Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Big Hollow Primary School

Public | PK-2 | 614 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

This school is below average. Office lady's are very unfriendly and never greed anyone, they always seem to be in a bad mood. I have witnessed one morning how a girl came to the office and was saying that she is not feeling good and want to see a school nurse, and the office lady told her " Why did you come to school if you feel sick". When i drop off my child in the morning and greed them with Good morning , they never reply, they just ignore me. They are also very unorganized. Teachers are average, some are much better then others. Recess time at this school is "tv time" kids have to sit quiet and watch movie everyday for recess instead off running, playing and just burning their energy. Lunch is very short, kids don't get enough time to finish their food. Also the school seem to always have problems with their bathrooms and plumbing, kids have to go and use the bathrooms at elementary of middle school buildings. I would love for my child to go to a different school, but due to a real-estate value, we are not able to sell our house at this time. People that work in this school do not have passion for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

My daughter has attended K and 1st grade here, and I couldn't have been happier with everything. She had excellent teachers both years, and has come a long way academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

The teachers are about average, some much better than others. Those that live locally have a much better approach to the kids, as they seem to have a vested interest in the success of the school. The new Superintendent does not have a proven track record here yet. There have been some strange financial dealings over the past few years, including convincing the public to approve the development of the new buildings based on the sale of the old buildings and land, which never materialized. I had arranged for some nice computers to be donated, enough to outfit every classroom, and offered to do the installation for free. I was told NO because they were in the middle of a referendum vote and if people found out they had computers they might not be so apt to vote yes. The school rating is slippnig a bit, it used to be above average in the County now I believe it's about average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2012

We had a great experience at Big Hollow. Phenomenal teachers (we loved Mrs. Leginski and Mrs. Alberts) and great programs for the kids (even musicals for the primary and elementary students, great scout program, and great parent involvement)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

Teachers are to assist You in teaching your child. You are responsible for educating your child. Don't lay all the responsibility on the teachers. Don't be lazy... Pick up a book, and read with your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

We were very nervous about Big Hollow going into the school year, but our daughter's experience has been fantastic!! Her teacher is wonderful and there have been many fun programs throughout the year. KUDOS to all at Big Hollow!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

Great School. My child is learning a lot and has individualized lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Big Hollow is great! Kids are having a great time and the teachers are terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

I thought the Kindergarden program was great! My son has learned so much and was eager to do so, even at home. He is definetly looking forward to next year! I have high hopes for Big Hollow since the referendum has past.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Big Hollow School defintly has some problems. Because of financial woes they have had to cut teachers, special programs like music and art, and bussing has been affected. Class size is huge! Way above state norms at 27-30+ students in each room. The teachers are so over-worked and are in desperate need of planning time and parental help to run the classrooms. I applaud their efforts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

The teachers go above and beyond. They certainly do not get paid enough for all that they do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

This school has great teachers! I wish the parents would be more involved in what is going on at the school instead of waiting until the school is having financial troubles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

This school has gross mismanagement. The teachers are fantastic, however this school is in serious financial trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

My daughter has been a student at Big Hollow School since she was five years old. I have been impressed by the school since day one and still continue to be. She truly enjoys going to school and I appreciate the confidence and creativity they have instilled in her. The principal is extremely kind and greets the children every morning. The teachers enjoy what they do and try their best to bring out the best in each and every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

Unbalanced ciriculum, lacking focus on mathematics. Far too much time spent on 'feeling good' and too little on academics. The district as a whole complains far too much about lack of money. Another example of administrators being focused on public perception, as opposed to fogusing on the real world issues, such as a well balanced education. Example: my child comes home with an assignment, and doesn't know the meanings of words she is to use in sentences. I would have to give big hollow a d- for an overall grade. She learns more about words and their definitions at home than at school. I am her parent, not her teacher.It is the teachers' responsibility to teach, just as it is my responsibilty to be a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

The district is rapidly growing, classes are overcrowded and it will only get worse. There seems to be a severe lack in future planning. We have been pleased with the teachers, but there are many challenges left to be adressed and the administration leaves much to be desired. Safety is a joke. We desperately miss our former top rated district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2004

My children have attended Big Hollow for 2 years now, and I must say I am very impressed with the staff dedication to student success. The principal is a gem, she takes the time to get to know the students, well behaved and not so well behaved, so that they all know her in a positive light. I only hope my children will continue in the Big Hollow School system their whole school careers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 51%
Hispanic 16% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Black 3% 18%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33335 North Fish Lake Road
Ingleside, IL 60041
Phone: (847) 740-5320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Raymond Ellis Elementary School
Round Lake Beach, IL


Park East School
Round Lake, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT