Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Timber Trails Elementary School 4

Posted August 23, 2016
- a parent
This is a good school. Two of my children have attended here. Preferred Mr. Flanagan as principal! So sad to see him leave. Events were better organized when he ran the school, plus he knew the kids and they knew him. The new principal is just not involved with the children. He was front and center, knew our children and us parents!! She does not. Second year and she has no clue who I am or who my child is. It makes a HUGE DIFFERENCE to have an involved principle!!

Timber Trails Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
The school has dedicated, hard-working teachers and a principal who cares. PTA is active and my son loves it here.


Timber Trails Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Flanigan - you are an outstanding leader and educator. Our kids were blessed to have your mentorship

Timber Trails Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
The teachers that our kids had for all 7 years made their expectations clear at the beginning of each school year. Our students were able to achieve those goals

Timber Trails Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
The homework load seemed to be appropriate for our kids, neither too much or too little.


Timber Trails Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
In our experience of having both kids attend both Timber Trails and Larsen Middle School, perseverance and hard work are part of what is expected.

Timber Trails Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Respectful behavior is part of the daily curriculum of TT school. We even saw improvement at home!

Timber Trails Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
A couple of years ago, one of the Timber Trails students had a tragic accident, and passed away. This was devastating to the entire school. This traumatic incident was handled with honesty and so much compassion and counseling to the students (and parents!)


Timber Trails Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Respect and responsibility are topics covered repeatedly, and we have found the teachers and staff to be fair

Timber Trails Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
The Timber Trails faculty is OUTSTANDING, and the depth of academic study (especially in math, reading and science) is equivalent to some of the top rated districts in the Chicago area, without the high real estate price tag! The principal, teachers and special ed staff are dedicated and extremely supportive of the needs of the individual students. The student to teacher ratio of Timber Trails is much better than the typical u-46 elementary school. The class sizes are medium, and the technology resources are quite impressive. The library of Timber Trails school is filled with a wide variety of appropriate yet popular book series for the students, grades K-6. The principal is approachable and thorough with expectations and discipline. The PTO of this school is filled with caring parents who are dedicated to offering additional opportunities for the students. U-46 also offers FREE instrumental lessons to orchestra and band students, and their overall music program has really improved over the past few years. To be honest, we were a bit leery about u-46, yet have found any concerns to be just unfounded . Thankfully, we have found outstanding schools in both Timber Trails and Larsen Middle School. I would not hesitate to recommend these schools to colleagues and potential neighbors.

Nearby schools

Timber Trails Elementary School
1675 Mcdonough Rd, Hoffman Estates, IL  60192
(847) 289-6640
Last modified Timber Trails Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top