Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Hoffman Estates, IL
Students enrolled: 559
 

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Muir Literacy Academy 1

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
At this point I was livid and still no-one cared to help locate my daughter!!!!! All they said was maybe she walked home. (There is no school bus transportation for elementary students but there is for junior high and high schools)!!!!! After 27 minutes of this BS I left the school and found my daughter walking the neighborhood looking for her brother who usually picks her up. Again the incompetent staff was aware of this change and did not bother to notify the teachers or my daughter. When I found her she was hysterical and rightfully so. I then had to go the town hall to get direct contact information for the superintendent. The staff there was more concerned than the school. I was giving the superintendent secretary number. After briefly telling her that I was not interested in relaying messages through her and I needed an immediate conception to the superintendent I was transferred to his associate because of course he was unavailable. More BS apologies and he would contact the local school principal. Whether or not any action will be taken against the incompetent staff, I will never know. I even withdrew my son from the junior high school. OUTRAGED PARENT

John Muir Literacy Academy 1

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
Very unhappy with the school. Grade 1 teacher very short tempered and rude. My son who loved going to school at one point of time is now scared to do so because of lack of professionalism and rudeness of the teacher.


John Muir Literacy Academy 5

Posted February 28, 2012
- a community member
I am a student and I have to say the school is the best. My K/1 teacher Mrs.Byers was fantastic.She helped me so much because I came during December. The school may not be completely bully proof. But they help us children understand our mistakes. All the teachers love their students. I am in fifth grade and I am going to graduate next year. I will cry because I will have to leave my favorite school. Thanks to my teachers Mrs.Byers,Ms.Havel,Mrs.Achacher,Ms.Macejik,Mrs.Williams and my current teacher Ms.Rendall I exceed in all subjects. Love you all!!!!!!!!!!!! Mwa mwa mwaaaaaa mwa mwa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

John Muir Literacy Academy 5

Posted April 25, 2011
- a parent
Great School! I love the teachers, the whole staff is great! I son loves it too! Their princepal is awesome!

John Muir Literacy Academy 5

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
This school is wonderful. I have seen great improvement in my child. She was already an avid reader and excelled at reading. They have brought her math skills up almost as high as her reading. They have a lot of extra curricular activities for the kids too!


John Muir Literacy Academy 4

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John Muir Literacy Academy 5

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John Muir Literacy Academy 4

Posted August 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


John Muir Literacy Academy 1

Posted August 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John Muir Literacy Academy 5

Posted July 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Muir Literacy Academy
1973 Kensington Lane, Hoffman Estates, IL  60169
(847) 357-6444
Last modified John Muir Literacy Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Muir Literacy Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top