Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Glen Ellyn, IL
Students enrolled: 1,367

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Glenbard South High School 2

Posted April 21, 2014
- a community member
Do not listen to parents describe what a school is like. They get the propoganda that is fed to them by the school. Take it from an actual student, this place is no where near as top notch as they like to think. Pathetic sports with overly demanding coaches, administration that cares about their bottom line more than the well being of the students, security guards picked straight out of the nursing home, food that prisoners at dupage county jail eat (literally, same company provides for both institutions) watered down academics because "every kid is an honors kid" and teachers that are overpayed in proportion to how much they actually do. Not to mention the pure wastefulness of the funds. There is a smart board in nearly every classroom, over $5000 a pop. And you know what the teachers do with them? Pull down the projector screens in front of them because they are so buggy and inefficient that it's better to just use handouts and projector screens. This is a miserable place to be and nobody should be fooled by the smoke and mirrors the administration puts up. I hated every second of my experience at glenbard south.

Glenbard South High School 4

Posted July 10, 2013
- a community member
I am an alum from around 2007-2010 grad year (prefer to stay anonymous). Honestly, this school is a small school so therefore it is what you make it. If you are a motivated student who wants to do well and wants to get along with teachers and hang out with the right people you will do well. That's why I am currently doing very well in the real world. However, if you have some needs beyond being self motivated (not that you are a bad kid) then this might not be for you. Not all kids are mature enough to be able to do this. As the community around this area is relatively well off, there are certain limitations with that, but there are certain benefits. I enjoyed high school overall (although I seriously disliked some teachers and some aspects, but who doesn't?). As far as public schools go this is a great one. Also, security is minimal because it doesn't need to be better. Its a great area and there is a certain trust with students and teachers. Lastly, I agree with the person who discussed the separation between honors and regular. Honors students are regarded above the "regular" kids, which creates an environment in which high performers are rewarded (AKA just like the real world).


Glenbard South High School 4

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
Small class sizes, experienced teaching and admin staff, caring community and family friendly, safe environment.

Glenbard South High School 1

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
My daughter didn't like it much there, staff wasn't friendly at all, had a horrible experience with this school

Glenbard South High School 5

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
I have the distinct honor of being a Glenbard South alumni as well as a parent. As a product of this small but proud school, I was thrilled to be able to find a home in the area so my sons could have that same opportunity. Smaller class sizes offer more one on one teaching if necessary and tons of AP class options. Excellent teachers, a caring and involved principal, along with a challenging academic program is what makes Glenbard South such a fantastic school! I honestly don't believe my son would've been able to get an academic scholarship to the University of Illinois without having the benefits of academic rigor this school instilled in him.


Glenbard South High School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
I teach there, and I think the students, staff and community are fantastic!

Glenbard South High School 4

Posted April 24, 2010
- a student
Pros: Stellar academics (particularly for honors/AP track), active extracurriculars, flexible course choice, personal attention due to small size Cons: Athletics are lackluster, somewhat cliquish, honors and regular kids divided socially, administration considers students' views little when making decisions. Overall, it's a good school. I'm glad I went here.

Glenbard South High School 1

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
The honors program is so diluted, my daughter is getting bad grades from pure boredom. Not a good idea for anyone who's kids are involved in the honors program.


Glenbard South High School 5

Posted February 12, 2009
- a student
This school is amazing!!!! the teachers are very nice, they help out, and you can talk to them about any problems that you are having.

Glenbard South High School 4

Posted December 28, 2008
- a student
As far as schools go, i think gshs is a good one, although it may be lacking in a few areas, it's a small school which is nice, it's in a safe location and it's well rounded in many aspects as far as having a variety of sports, clubs, and classes. As a student there i must say i rather enjoy it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glenbard South High School
23W200 Butterfield Road, Glen Ellyn, IL  60137
(630) 469-6500
Last modified Glenbard South High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Glenbard South High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top