Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heather Hill Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

I wouldn't be surprised if the teachers and principals or friends of the teachers and principals are writing these reviews. The truth shall set us free. This school is NOT all what they're making it out to be. If you don't believe this review, please register your child in this school and see what experience you get out of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

After reading the last review, I have to share my personal experiences from the 2010-2011 school year, as a parent. I brought a serious concern regarding my child's academic experience to the principal. She truly listened to my concern and actively addressed the problem with the teacher. Throughout the year, she kept my child's best interest in mind, while working with me and the teacher. I felt that she valued my concerns and did not jump to the defense of the teacher. She was an advocate for my child. I can't speak for the district administration's involvement because it didn't go that far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

The 2010-11 school year was less than favorable. I think a lot has do with a major turn over in several key administrative positions. The principal didn't show strong leadership with tenured teachers and those with more dominant or aggressive personalities. Issues with those teachers were never brought to resolution, even on the district level. With both the principal and superintendent leaving, it was a disheartening year to have concerns properly dealt with. I have been in the district for 6 years and have many more ahead with multiple children and I am a very active PTO member. I sincerely hope with the new administration, Heather Hill and the district overall will become stronger, more positive and more academically competitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2010

My child has attended Heather Hill for 3 years and I feel the discipline is good. Any concern I have had has been addressed to my satisfaction. I am pleased with the extra help provided if needed in academic areas. I especially like the teacher my child has this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

I am very satisfied with this school. The new principal is OUTSTANDING. I do wish more parents would participate in THEIR school. The teachers and principal cannot do it all. However, everything is present here for the kid and their parents to take advantage of, again parents are key in the development of their child and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

I can't speak for everyone, but my experience at Heather Hill has been positive. We have been blessed with very good teachers. The new principal is friendly, supportive and generous with her time and attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

As an extremely active parent and PTO member, I can only say that the negative reviews concerning child discipline, teacher moral and parent participation are absolutely untrue. Our principal's leadership is outstanding and our pool of active parents is strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

The school offers a good academic program, however teacher turn around is too high, test scores are going down, PTO is ...well .... I don't know, not together. There is not enough parent participation and diversity is going in the other direction. I have to say though, my kid likes it and is doing well and has enjoyed the teachers and friends. Of course some of that is because we work hard to insure that education is a priority and we are involved in school activities and programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

I'm surprised to read reviews claiming the school is out of control. If anything, I would say it's the opposite. Children are very respectful and controlled at this school. There is tremendous parental involvement and I find all of the teachers to be engaging and really caring people. We had a new principal this year who is building on the previous years' successes. If anything, I'd advice they let the kids chat more at lunch -- they're kids afterall, and it's lunchtime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

Although a new principal has helped the out of control discipline situation in this school, the overall satisfaction is not there for me as a parent. There is not enough being done to bring the school together as a community. The staff seem very unhappyl. I've heard talk of several teachers leaving.; The constant change of teaching positions is not helping the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Heather Hill School is an excellent school with teachers and administrators that have high expectations for their students. I am an elementary teacher in a different school district. No school will ever be perfect but this school is among the very best. They are current with educational practices, have a fantastic gifted program and a princial and teachers that are very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I believe the teachers of Heather Hill are excellent and have great classroom management. The school is headed in the right direction in terms of test scores. There is great collaboration there amongst the staff and children are put first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

I can definitely testify to the classrooms being out of control. The school seems to have no idea how to get these kids under control. I am also concerned about the school's testing scores. Overall I believe the school is going in the wrong direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

The classrooms and the lunchrooms are NOT out of control or loud. The classrooms and lunchroom are well supervised. This is a great school! The teachers and support staff are excellent! I highly recommend this school! Very diverse and the students respect eachother and their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

I am extremely disappointed with the level of discipline (or lack of) in this school. The students are at an extreme disadvantage because the environment is so out of control that they cannot learn. The classrooms are loud. The lunch room is out of control. Some changes need to be made and my concerns have gone unanswered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

i like this school. my children went here. the people are nice.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 20, 2006

The academic programs are complete, the teachers are highly involved in studenst performance and security, the art program is well done and the parent involvement is high in this s.d.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female36%
Male56%
Black37%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income35%
Non-low income50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students56%
Female56%
Male56%
Black51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income59%
Non-low income54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female50%
Male37%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income32%
Non-low income53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students56%
Female63%
Male50%
Black56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income50%
Non-low income62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students69%
Female69%
Male70%
Black65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income64%
Non-low income74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female57%
Male41%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income50%
Non-low income45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities51%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female48%
Male47%
Black45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income46%
Non-low income48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 85% 18%
White 8% 51%
Hispanic 5% 24%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Patricia Fears

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1439 Lawrence Crescent
Flossmoor, IL 60422
Phone: (708) 647-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Epitome Of Excellence
Olympia Fields, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT