Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Homewood-Flossmoor High School

Public | 9-12 | 2799 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

This is one of the top schools in the state. It was just listed by The Washington Post as one of the top academically challenging school in the nation. This IS a great place to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

HF was once a tremendous high school- one of the best in the state- but that was a long, long time ago. I am shocked at how bad the test scores are now (they are well UNDER the state average!!). What is going on? Really shameful. HF has dropped like a rock.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

This school was one of the top in the nation at one time, I was proud to get an education here. After going through 4 years of education I was terribly disappointed, half of my teachers did care and control the classroom, the other half couldn't care less. Students talking all the time constantly distracting, just not a good learning environment. Even more interesting is that H-F is known as the drug store among students in the south suburbs. Sure the school has security it does not prevent fights, or drug dealing...
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2012

HF is a very good school FOR ITS AREA only ... it is top notch for South Suburban communities. HF is currently on AWS through the state due to failing test scores which does not make the HS as desirable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

I graduated from HF in 98, and though I had a wonderful experience, I didn't realize just how great a school it really is until hearing others highschool stories. I thought it was normal to have a top notch theater program, tons of amenities, cultural diversity, fantastic music program, fabulous teachers, and a super supportive community that cares. I am so glad I did not grow up in a generic, sprawling, all white suburb. Though I do not live here anymore, I have friends that have moved back to raise their families. It truly is a gem.


Posted November 9, 2011

H-F continues to be ranked among the top schools in THE NATION according to Newsweek and was acknowledged by the National Board as having one of the best AP programs in the Midwest. They will be one of the ONLY public high schools in the south, west, and northwest suburbs to have an International Baccelaureate program. It all starts with a great administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2011

Not a very safe school- has a lot of issues and unfortunately, H-F is not the top notch high school it was 25 years ago. Really sad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2011

HF really offers a lot for its students. It is really a wonderful school. Though it is making way to more african american students, the students are very happy to attend there and is a safe environment. They are great in sports and overall everything! I give it a thumbs up!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2010

HF really has a great academic program with top notch teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

april 29,2010 My daughter is a freshman at H-F this year. I am impressed with the school. The teachers are very caring.My daughter enjoys it very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I know that HFHS has more than the average extras offered to enhance my daughters education. I know that the staff cares. I know that my children are prepared for college and confident in their education. HF has it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

Wonderful students, great teachers. I am very impressed with the academic program at HF. The honors program can match any university; the regular classes are challenging as well. The students should be well prepared to succeed in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

I really think HF is a great school. The teachers put all their work into teaching the kids good mannerisms and great ways to teach us students. I am a junior at HF and the teachers are really helpful. If you don't get the material in class, stay after school and they will teach you another way how to understand the material. I give the school a lot of credit for staying on top. Students try and do their best. I don't think most parents really truely understand High School nowadays.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

HF is a good learning institution that offers a healthy balance of acaedmics, diversity, sports, and faculty. But it also appears that the school and community is having problems dealing with the difference in changing culture. Sadley some misconstrue culture with saftey which is a unfair observation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

I would consider H-F to be more comparable to a small college than a high school. I truly believe that this High School prepares students for a rigorous University. The quality of the educational curriculum and the teachers are above anything I have seen in comparison to many schools in the Chicagoland area. The amount and type of classes that are offered to the students is unbelievable. I feel that my kids will come out of H-F ready to attend a top College and succeed in the future. By the way H-F has a new principal who is doing an outstanding job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

My son graduated from HF this year and I have a daughter who will be a sophomore. We moved to the area especially for HF and its diversity. HF has challenged my children as well as prepare them in the areas of academics and more importantly real life. I find that the school address the safety issues promptly and more important accurately. I would highly recommend HF to any parent that is looking for their child to accept the world as it is and then take it by storm
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

We were so impressed with HF that we purchased our home in the school;s district. We feel our girls are getting a good education, but we can also sense a deterioration taking place, behavior-wise. The students have become less respectful to the rules and demands of HF. However, we keep very good communication with the school via its outstanding Parent-Connect. The teachers are very prompt an efficient in answering questions and all grades of quizzes, tests, quarter and semester grades are readily available giving parents immediate feedback to any existent problems. This is a huge plus for HF. Our girls are happy also with the sports. We only hope that the behavior of some erratic students will be handled strictly as far as a dismissal policy. It is a shame to ruin such a well-organized and equipped institution for learning. Our girls receive very good grades. The teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

HF was once a great high school, but has really struggled with student security issues, safety on campus, and dropping test scores. I admire the battle the administration is putting up to save HF, but it is no where near the level of suburban high schools in the west north suburbs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2007

My son is a Freshman at HF. I have been very impressed by how caring the faculty and administrators are. He is in both Honors and Regular classes and is challenged in all. They have a wonderful Music department and many fine after school activities. I would highly recommend HF to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

HF is better than public high schools in the immediate area, but that does not say much. Compared to the top high schools in DuPage County and the North Shore, HF is not even in the same league (it once was). HF has real security issues that only seem to get worse, and for that reason alone, it is seems dangerous. This is tragic, since the school faculty is actually decent and there are many opportunities for academically inclined students. Like Rich Central, HF's best days were many years ago. I would think twice about sending my child there under today's conditions.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female49%
Male48%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial58%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Low income30%
Not low income54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female56%
Male51%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracial71%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Low income41%
Not low income57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students47%
Female44%
Male49%
Black37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracial63%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Low income33%
Not low income51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

94.1%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 61% 18%
White 27% 51%
Hispanic 5% 24%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

999 Kedzie Avenue
Flossmoor, IL 60422
Phone: (708) 799-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Carra Academy
Hazel Crest, IL



Hillcrest High School
Country Club Hills, IL


Safe School Program
Chicago Heights, IL


Marian Catholic High School
Chicago Heights, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT