Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Homewood-Flossmoor High School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
This is one of the top schools in the state. It was just listed by The Washington Post as one of the top academically challenging school in the nation. This IS a great place to learn and grow.

Homewood-Flossmoor High School 2

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
HF was once a tremendous high school- one of the best in the state- but that was a long, long time ago. I am shocked at how bad the test scores are now (they are well UNDER the state average!!). What is going on? Really shameful. HF has dropped like a rock.


Homewood-Flossmoor High School 2

Posted March 31, 2013
- a student
This school was one of the top in the nation at one time, I was proud to get an education here. After going through 4 years of education I was terribly disappointed, half of my teachers did care and control the classroom, the other half couldn't care less. Students talking all the time constantly distracting, just not a good learning environment. Even more interesting is that H-F is known as the drug store among students in the south suburbs. Sure the school has security it does not prevent fights, or drug dealing...

Homewood-Flossmoor High School 2

Posted December 17, 2012
- a parent
HF is a very good school FOR ITS AREA only ... it is top notch for South Suburban communities. HF is currently on AWS through the state due to failing test scores which does not make the HS as desirable.

Homewood-Flossmoor High School 5

Posted August 27, 2012
- a community member
I graduated from HF in 98, and though I had a wonderful experience, I didn't realize just how great a school it really is until hearing others highschool stories. I thought it was normal to have a top notch theater program, tons of amenities, cultural diversity, fantastic music program, fabulous teachers, and a super supportive community that cares. I am so glad I did not grow up in a generic, sprawling, all white suburb. Though I do not live here anymore, I have friends that have moved back to raise their families. It truly is a gem.


Homewood-Flossmoor High School 5

Posted November 09, 2011
- a parent
H-F continues to be ranked among the top schools in THE NATION according to Newsweek and was acknowledged by the National Board as having one of the best AP programs in the Midwest. They will be one of the ONLY public high schools in the south, west, and northwest suburbs to have an International Baccelaureate program. It all starts with a great administration!

Homewood-Flossmoor High School 1

Posted October 16, 2011
- a student
Not a very safe school- has a lot of issues and unfortunately, H-F is not the top notch high school it was 25 years ago. Really sad.

Homewood-Flossmoor High School 5

Posted July 26, 2011
- a student
HF really offers a lot for its students. It is really a wonderful school. Though it is making way to more african american students, the students are very happy to attend there and is a safe environment. They are great in sports and overall everything! I give it a thumbs up!!


Homewood-Flossmoor High School 4

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
HF really has a great academic program with top notch teachers and administrators.

Homewood-Flossmoor High School 4

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
april 29,2010 My daughter is a freshman at H-F this year. I am impressed with the school. The teachers are very caring.My daughter enjoys it very much.

Nearby schools

Homewood-Flossmoor High School
999 Kedzie Ave, Flossmoor, IL  60422
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (708) 799-3000
Last modified Homewood-Flossmoor High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top