Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Matthew School

Private | PK-8 | 360 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Glendale Heights

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2013

We are very pleased at this school. The principal has changed and it seems that the focus is on learning, safety, and improvement. The teachers are wonderful and it is a great experience overall. This is the best school in Glendale Heights and also a great value compared to others in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

We are so pleased with St. Matthews! Our children are new to the school this year and couldn't be happier! The new principal is very organized and professional. The teachers keep in touch with the parents and give weekly updates on whats going on in the classroom. The Parent Organization hosts wonderful events and everyone has been very welcoming!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

I have always had a professional and kind relationship with the staff at St. Matthews. My children love this school. I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

I was greatly disappointed with this school. Not only the reception was very cold at the beginning (which we tried to ignore), but my child was bullied and the case was dismissed. I will definitely not return to this school with my second child. In fact, my first child says that he is happier with his new (public) school. I still recall a case with our friend, whose grandchild was terminated from the school few years ago for saying the "f"-word. I believe that can happen to everyone, but a nurturing and a loving christian environment is suppossed to work with these children to help them segregate good from bad and teach them about the true values in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

St. Matthew School is a wonderful, nurturing environment for students to learn. The teachers care about their students. The after school care program is fabulous. I highly recommend St. Matthew School to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

School has really gone downhill since 2008 . I would recommend that other schools be considered before choosing this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

By far, this is the best school in Glendale Heights. The parents are involved and the kids are very respectful and do very well in school. The superintendant of the public schools in Glendale Heights should be ashamed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

I graduated from this school and think so highly of it that I have a child enrolled there now. The teachers at St. Matthews are phenomenal. They are very nurturing and go beyond their call of duty. More importantly, the school is very friendly. In the past, the Parents Organization put together a lot of fantastic opportunities that encourage family time. St. Matthews is hands down the best opportunity for children whether your child is in Pre-K or 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

i like st matthew because it helps u learn religion very well. i also luv the teachers becuz they r soo nice! the activities are very fun! they bring my happiness up!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2007

I have 2 children attending this school. Absolutely love it! The hold the children accountable for their actions (meaning the have a great discipline system). The teachers are great. Excellent parent involvement. Unlike the public schools, the parents really get involved with this school....
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 60%
Asian 32% N/A
Hispanic 12% 16%
Two or more races 9% N/A
Black 3% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Regina Pestrak
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (630) 858-0623

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Joliet
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1555 Glen Ellyn Road
Glendale Heights, IL 60139
Phone: (630) 858-3112

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Reskin Elementary School
Glendale Heights, IL



Marquardt Middle School
Glendale Heights, IL


Glenside Middle School
Glendale Heights, IL


Glen Hill Primary
Glendale Heights, IL


Americana Intermediate School
Glendale Heights, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT