Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Glenbard West High School 3

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Teachers lack of leadership and motivation. (just doing my job thing) According to some students, they spend too much time talking about their personal life during class and then storm them with tons of homework. Does not motivate students to get along as a whole team.

Glenbard West High School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
In our current test-obsessed, highly standardized educational culture, it amazes me that a school like Glenbard West H.S. exists. The teachers genuinely care for and respect their students and their excitement for learning and passion for their subject areas is contagious! The teachers here challenge, encourage, and support students academically but, more importantly, holistically. They encourage students to explore their interests, to work hard, to be part of the Hilltopper community, and to be their best selves. I appreciate GBW's broader, healthier definition of "success." At GBW, my child is not a number or her best test score. This school is doing a great job of preparing my student for college and for life. Thank you, GBW!


Glenbard West High School 3

Posted March 12, 2012
- a parent
Glenbard West is a great school for outgoing, brilliant or athletic high school students. If you are a born leader you will do great. Glenbard West does nothing to help their students become leaders and they trample on quiet, kind students. Glenbard West is about making their numbers look good so they encourage most of the students to take AP classes that are completely developmentally inappropriate for 80% that are recommended to take them. The teachers are overloaded because they are to differentiate to a huge span of learners in both the regular classes and the honors and AP classes. If you are considering the Western Suburbs to live I would look at York in Elmhurst, OPRF in Oak Park or Hinsdale Central in Hinsdale before considering Glenbard West in Glen Ellyn.

Glenbard West High School 5

Posted October 23, 2011
- a student
Glenbard West was off the chain. The teachers were very serious about preparing us for the real world and the faculty did an amazing job helping me prepare for college.

Glenbard West High School 5

Posted January 19, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Glenbard West High School 5

Posted January 17, 2010
- a parent
Glenbard West is truly impressive. I have two sons enrolled with a third to start soon. The faculty is serious about getting kids ready for college yet the teachers are full of energy and have a great sense of self-assurance. They are great role models for the kids. Kids who graduate from Glenbard West have been given the tools and education they need to accomplish anything in life.

Glenbard West High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I love Glenbard West because of the students, teachers, and beautiful campus. The football field overlooks Lake Ellyn, and the school looks like a castle on top of a hill. However, there is a very limited amount of room, and my school could really use the extra money for things like parking spaces, athletic facilities and lights, and repairs inside the school.

Glenbard West High School 5

Posted April 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Glenbard West High School 5

Posted March 31, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Glenbard West High School 1

Posted December 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glenbard West High School
670 Crescent Boulevard, Glen Ellyn, IL  60137
(630) 469-8600
Last modified Glenbard West High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Glenbard West High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top