Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Proviso West High School

Public | 9-12 | 2217 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2014

Proviso West High School should be avoided if you have other options. Getting a decent education at this high school is only remotely possible. Too many hurdles such as racial animosity, high levels of crime, peer pressure, drugs, too much chaos in classroom and indifference by some faculty leave this school unable to adequately educate our children. I advise you to send your children elsewhere if at all possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

My three daughters have or are still attending Proviso West. All have been on the Honor Roll and in the National Honor Society. This school is what the student and the parents will make of it. It you apply yourself you can achieve anything. All of the negative is from those who do not want to apply themselves and parents who are not showing an interest in come to the school and working with the administration and the teachers to it make a better place. We as parents involved in our children education. This year will be a great year for Proviso West because we are praying and working with the administration and the PTO. Parents please get involved let you voices be heard. Show and be apart of the solution not the problem. Your children need to see you come and visit the school and sit in the classroom and know who is in the school and who is teaching your children. Don't let another year go by not knowing what you can do for you children. God Bless
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

School should be close long time ago. Students are not learning and teacher don't teacher. Wasting tax money. I will not my kids to this school to learn nothing. Got to move out because of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

This is a horrible school! I spent the first 3 years of my high school career at a private school. Senior year, I elected to go to Proviso West to be with my best friend. Horrible mistake & a total culture shock! Smoking in bathrooms, teachers cursing, students cursing back, gang fights in the hallways, pregnant girls, racism against blacks and latinos, gay students being inappropriately affectionate in the hallways. It was just sad. I struggled in Trig because our teacher only taught to the front row for 3 min, passed out papers and sat down for the remaining period. I didn't learn a thing and almost didn't graduate because of the teachers desire to actually TEACH! It was such a let down and a huge embarrassment that I Ever attended here! My sister will be going to high school next year and I PRAY my parents don't let her go there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

This school is just so disappointing. My son comes home and i ask him how it went. All he ever says is, "The Usual". He doesn't think the way Proviso is should be blamed on the teachers. He thinks its only a "bad" school because of the students in it. We should all clap for the teachers, for what they have to go through everyday. Its just complete nonsense coming in and out the school. Another issue there is, Racial issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

these schools were terrible too begin with! it got a little better better from 04-07 then the school got terrible once again. There's many gang activites , regualar on a day to day basis of fights happening. There's about 7 or 7 a day and the teacher's do nothing but resum class. I would NEVER send any kid's too any of the proviso schools. there all dirty . The people there who "guard" the school do nothing and aren't worth anything. the "no child left behind program" does not apply there even though they have it. Children get bullied each day . RACISM AGAINST WHITE PEOPLE IS HUGE OVER THERE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

this school would be alot better if the teachers pay more attention to those students that are willing to get a good education and focus less on those students who rather not be in school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2009

Do your kids justice and do NOT send them to PWHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

I graduated from Proviso West in 2005. Basically the science and health departments are the strongest. The school is what you make it. I am now a senior on the deans list at North Central College, people can't look down on you when your at the top of your class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

proviso west is un sanitary. teachers there dont teach anything. kids get bullied with out a teacher doining anything its a real disappointment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2008

One of my daughters graduated from PW and I have another one thats a junior..they both play softball and parent involment is non-excistant...every game, it's just me or when my husband can come, just the two of us..it's pitiful! And its been this way for the whole time my daughters have played here (7 going on 8), but its not just this sport...both my daughters play volleyball and its just as bad! The only sport that gets a little support is boys basketball. Its a real shame when there are more parents on the visiting side then ours. And as far as acedemics, I've said this before and I'll say it again, where ever your child goes, they can learn or not learn or they can get in trouble or not get in trouble. My graduated daughter was excepted in every major college she applied to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

I found the key element to success at Proviso West to be Parental involvement. Both of my sons graduated from P.W. The youngest went to U. Wisconsin and graduated December '07 with a civil engineering degree. The eldest did the four year air force tour and is in school for computer engineering. They both played football and wrestled. I can only conclude that the honors classes work at Proviso and as parents we need to stay connnected to our childrens academic progress, meaning give the teachers your cell phone number. Then they will know that as a parent YOU are highly committed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

I'm very glad to have my son in this school. Teachers and other staff are very friendly and helpful. The school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Proviso West is a big disappointment,the school is unclean,the enviroment for learning is poor,the staff and teachers do not teach.Send your child to a better school and don't waste your time with Proviso West.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 2, 2007

PW reputation NOT reality-I can't believe families are so afraid &spend $$ for private school. My daughter graduated and was offered excellent college scholarships-high class ranking. My son is a current student. The school is very clean, excellent facilities- pool, fieldhouse etc.The kids have never felt in danger at any time.We've only had 1 bad teacher and she's gone, they are all very good, willing to work with students-Love the new Principal. Coaches doing their best-while sports teams not competitive in TOUGH ISHA conference--if your child has interest and is willing to show up to practice, he/she will be the team leader & star,looks great on college resume. Band too hip hop, need a concert band. My main criticism is ZERO school spirit...BAND is just learning the school song-my daughter never learned it-even though the words are printed on the wall of the gym. Want more input? Email me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

Teachers lack teaching skills, the schools security is good for nothing, when there is trouble then tend to get to late. Student and Teacher Relationship is poor.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2006

I think the new principal is doing a real fine job of changing the way the school is doing. I really appreciate the way she is handling most situations. I wish all the staff and faculty was 100% behind her. Most of the parents and community do support her and those that do support her. There are some wonderful teachers that go out of their way every day for our children. Proviso west is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 1, 2005

Academic: good. Lots of extracurriculatr activities. Some parent involvement.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 18, 2005

The incoming freshmen program called F.L.C.A. is great . I suggest all freshmen be apart of this .It helped my daughter alot and now i her sophmore yaer she has honor classes. The sports are not that great. The cheerleading team does not have a good coach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

I would not recommend this school.While there are good teachers and people in a leadership position, the overall quality of the school is horrible.Parental involvement is nonexistent. While extracurricular activities are present, Students don't participate due to the negative overall social atmosphere of the school. Peer pressure within the school causes many students to conform to lower standards in order to be accepted. The amount of violence within the school is ridiculous-fights occur on a daily basis. My first year of college was very difficult due to the fact that I wasn't accustomed to the workload and expectations of University Life and I had ALL honors courses at PWHS. OVERALL RATING: D- The only good thing that came out of PWHS was meeting one of my best friends.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
22%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
16%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students24%
Female24%
Male24%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Low income18%
Non-low income30%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities30%
English language learners11%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students27%
Female30%
Male24%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Low income20%
Non-low income34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities32%
English language learners16%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students17%
Female14%
Male21%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Low income15%
Non-low income19%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities20%
English language learners21%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

77.1%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 60% 18%
Hispanic 37% 24%
White 2% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Roudell Kirkwood

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4701 Harrison Street
Hillside, IL 60162
Phone: (708) 449-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Joseph High School
Westchester, IL



West 40-Sr. Plus
Bellwood, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT