Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

G Stanley Hall Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 392 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2013

To put it mildly I was terrified transfer my children from their private school to G Stanley Hall after reading the test scores and reviews. I have to say that the teachers, staff and principal of this school have made me do a 180 in a very short amount time! Mrs. Church, the principal, is a wonderful administrator and seems to truly care about each and every student at her school, while still maintaining a serious and well structured atmosphere. Her administration of the schools PBIS standards works wonders, focusing on positive behavior instead of negative. As for the academics and teachers, we have hit a homerun. My children are excited to go to school each day to learn. The reading program, American Reading Company, is filled with milestones, rewards and excitement that keep the children striving for more, as well as providing at level support and goals, no matter the grade level! I am not sure how the school was ran before Mrs. Church, but I can tell you that I haven't regretted for a moment sending my children here! As for the school's test scores, they have been on an upward climb for the last couple years, and this year the school DID make AYP!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

This is school is very impressive! When I first enrolled my son this year, I was very fearful for the outcome based on the ratings that this school has received. I know that Mrs. Church was put into the role of Principal and I am very happy with the outcome. My son came from another school in Glendale Heights, and in comparison, this school ranks much higher as far as the academics, the special activities, and the discipline! My son is in first grade, and I can see how far he has come from the beginning of the year to where his learning was a struggle to where he is excited about reading and strives to read more, as well as learn as much as possible. The teachers here care, and they are very honest and involved with all of the students. I love the fact that I can ask his teacher exactly what does she feel he needs to work on and we can work together to get him to where he needs to be. The entire staff at G. Stanley Hall are all very helpful and caring and over and over again I see them strive to make every child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

I would give this school 0 stars if that were an option. Once again, I have received a notification that states HALL SCHOOL has FAILED to meet the Average Yearly Progress targets for the third year in a row. The letter basically states that the school if failing in the areas of math and reading, and by law the district must offer the option to transfer to another school. However, there are no other schools in the district that will accept students fro Hall School. So, my child's school is failing, and the district is failing to provide options!!! I have had enough of this school!!! Every year it gets worse!!! My child has been attending for 4 years and is SO FAR BEHIND her cousins that are in different districts. It makes me sick to my stomach knowing that year after year my child must attend a school that is failing to teach basic education. I contacted Dr. Loren May last year when I received this same letter. I spoke with him for over an hour. He blamed the low school rating on non-english speaking parents!!! Unbelievable!!! How about taking responsibility for the school district that he runs!!! CALL Dr. Loren May and make you voice heard at 630-469-7615 ex. 1251.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

I must say that this has to be the worst school in DuPage County. The principal makes up the rules as she goes. There is no organization as far as after school programs such as roller skating parties or math night. They don't care about the students on the bus ,they let them do whatever they please. My child is a 2nd grade student who is reading at a fifth grade level and they don't even have any special programs to keep her intersted...way to keep your kids interested. Someone needs to step up and make some major changes at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

I have to say that Hall school has been wonderful. The Kindergarden teachers, the principal have been great on dealing with my son. We have seen the positive changes in his attitude and behavior, he loves it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

This school has been one disappointment after another. The academic program is lacking. It seems the only concern is making sure the children pass the ISATS. There are big gaps in the education because if it's not going to be on the tests then the subject matter isn't covered. Art was just brought into the school this year. There aren't many extracurricular activities offered. There is very little parent involvement, it seems as if everyone has just about given up. The teachers do their best to struggle with this problem, but I believe something else needs to be done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and She is a great example of a leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

I have gone to school here for 6 years and it has been wonderful. The teachers are awseome!And i love the Extracurricular activities!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 12, 2005

I have been at G.stanley Hall school for 6 years. I have to say that those years have been the best. The teachers here are wonderful. They work one-on-one with me and the other students who are willing to learn. One thing I have to say is that many teachers dont disipline. They do their best but alot of the students refuse to listen. It feels like some students run the school. Here at G. Stanley Hall school we have both gym and music. In gym we play all sorts of games. For example volley ball, scatter, soccer, flag football, floor hockey and basketball. In music grades 3-5 play recorders. We learn many chalenging songs. Grades 1 and 2 have fun coloring, drawing pictures, and singing. I am sorry to say that kindergardeners have no p.e or music. I was disapointed to hear this. They need to learn too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2004

I am disappointed with this school. My children have been attending for a couple of years. The school is lacking support and leadership from the principal. The classrooms are over crowded. The kindergarten students are crammed into a very small room in the basement. When enrolling my children I commented to the principal that it looked like we would have a smaller class size (around 18 students), her comment to me was that small class sizes were no good because we couldn't get enough money without more students. I was very disappointed to hear that money was more important than smaller classes. However I am pleased with the teachers we have had so far. The music teacher is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

I have no problem with the education. Its the lack of discipline at the school. The teachers have no support from the principal's office. It seems the students run the school. That is why my children no longer go there. That is why people are moving out of the neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students36%
Female24%
Male45%
Black13%
Asian70%
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income32%
Not low income55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities40%
English language learners27%

Reading

All Students53%
Female60%
Male47%
Black40%
Asian80%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Low income49%
Not low income73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
English language learners26%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female63%
Male52%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Low income56%
Not low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female55%
Male38%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Low income43%
Not low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students69%
Female74%
Male62%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Low income69%
Not low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female60%
Male55%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Low income52%
Not low income70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female60%
Male45%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Low income46%
Not low income70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 24%
Black 20% 18%
White 16% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Cynthia Church

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1447 Wayne Avenue
Glendale Heights, IL 60139
Phone: (630) 469-7720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Matthew School
Glendale Heights, IL


Reskin Elementary School
Glendale Heights, IL



Glen Hill Primary School
Glendale Heights, IL



Americana Intermediate School
Glendale Heights, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT