounded individuals as a result of the wonderful faculty and staff at Queen of Martyrs school. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Queen of Martyrs School is a dynamic and rich environment that all three of my children are thriving in! My husband and I have spent many nights debating public versus parochial school for our children. We are fortunate to have choices around us but are grateful that we made the sacrifice and have choosen Queen of Martyrs. We have not had a regret since. The teachers that my children have had thus far have gone above and beyond what I believe is expected in the classroom. They are passionate for their profession and it is reflected in my kids. My children LOVE school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2013

I do not recommend this school. The parents run the school and will do anything to cover the wrong that the children do. As a result, the school if full of cliques, racism, jealousy, identity theft and bullying as well as cyber bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

Ever since I have been dealing with this school it's has been nothing but smiles. I am so happy my 4 year old daugther will be attending Queen of Martyrs this year. Her teacher Mrs. Peggy has an amazing persona. Hope to be working with them for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

Queen of Martyrs is an excellent school that is truly focused on providing the best education possible for their students. My children love it there and started at Queen of Martyrs with their preschool program, which is top of the line. The teachers are wonderful and help to create a caring environment for the students. I am very happy to be a part of such a wonderful school and parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

I am very happy with the wonderful education that my children have recieved. The staff goes above and beyond what is expected of them. My children are very happy and excited when they begin a new school year. All concerns that I have had have always been addressed in a timely manner. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The school has many programs that the children can join and grow emotionally and socially. I plan on sending our 4 year old there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

The school provides a wonderful foundation for my children. I am very happy with the teachers. There are several young teachers that are very enthusiastic about their profession and encourage the children to do their best and succeed. There is a strong sense of family at the school. There are many, many families who volunteer at the school to provide all the children with a great sense of community from cub scouts, girl scouts, youth ministry and many other activities and organizations. In addition, the students display the knowledge that they have gained from the school in the terra nova test reults. We are very happy and hope you discover what our family has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

I am very pleased with Queen of Martyrs. My children have received a wonderful education. Their staff is young and enthusiastic. The children excel and the standardized test scores are exceptional. The school has made a wonderful effort to reach out to the community and include them in the Queen of Martyrs family. It is a wonderful choice for a Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

We have been sending our children to Queen of Martyrs for 3 years and they are very happy. The teachers are great and the pre-k program is terrific, we can't wait for our 4 year old to attend the all day program. the school community had been fragmented in the past but recently has really come together to build a great community. Like every school, there are some shortcomings but compared to the options we looked at, QM offers a great place for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

QofM is a great school! It promotes Catholic identity and prepares our children for the real world. The teachers are enthusiastic and well prepared. The school is really a close knit community that has great family orientated activities: Cirque Amongus, Martyrs Fest, Home Coming, Trivia Night, Walk-a-Thon, and so many more. My children enjoy learning here and we have the school and community to thank. The students are more than prepared for high school and ready the challenges that will face academically and socially. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

I have thoroughly enjoyed my children's educational experience at Queen of Martyrs . They have truly provided a wonderful foundation academically and spiritually. The teachers continually strive to educate our children to the best of their ability. The students excel and achieve excellent standardized test scores. The sense of the Martyrs family is aparent often in the carious things the school families do for each other. I would encourage you to see for yourself what I have experienced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

I decided to take my son out of Queen of Martyrs after he was treated so horribly. The other kids called him names he didn't even know what they meant. He was in second grade. The teachers and the principal didn't do anything about it or seem to care. The parents were in on it too. This was not a onetime instance. Over time this seemed to dull his personality and effect his self esteem. My son is an A student and was ridiculed because he was smart and enjoyed school. I moved him to the local public school and he is thriving and full of personality. The whole environment at Queen of Martyrs is not conducive to learning. If you didn't go to school there then your kids aren't a part of the "cool" group and are ostracized. It's a shame that my son is learning more morals and ethics at the public school. The test scores at the public school are far superior to Queen of Martyrs anyway. If you want your child to be bullied then send them to Queen of Martyrs, otherwise spend your hard earned money somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I believe that Queen of Martyrs school does a fine job preparing its students for high school. I have one child that graduated, tested into Honors/AP level courses, and maintains a high GPA. My other child enrolled at this school also maintains honor roll status. If I thought the learning environment was not up to par, my child wouldn't be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

Queen of Martyrs is a great school if you have a mature, responsible and above-average intelligent child. If you have a child that is slower at developing emotionally, a little behind in a certain subject, and is picked on by other classmates then this school is by far as poor as they come. And if your child suffers from a chronic illness, don't expect any support or cooperate from the principal or teachers who have been there forever. I can't wait until this year is over because we will be done with this once great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

As the mother of four children, I have nothing but positive things to say about the school. Two have graduated and excelled in the honors programs of their high schools and two are current students. I have found the principal to be receptive to ideas and opinions. Find it difficult to believe some of these 'parent reviewers' would continue to send their children to the school if they feel it is only worthy of one star. The school is above average and children will reap the benefits if their parents are involved and positive about their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

Principal & Pastor run the school in a my way or no way policy. They are not people friendly & they are not kid friendly. If these two were gone, the school would be a much better place & more families would probaly get involved more. These 'men' need personality & people skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

I read the reviews written by the other parents. They can't be speaking about the same school as I am?! and if they are ~wait! Where should I begin, the top? The principal has no leadership skills. He is not respected by the intermediate grades. He is a poor role model, one who speaks down to the children. They resent and dislike him. He continually says he is there to support the families and students, and he has no follow through. Very sad, especially when students are looking at their teachers as future role models. Attitude reflects leadership! He is gets back what gives! The curriculum is good, and so much more can be done for higher achievement! Some of the teachers need to realize if they were teaching 20 years ago, times have changed. Students should be engaged in their learning, not dictated to! Can't wait for my kids to graduate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

Queen of Martyrs is a great school that is all I can say, it is hard to describe it because it is so wonderful, you just would have to see for yourself.


Posted August 21, 2007

I currently have two children attending Queen of Martyrs and all of us (my husband and myself and the two children) could not be happier. The children both are in classes where the class size is kept under 26 children. There are classes that have more children, and they generally always get and aide to work with them. The tuition is on the high side but I will always choose to pay more in tuition if the class size continues to stay as low as it is. The children are able to be involved in many schools activities (sports, choir, Scouts, art)and are lead by many great volunteer parents. The families we have met through the school are family oriented where their priority is to raise good, productive, respectful children who value their friends and school environment. We all could not be happier with Queen of Martyrs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 51%
Black 6% 18%
Hispanic 5% 24%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Krsek
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3550 West 103rd Street
Evergreen Park, IL 60805
Phone: (708) 422-1540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Southwest Elementary School
Evergreen Park, IL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT