Advertisement
Advertisement

Hinsdale Adventist Academy

Private | PK-12 | 290 students

Our school is best known for being physically, morally and emotionally safe.
 
 

 
 

Living in Hinsdale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $827,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2014

Our family has been so pleased with Hinsdale Adventist Academy. The teachers are so amazing and they really care about their students. We like that high standards and morals are taught here. There are a lot of opportunities for community service, athletics, and the arts, but mostly it's a safe and loving environment for kids of all ages. We've been really impressed. Everyone is really nice and the quality of education is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

We have 3 children attending Hinsdale Adventist (G1, G2, G4). The teachers are amazing and really love our children. The curriculum is first class and in my opinion, equates to what the Lane offers. With Hinsdale Adventist you get the added advantage of Christian education which you do not get in the public system. The association with the Hospital and an active parent body is also highly encouraging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

My child attended the Little Lambs Preschool at Hinsdale Adventist Academy and it was a tremendous experience for myself and my child. The teachers and staff are incredibly dedicated to the care and education of the children. They foster a wonderful environment for learning & creativity. They understood and embraced the individual needs of each child. And they do it all with an amazing sense of passion and faith. I am constantly recommending this school to other parents with young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

We have never experienced a school where the administrators are so passionate about helping our children become the best that they can be. The high standards of behavior, academics, music and the athletic program are worth every penny we sacrifice to have our kids there. The teachers are so loving and caring. There is a real diversity of ethnicities and religions, but they all come together in a very loving environment. We feel like our children are being set up to achieve their full potential!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

Hinsdale Adventist Academy is a private, Seventh-Day Adventist, K-12 school. It is full of diversity and hard working students. Sadly, there is an obvious separation in between the administrative team and students. Student rights and involvement in school issues and policies is very limited. More than half of the students attending HAA need financial aid, and it's not surprising since tuition is pushing passed $9,000. I have had all of my kids go through all grades at HAA, but let me tell you, I was ecstatic when they graduated so I wouldn't have to deal with that school anymore, and I assure you I am not the only parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

HAA is a college prep school that takes a holistic approach to education. The new structure and strong emphasis on health is witness to the Adventist comittment to education. We don't want our daughter anywhere else- - our neighborhood school could never come close, it's worth the investment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

Because It gives the students the choice to be whoever they want to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 21, 2009

The family-oriented environment is warm. Their motto is 'It's a Family Thing,' as a matter of fact. The kids receive a high-quality education, learn how to lead a Christ centered life, and HAA is also a college prep school. We love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2009

Our daughter loves attending this school! Her first grade teacher is so giving and nurtures a healthy learn and play balance! The school is small and warm, and parents are embraced as volunteers! We are so satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

The #1 Reason I send my kids to this school is that it is Christ-Driven. Graduates from this school have gone on to become successful lawyers, Doctors, bankers,etc. For the financial resources available to this school, the students have been educated above and beyond and from my experience, from a variety of test scores, they are on the same level as every other public school within its township. I am impressed with the dedication of the Principal, first and foremost, and the majority of the Teachers. I realized to be able to send my kids to this school, I needed to prioritize what's most important and not just look at the educational needs from a one dimensional perspective. It scares me what is happening in Public Schools and I realized that some parents overlook the negative impact of secular society. I thank God Hinsdale Adventist Academy Exists!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 60%
Black 15% 20%
Hispanic 14% 16%
Asian 13% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Andrews University
College of Dupage
Southern Adventist University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Portugese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Presidential Fitness Award (2010)
  • Presidential FItness Award (2011)
  • Presidential Fitness Award (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Portugese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Career Day
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Johanna Seralde
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Seventh-Day Adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC
Fax number
  • (630) 323-9237

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Individually guided instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Business
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Business management
  • Certified Nurse Assistant(CNA)

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Portugese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Career Day
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Bus from Bolingbrook Hospital
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Pee Wee Sports program
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Pee Wee Sports program
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Andrews University
College of Dupage
Southern Adventist University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Career Day
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

631 E Hickory St
Hinsdale, IL 60521
Website: Click here
Phone: (630) 323-9211

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


John Laidlaw Elementary School
Western Springs, IL


Forest Hills Elementary School
Western Springs, IL


Mcclure Jr High School
Western Springs, IL



Field Park Elementary School
Western Springs, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT