Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hinsdale Central High School 5

Posted August 30, 2012
- a parent
The rankings for this school are accurate. So many opportunities, so many things to do, and a great program. A fine school, with a funnel in the end toward great colleges. In a great area, to boot.

Hinsdale Central High School 4

Posted June 28, 2012
- a student
The teachers here are great. However the students are very close-minded. If you are not very well off or went to Westview Hills Middle School you are considered scum and feel very left out. I believe it has a lot of diverse clubs and sports that excel in their areas. Overall I hope Central pays off for all the stress and loneliness it has put me through


Hinsdale Central High School 5

Posted April 21, 2012
- a student
Spectacular education that prepares you for the rest of your life. I was barely in the top 20% of my class and I currently attend The University of Michigan and am about to graduate with honors. There are some problems such as the "Hinsdale kids", but it is truly a phenomenal educational institution. To put it in perspective, we regularly have our middle 50% of kids go to schools like Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, and Purdue. The "bottom of the barrel" kids still go to schools like Mizzou and UIC. It is a truly great school.

Hinsdale Central High School 4

Posted February 19, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school and teachers. Students leave well prepared for college. However, bullying does exist despite what is advertised.

Hinsdale Central High School 5

Posted January 05, 2012
- a parent
Facilities are substandard, but don't be fooled. Hinsdale Central's results/reputation serve as a magnet for education-focused families moving to and living in Chicagoland. Especially those with talented, motivated students. Diversity is improving as interest in obtaining a high quality of education trancends race. Having four levels of course difficulty accommodates the needs of all students. Honors/AP are difficult for even the best students. The unusually large assemblage of very talented and dedicated students provides challenge, motivation and support in a way that would not be available for very top students and most other schools. The result is that the strong academic focus opens a wide range of possibilities for graduates. The importance of personal development through extracurricular activities and athletics is also emphasized. If you are looking for the best public education that Chicagoland has, Hinsdale Central is it. The biggest drawback is that while the high-expectation, high-performance environment gets results for most students, it is also stressful. Aligning parent expectations with student abilities resolves much of this problem.


Hinsdale Central High School 5

Posted May 25, 2011
- a student
A great school that prepares it's students for college and future success in every way from day one. My classes at Central were often times more challenging than freshman and sophomore level college classes. The teachers are passionate about what they do and care about the success of their students. There are hundreds of sport and extracurricular activities and clubs for all types of interests. As for the references to discrimination, I think Central is comparable to any typical high school. There are cliques and "popular" groups of students but racism is minimal if it exists at all. Hinsdale is predominately white and non-Caucasian students may feel out of place but those who seek to make friends and find a group they like will certainly do so. Opportunities for advancement abound at Central. There are 4 levels of classes and opportunities to excel and advance. Most students take at least one honors or AP class, and many have a majority of honors and AP courses. The guidance counselors are excellent and make sure that each student is taking classes that best fit them.

Hinsdale Central High School 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a student
I lived in the ghetto and my parents found an apartment in the Hinsdale area ( which have now been demolished ). The Hinsdale School system really saved my life! I was a straight A student in the city. In Hinsdale I was getting Z's! The CPS is THAT BAD. My teachers cared, the parents cared, and the students wanted to learn. Honestly, I worked harder at Hinsdale Central than college!

Hinsdale Central High School 1

Posted November 12, 2010
- a student
The People here are so mean! I was there and people spread stuff about you. the academia is GREAT! But the social standards are horrible. My friend was constantly taunted about her looks by these girls. The school officials just over look them. It is so sad. I am disappointed this is what we are part of so called "school"!


Hinsdale Central High School 5

Posted December 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hinsdale Central High School 5

Posted July 06, 2009
- a parent
Thankful for giving my son a great education and preperation for college.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hinsdale Central High School
5500 South Grant Street, Hinsdale, IL  60521
(630) 570-8000
Last modified Hinsdale Central High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hinsdale Central High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top