Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Hampshire, IL
Students enrolled: 371

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hampshire Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
This is an amazing school. It is the sole reason that I still live in Hampshire. The principal, teachers, parents are all involved and care about all the kids. It is a wonderful environment.

Hampshire Elementary School 1

Posted January 03, 2013
- a parent
I wish we had been here BEFORE Scarpino! What a joke of a principal. He bullies the kids, staff, and parents. My son hates school as a direct result of this man. He has gone to him for help and been shamed for doing so. The art program is non existant. PE is a joke. Dr Scarpino spends lots of wasted time "visiting" classrooms daily to intimidate the teachers instead of doing anything productive. My kids actually try NOT to earn incentives for doing good because often the prize us time spent with the principal. THEY HATE HIM! be claims the are "his kids" what a crock. My youngest Will never set foot in that school if this man is still there when she is kindergarten age..


Hampshire Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
HES is everything I want my kids' elementary school to be! Our community really makes this school a special place for kids to learn what education is all about. I am proud of my sons' teachers for making learning fun and meaningful, and not just 'teaching to the tests' like many other schools. I appreciate that the kids are taught to be inquisitive and to think for themselves. The teachers and support staff are wonderful, and do such a great job making sure all children feel valued and are held to a common standard of expected behavior.

Hampshire Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are amazing!! The community is really active and involved too!

Hampshire Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
Hampshire Elementary is a wonderful school. My children feel very comfortable with all the teachers and especially with Mr. Aalfs. He's been a wonderful addition! Its nice to know your children are safe and the teachers and staff really do care about their jobs. Glad to be at HES!!!!


Hampshire Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
Hampshire Elementary is a great FAMILY school! The staff and principal go out of their way to get to know each child and parent. We have a wonderful principal and the teachers are amazing! I couldn't be happier. When we moved to Hampshire 7years ago we where looking for a great place to raise our children, and we couldn't be happier!

Hampshire Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2008
- a parent
Hampshire Elementary is a wonderful school. Upon the retirement of Mr. Wright many may have worried who could possibly fill his shoes. Mr. Aalfs is extraordinary! He is a fantastic principal, that clearly takes his job seriously. The children love him too.The teachers seem to get better each child I have go through the school. Keep up the great work!

Hampshire Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hampshire Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2004
- a parent
Mr. Wright, our fearless principal, is the glue that holds this tight ship together. He treats all students, parents and staff with the upmost respect and this trickles down. We have not had one bad experience with any teachers. We love this school!

Hampshire Elementary School 4

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
Hampshire Elementary is a great school with excellent leadership. I am proud to send my child there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hampshire Elementary School
321 Terwilliger Street, Hampshire, IL  60140
(847) 683-2171
Last modified Hampshire Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hampshire Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top