Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marquardt Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 846 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2014

This school.... It has it's ups and downs.... Teachers DO NOT tailor to individual needs, they teach a COMMON CORE, and students who excel, are stuck with the kids who aren't doing well. Which causes problems w/ the advanced, and average/un-advanced. Other students from our "neighbouring" schools, report to friends that they are AFRAID of the students at M.M.S :( - Submitted by a current student.


Posted May 15, 2012

THIS SCHOOL SUCKS. I hate this school, all the teachers are horrible only for a couple who actually care about your learning. The rest are no use, honeslty i would transfer if i could. So, you should not come too this school ever!!


Posted February 24, 2012

I am a student at Marquardt Middle School and I have to say the school is great school. The teachers are wonderful! They care so much for the students education. The school is beautiful and very easy to find your way in. Our principals make sure that our school is safe and clean for the students. May I include the teachers do not give out unnecessary homework. The cafeteria only gives out healthy food. I think Marquardt is the best school I have ever been to!


Posted December 4, 2009

i do not feel marquart helps students excell. curently i am searching for a new school so i can reach my academic needs. i would honestly not refer you to this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2009

I am currently a student a marquardt middle school.All i have to say is its a great school!!!!! Well yea our school has a pretty bad reputation bu we are getting a lot better!!! I was reading the past comments that people have left.And some of them I have to disagre with.NOw all classrooms have walls,a abrand new beautiful cafffetiria,(which serves a variety of nutrisious warm food!!!!),and a brand new fitness center!!!! It is reall y a great school.Past commenters metioned that the teachers hand out unneccsary homework! Which is untrue,yea im a student and im suupose to hate homework,but i think my homework reallly helps me excell! Also other commenters said the teachers were very disrespectful! If i had to say the one best thing about marquardt are the teachers!!!! they are wonderfull,they really care for the students and dont ignor the bullying rumors and fights!!!!! they are really great!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2008

This school is one of the best I've ever been in. The teachers are very involved with the students. With the new principal fighting and anything gang related is not tolerated. This is a really great school and it's totally safe.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2007

im a former student from Marquardt. Marquardt was one of the best times for me. If you stayed out of the drama and knew right from wrong it was easy to stay out of trouble and get the most out of the school. The teachers were very caring and did everything they could to make you feel comfortable and important at school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2007

I would like to inform that the teachers give extra unnecessary homework that involves coloring (not including art). My daughter and myself are very glad to be out of that school. We have had just enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

I really disliked this school very much. The students need more discipline. The teachers and the staff don't seem to care much about the rumors and the fights that go on there. They seem to ignore it. I would not recomend this school ever. The children (and I have been one of them) get bullied a lot and no one notices. The school doesn't follow through with their rules. The clothes that the kids wear are inappropriate for school and the education is not very challenging.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2007

Well...as you probably know, we just got a FABULOUS workout room --with stereo and plasmas!!! -- and a much-needed cafeteria! They also just got finished installing the last of the 'big lockers' in the other side of the school. (upstairs, there were little 4'' by 5'' lockers [im estimating]..but now there are bigger lockers actually capable of holding a backpack!) The teachers, I think, are mostly very good. They really care about their students! They do everything in their power to make sure the students are in a safe, and comfortable enviornment. Although, sometimes they get a little strict, -as all teachers are- they are usually fun people. Marquardt really is a good school, I think most of the students really enjoy it, and I know of many who can't wait to get back to school! (summer is nice too though!)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2007

Okay many people have issues with this school because of past grudges. It was built in the 70s when freedom was crucial so they built it without any walls. As the times went on, they realized that that plan was ridiculous so they started rebuilding. Last year the entire school got a renovation so the walls are finished, a new workout room was added as well as a lunchroom. I attended this school when it was still in its moderate wall phase (some classes had half walls while others were complete) but I coped with it. It wasn't the terrible experience some people claim it would be. About the teachers and new principal, they have strict fighting policies and really care about students' safety. There are also plenty of extracurricular like music and drama, and sports such as boys/girls basketball, cheerleading, cross-country, track, boys/girls and volleyball. Overall, its a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 20, 2006

The teachers are good, caring individuals who have quiet a few unavoidable elements stacked against them. The community has had a significant change demographically in the past few years, which makes it difficult for them to bridge learning gaps. It is important, too, for parents to keep in mind that they are STILL the parents. Its, therefore, a good idea for other parents to put a great deal of energy into supporting, encouraging, and enriching their childrens' lives--particularly if they feel the school fall short in some areas.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 13, 2006

Marquardt Middle School has recently invested money in the school building, district office and it looks great. The discipline at the school could be improved. Luckily, they'll start offering hot lunch to students next year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 3, 2006

My bright child probably needs more challengin work that what she's given here. She's able to excell in music here, which is a good thing. It seems that the work tends to be more 'busy' work than intelletually stimulating work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

This school does not respect the students as human beings. The discilpine policy is quite good but the staff and administration have a quite low standardts of how to treat the kids with respect. Also the same teacher might teach up to three subjects completely different which is absolute nonsense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2005

This school gives great education but the school doesn't even have a lunchroom.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2005

marquardt middle school does have its problems like any other middle school but it has great after school activities and the teachers are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

If your child has a disability like autism or Asperger and goes to Marquardt, you are out of luck!! They have no place for kids to calm down whenever their senses are 'overwhelmed' and they do not provide any help in making these kids' life a little better. I am so glad we are out of this school because i cannot take one more second of dealing with [this.]
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

This school doesn't have warm lunch and overcharges the students for the lunch. If you were to compare Chicago public schools to this school, Chicago Schools charge less and have warm lunch with variety. Parents should get together and ask for something to be done about this. If we want change we have to get together and protest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

This is a school you won't want to send your child to go to the teachers don't care about the kids and the rooms don't have door and theres no lunch room!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female61%
Male57%
Black40%
Asian67%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income53%
Non-low income74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities61%
English language learners12%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students56%
Female62%
Male48%
Black37%
Asian64%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income48%
Non-low income74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female51%
Male50%
Black17%
Asian73%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial40%
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income44%
Non-low income66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
Students without disabilities52%
English language learners25%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female54%
Male41%
Black37%
Asian54%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial47%
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Low income41%
Non-low income62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities49%
English language learners16%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students71%
Female71%
Male70%
Black66%
Asian71%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income66%
Non-low income82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)39%
Students without disabilities72%
English language learners15%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female62%
Male54%
Black23%
Asian84%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income50%
Non-low income75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities61%
English language learners23%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female56%
Male46%
Black25%
Asian71%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income42%
Non-low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities53%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 23%
White 26% 51%
Black 15% 18%
Asian 12% 4%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marie C Cimaglia

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1912 Glen Ellyn Road
Glendale Heights, IL 60139
Phone: (630) 858-3850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Matthew School
Glendale Heights, IL


Glenside Middle School
Glendale Heights, IL


Marklund Day School
Bloomingdale, IL


Westfield Middle School
Bloomingdale, IL


Stratford Middle School
Bloomingdale, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT