Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Hometown, IL
Students enrolled: 344

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hometown Elementary School 3

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
Tons of potential. There are a many great teachers, but this place seems to have some underlying issues. There is another new principal this year, but so far she is doing better than the rest. There are plenty of programs, and parent involvment is high. With the right leadership Hometown could be an A school.

Hometown Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hometown Elementary School 4

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
I have to say this school has improved greatly in the last 3 years. The office staff is very nice and the quality of teachers being hired has greatly improved. I am impressed how much is being taught at the Kindergarten level. My 3rd grader seems to be enjoying school as well. I like where this school seems to be headed. They seem genuinely concerned about the well fare of the students. It seems much more nuturing and inviting with out sacrificing a quality education.

Hometown Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2007
- a parent
Hometown elementary is a great school.I moved to hometown the summer before my oldest son started kindergarten.He hardly talked,had many Developmental Disabilities.He was screened right away in the beginning of the year.and as placed in his home school in the right class for him...Hometown also has a great speech teacher she worked really hard with him back then at the end of the year everybody was able to understand him she is great..the ptp class in special ed is great and also the principle can be a bit tough at times but she does do a lot for this school and is doing a great job Thank you

Hometown Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2006
- a parent
I am very haapy with this school. My son was a kindergarten student last year, and I can not believe how much he has learned. His teachers were so kid friendly and made the experience very pleasant. Our school has a lot of great teachers and parents who really care about the students. The principal on the other hand, very few people like her. She does however run the school with very few incidents. She does not tolerate bad behavior! She does need to loosen up a little. Especially with the parents. She is not an easy person to talk to. Curriculum is awesome! Aside from the principal, the school is a very good place to send your child to learn and achieve!


Hometown Elementary School 3

Posted July 29, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Hometown Elementary School 4

Posted November 11, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hometown Elementary School 3

Posted October 18, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Hometown Elementary School 4

Posted March 05, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Hometown Elementary School 2

Posted October 14, 2004
- a parent
The school is nicely located. The principal leaves much to be desired. She is bossy and pompous. There are a handfull of teachers that are nice and have the childrens bests at heart but, most of them have a is the side of the principal. The PTA is very involved but never really gets much done because it is nixed by the principal. The school is over crowed and their lunch room/gym. Can not hold all the children at the same time. I would not let my child go there but I have no other choice.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hometown Elementary School
8870 South Duffy Avenue, Hometown, IL  60456
(708) 423-7360
Last modified Hometown Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hometown Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top