Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grant Community High School

Public | 9-12 | 1820 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2014

It is a great school and I love many of the teachers attended Grant. They loved it so much and chose to teach there. I like that they offer so many ap and honors classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

The honor classes at this school are geared towards prepping students for college. The teachers are implementing many new tools for students to excel such as full day access to math/science tutoring labs and encouraging technology use in all classes. This school is what you make of it. You can goof around or you can take full advantage of the helping hands preparing you for higher education opportunities. Extending the school day starting in '13-'14 is a bonus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

My son has excelled at Grant. I have been more than pleased with all of his teachers. They offer many honors classes that have appropriately challenged my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

This school is great. My child didn't tell us about his experiences until he came to this school. I credit his new found maturity and the teachers here for getting him out of his shell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

This school is not challeneging at all and does not push the students enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

The curriculum at this school is unacceptable. There are not many extra-curricular activities. The academic level is way below average and it just isn't a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

This is not a good school. The teachers and staff do not seem in touch with parents and studants
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

Grant was an awesome experience and basically it was the most rewarding experience. The majority of the staff members are incredible and caring. I was more than well prepared for my college experience at a leading Big 12 school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2008

I went to this school and I was a really good experience. The staff is more than willing to help with any problems, and the Superintendent is very involved with the High School. Most of the teachers I had have left a lasting postivie impression on me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2008

Coming from a parent's point of view, I feel that Grant High School is a great school to send your children. I have noticed that the Staff is very supportive and shows up to a lot of extra curricular activities. Also, I think that the parents who are writing saying that their children are not getting a good education need to look at how they are interacting with their children. It is time that the parents take responsibily for their students' actions and stop putting the blame on faculty and staff. I find it ironic that we have such bright students in our school, yet the parents are the opposite. Thankfully, children our are future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

Grant High School is the best high school. And so does the community! If no one in the area did not like our school why would they pass a 38.5 million doller project. And there is a lot of students who are moving to our school district and like it. I'm a sophomore at grant and all of the teachers and falculty are nice. But if you did something wrong the deans will help the student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2007

I've had 4 nieces and nephews graduate from Grant. 3 went on to college, 2 with scholarships. 4th went on to a trade school. All have become successful young adults. My son is in the freshmen class this year and has already completed a summer course. He did well and liked it very much. He's also excited about access to the math lab. He's also signed up and active already in athletics and is thinking about the drama club. Teachers and staff so far have been nothing but supportive. Nothing but blue skies from what I can see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

Overall, many students of this school are quite apathetic and do not appear to show much enthusiasm in their work. As well as that, the Performing Arts Society is too underdeveloped and relatively small for my taste.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2006

I go to Grant and I like it a lot. Class rooms are not over crowded at all. Every teache I have had in the past 4 years are awesome.If I had a problem with a teacher its because of my actions. Every teacher took you in as their own kid. They would se you in the hall and say hello or stop to talk. If you ever need help us students can go in to their class early for help. Oh n we just got a new library and its awesome! We even have a math lab that we can go to . Plus I'm a really big jock. OUr sports are phenomenal and our coaches are amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2006

This school is fantastic. The teachers are very involved with helping us but they aren't push overs and know how to make us want to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2006

This school seems more interested in controlling the students then encouraging and helping them. Deans that yell in the faces of students and exhibit behavior that escalates situations rather than defusing them. The teachers for the most part seem ok and the counslers and social workers are the best part of the staff. My child was never a great student but is now refusing to return to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

The administration and faculty at Grant are very adamant about the fact that the only valid opinion to any situation is their own. They fail to recognize that what works well for some adolescents does not work for others. If your child has a learning disability or other problems there are actually staff members that will seek them out in order to antagonize and cause confrontations. This I have seen with my own eyes.It's very difficult to have conversations with certain members of the administration and faculty that offer alternatives to thier way of thinking. After all, they are gods in thier own eyes. Now, there are some very good and very caring teachers, but unfortunately the good is undone by the lack of concern put forth by the egos of those in control. I always thought that the parents and teachers were supposed to work together. Not here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

grant school is the worse school i have ever seen in my life.most of the teachers dont even care.they cant teach any learning disabled child at all.all this school cares about is sports.why do you think they are on the news.i have had 4 kids in this school.they tell one child not to do some thing but let others get away with every thing.my kids where A,B AND SOME CS.AND LOVED SCHOOL.until they came to this school.my kids did great in lindenhurst schools.if your moving to this school area ,DONT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2004

A child doing poor on a school report card, is not just the schools fault but the individual as well. I think the curriculum is adequate, however I belive school related activities and extra curriculars offered is very poor. There needs to be a greater sense of schooll unity. I do belive most teachers there are good teachers, and many highly educated. Many, with the right ambitions can highly succeed as seen in the past, including many doctors, teachers, and other successful career persons have come out of Grant. All it takes is motivation from parents and the willingsness to use the resources the school offer which include tutoring and guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2004

We move into the area 3 years ago. We are very disappointed about the school report card for Grant High School. Could you please tell me what is the board doing to improve the over all stats. I am hopeful that the board will respond.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female55%
Male59%
Black31%
Asian84%
Hispanic39%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White63%
Low income41%
Not low income64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female67%
Male65%
Black38%
Asian89%
Hispanic45%
Multiracial70%
Native Americann/a
White72%
Low income46%
Not low income73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students57%
Female54%
Male60%
Black44%
Asian68%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
White65%
Low income37%
Not low income65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

87.8%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 51%
Hispanic 19% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 3% 18%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. John Barbini

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

285 East Grand Avenue
Fox Lake, IL 60020
Phone: (847) 587-2561

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Allendale School
Lake Villa, IL




Johnsburg High School
Johnsburg, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT