Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Franklin Park, IL
Students enrolled: 436

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hester Jr High School 5

Posted July 06, 2011
- a parent
Great school! Both of my boys loved it, and I look foward to my daughter attending. Great teachers, who really know what they are doing, and really care for their students.

Hester Jr High School 5

Posted March 23, 2010
- a student
best school ever! no doubt about it


Hester Jr High School 5

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hester Jr High School 0
no rating

Posted July 16, 2009
- a student
I went to Hester Jr. High and just graduated this year. Its a great school, they are so many cultures and activies going on. I thought i woudl hate my 3 years there but I loved my last year. So much drama, but so much fun. :) class of 2009

Hester Jr High School 1

Posted March 25, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Hester Jr High School 0
no rating

Posted December 15, 2008
- a parent
My daughter went to Hester the teachers are good but there is no advance classes. If you need help it is fine, but if you are a advance student you have no help. They have no programs or policies or do the staff know what to do with smart kids. I also found they do not respect the children the way they should.

Hester Jr High School 4

Posted January 06, 2008
- a student
I attended this school. I was having trouble, since i just moved from Poland, and I could barley speak ENGLISH! Now thanks to Hester, i'm honor-roll, enrichment, AND even in student councial. They have great parent teacher communacation, and then while your kids are being safe, they're having fun too!

Hester Jr High School 4

Posted October 27, 2007
- a student
great classes, great extracurricular activities, and a lot of parent involvement


Hester Jr High School 5

Posted August 28, 2005
- a former student
Hjhs is nice school to have around. It has thicker books. Math can push you around, but the teachers would be happy to help you get past it. I've struggled, which I'm proud of, because it is about time schools like these have better education.

Hester Jr High School 2

Posted August 20, 2005
- a parent
Although I feel that HJH has a great faculty group, I am not happy with the huge emphasis the school and the village is placing on the hispanic culture and how if forces non hispanic students to accept it. Franklin Park is a very diverse suburb consisting of american born citizens, europeans, asians, hispanics, arabs, jewish, africans, african americans and north america/canadians. I do not see any efforts to represent these minorities, nor am I asking that the school spends its resources in doing so. I believe celebrating ones ethnicity and culture is a noble thing, but it should be left for the family, friends and minority group community to do and should not be imposed on schools to accept or acknowledge individual cultures. We need to spend the resources in better technology like updating the dist 84 website, keeping it current with developments, teachers comments, registration, and school supplies list.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hester Jr High School
2836 Gustav Street, Franklin Park, IL  60131
(847) 455-2150
Last modified Hester Jr High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hester Jr High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top