Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Peter The Apostle School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Itasca

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $204,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2010

Saint Peter's is truly a great school. It will be remembered forever as a place where we all had the privilege to grow as people in a safe, loving environment. I was received there with nothing but kindness and hospitality. I know I don't have to say anything. I mean what can you say about years of fights, and laughter, secrets, hot lunches. I know that I'm not speaking for myself when I say that, It was an experience that I'll always keep very close to my heart, and that these are memories that I'll wrap myself in when the world gets cold, and I forget that there are people who are warm and loving. It will always be a part of me. It was something that I never expected at that point in my life, and I could never have asked for a better surprise.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

I have graduated four children and have one more that will finish this year. All of my children who graduated were well prepared for high school and are all on the verge of graduating four year universities. This school is small, and attentive to the students. Parent involvement is tremendous and these two benefits simply are not available in any public school. Combined with the faith based educational beliefs and teachings on a daily basis, this kids have a great head start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

As a parent of a student at St. Peter's, I feel that my daughter is in a very nurturing environment. She has excelled in her academics as well as her social skills. Her peers are her friends and being that the classrooms are smaller, the children feel more like a family unit. They respect each other and treat each other as Christians are taught. The balance they provide their students puts parents as a comfort level that never leaves us guessing if your child is mentally and socially fulfilled. We know they are being taken care of at St. Peter's. Kudos to the teachers and staff. I also applaud the parents who are so involved in the school. Without them we would not be as strong of a school family as we are now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I feel like we have a home at St. Peter's. Our children are cared for, loved and taught to be the best person they can be. This includes academically, spiritually and morally. We couldn't have picked a better school for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Our family has been at St. Peter's for 16 years now. We have always been committed to providing our children with a Catholic education. This is a struggle that the benefits far outway the cost. St. Peter's has gone above and beyond our expectations as a school and community. It is an academically excellent school that also focuses on the moral values we want to instill in our children. The faculty approaches each child in a caring, nuturing way that understands every person is unique. Our children have been well prepared for high school and consistently place in the highest honor classes. This school also allows us to be involved in the day to day activities of our children. At St. Peter's the kids also have an opportunity to forge friendships and relationships for life while acquiring an education that will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Besides an excellent academic environment, my family has found a warm sense of community at St. Peter the Apostle School. The children are respectful and display their strong characters through generous actions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I have sent 3 girls through St. Peter from P3-8th grade and they have had a wonderful experience. My daughters will cherish the years they spent at St. Peter's and have developed life long freindships. I now have a six year old daughter there who has been there since P3 as well and when asked if she would leave the school and go to another she totally refused. I know she is very happy there and I am glad to have put all my daughters in St. Peter's. I as a parent cannot say enough good things about the staff and the family atmosphere of St. Peter's. I know when I leave my children there they are being taken care of like I would do at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

AS an Alumni and a parent of two students currently at St. Peter's I firmly believe in the quality of education, the caring an growing environment and the religious foundation my children receive there. I drive 20 minutes each way and would drive an hour if I had too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

My daughter has attended since first grade and is currently in Jr. High. This is a great place for children to learn and we love the environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

I am now in charge of a board that the parents are running. I thought I could make a difference by doing so. The staff is pretty good. However, I am surprised at the lack of support the parents give. Unfortunately I have a third grader and kindergartner here and don't want to pull out the older one because it would be traumatic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

The Priest was replaced in June 2008 and the new priest is much more involved. The teachers are very dedicated and committed to the students, As with any small school there is going to be a small group of parents who are dissatisfied because of hurt feelings or some other childish reasons. Don't be fooled, this is a great school and the kids who graduate consistently get placed in honors classes at the local high schools. All of my kids are going there and I recommend it to anyone interested in a Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

i have been at this school since my son was in preschool and i still feel like i don't fit in..I joined a home and school panel to get more involved but i am just not wealthy enough-the teaching staff is okay...the priest is not very personable and seems to favor the families who can donate money to the church. I am looking into another private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

after one year at this school , we decided to transfer to another private school nearby and have been at the new school ever since. The teachers were wonderful but , sadly, the parents set a very poor example for their children. My children learned from other children basically, that if your mother or father aren't wealthy than they don't belong there. Very disappointed .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

As a St Peters parent, I am very impressed at how easy it was to request extra help for my child. The teachers always go the extra mile. This was the best decision myself and my husband have ever made by choosing St Peter's School. I am relieved to know that bullying is not tolerated and isn't a problem at St Peters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

As a former student and now parent of two children attending St. Peter's school, I am very pleased with the Christian based education my children are receiving. The school is above average in education and also provides a positive, Christian atmosphere for the children to flourish. The small size provides dedicated teaching for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

The small enrollment provides a family atmosphere where everyone knows your name. There are great opportunities for the children and the staff is fabulous with a lot of teaching experience. We started in Kindergarten and will keep going until we graduate 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 60%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% N/A
Hispanic 2% 16%
Black 1% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Ellyn Billmeyer
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Joliet
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 North Cherry Street
Itasca, IL 60143
Phone: (630) 773-1979

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT