Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glenbrook South High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

Glenbrook South is an EXCELLENT high school. There's so many clubs and sports to get involved in and also many classes to choose from. Any career you have an interest in pursuing, Glenbrook South most likely has it! The teachers and all staff are super kind and always helpful. All of the staff want the students to be successful, but this doesn't stop the school from requiring rigorous courses, which will help in college. One thing I love is the TLC which have teacher and student tutors to help students in whatever subject (going there for essays for college was extremely helpful). The students are welcoming and there's a place for everyone at this school. Truly an excellent school. Yay, Class of 2014!


Posted November 17, 2010

I went through the basic classes and took only a few honors classes throughout my time at this school, and I felt that there was a lot of opportunities for personal and educational growth for anybody that applied themselves to the core curriculum or extra curricular, after school activities. In retrospect, the three main issues I have with my experience at GBS are that the school at times ran itself in a very totalitarian way, I rarely saw school administrators (this excludes teacher faculty) push for the growth among students belonging to lower class families, and an inability to successfully promote mutual respect and courtesy among social and cultural classes. Still, I rate this school as above average, as it prepared me well for college, and was inspired by more than half a dozen teachers. Special mentions go out to Mr. Hussman and Mr. Benjamin of the social studies department.


Posted April 5, 2010

I am a freshman parent and have been wonderfully surprised at GBS. They have many levels of learning at GBS and my child has really improved and loves the school! The sports and performing arts seem to play a major part that my child absolutely loves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

GBS has something for everyone, no matter your child's passion. There is such a wide range of programs. I had a child in the honors programs and another in the regular program and both have been challenged and prepared at their level. The administration is top notch and demonstrate true caring for ALL students. They go out of their way to make sure students stay in school and feel safe, accepted, and recognized. They can attract and retain very capable and talented teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

As a former student, I can say without a doubt GBS was an awful school. As others have mentioned, you have to have a great deal of 'school spirit' or else you are NOT accepted. GBS is overlly demanding, overbearing, and had too many BS rules even though the education was decent. All the garbage that many students are put through takes away from the education. Steer clear of GBS if you are anything other than rich, popular and capable of reaching high-honors
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

My elder son is in his first semester at college (a top engineering school) and told us after a few weeks, 'This is the easiest semester I've had since sixth grade.' He (and we) feel that GBS was the best preparation he could have gotten for a rigorous college program. GBS hits a sweet spot for academic excellence, extracurricular opportunity, and diversity
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

I love this school! I am currently in my first year of college and I have to say, 'Great Job GBS!' I was over prepared for college when I arrived. I noticed right away how much GBS equipped me for college after I took a language placement test and based on the results I was placed in one of the more advanced courses. Honestly, I believe that the other parent who ranked GBS with 2 stars is overexaggerating. Compared to many high schools, GBS is the best I've encountered. I don't regret a moment I spent there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2007

I just graduated and am heading off to college. Glenbrook South did a great job in preparing me for college courses. Already I see differences between the way I'm prepared and the way other freshmen entering my college are prepared. I don't know what this other parent is talking about. I don't go to the football games and no one cares. I don't have a whole lot of school spirit (although I do like the school) and I'm not ridiculed. I was in a couple of honors classes during junior year and two APs during senior year. I still had fun freshman and sophomore year so I don't know why they are complaining. The rules can sometimes be a bit extreme, but I dealt with them and in return I got a great education. The students are relaxed (the upperclassmen more so). I don't see kids picking on others often (if ever).
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2007

If your child is going to be placed than anything other than honors classes, good luck. If you dont like football, this is not the school for you. If you dont show an amazing amount of school spirit, you will be ridiculed. The school has a large amount of rules that can make it feel more like punishment to be there than an enjoyable learning experience. If you have a kid in honors classes maybe he/she will like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

GBS is the best thing that ever happened to my daughter. This school and its faculty really care about their students and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2007

GBS is a great school which offers the best selection of AP classes in the entire north shore area. GBS also offers a diverse student body and many after school activities.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 22, 2006

This school is very good. There are services and programs for any kind of kid. The teachers are great. There are a ton of clubs. there are also alot of sports teams for you sporty people out there. The people work with you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2006

Glenbrook South prepared me to become a successful college student. Though challenging academic programs and teachers that wanted to support their students, I felt that my education at GBS helped me to be ahead of much of my class in college. So many GBS students will not see how wonderful their education was until they have left the school and begin to see how other students were not as fortunate in their high school education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 10, 2006

The academic environment is very broad. There are some good teachers and there are teachers who are poor. It seems that the situation will remain that way. There is not a dress code which creates a very 'loose' environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

The quality of this facility is outstanding and very supportive. The theatre program is highly respected and known through out the area. The athletic department is very organized and supportive of academic achievement. The level of parent involvement is extremely high and always bountiful. I would recomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 17, 2006

My son is a freshman. Regular classes, not the honored ones. The programs are just right. Some fieldtrips are a good compliment. The students are not encouraged enough to take part in after school clubs and sport activities. Parents are informed about the progress report and teachers always give prompt replies. Overall exprerience is very positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

Demanding academics from a talented teaching staff. Multiple opportunities for student involvement. Excellent fine arts opportunities. Highly college prep with 90% of students going on to college. Excellent facilities. One of the best high schools in the United States
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

GBS is a wonderful school in a safe, friendly and accepting community.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female82%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian85%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Low income62%
Non-low income88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
Students without disabilities87%
English language learners15%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female84%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial89%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Low income61%
Non-low income86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
Students without disabilities85%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students79%
Female75%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian81%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial78%
Native Americann/a
White83%
Low income54%
Non-low income84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)41%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

25

Graduation rate

97.1%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 4%
Hispanic 8% 24%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Brian Wegley

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 West Lake Avenue
Glenview, IL 60026
Phone: (847) 486-4559

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT