Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lutheran School Of St Luke

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Itasca

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $204,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2013

St. Luke is a wonderful school. My husband and I feel blessed to know that our children are thriving spiritually and academically. The principal and teachers truly care about our children and give them the confidence they need to excel. I'm grateful for the individualized lesson planning my children receive and the values that are being instilled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

Love the teachers -- they are kind, encouraging, and knowledgeable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

because it is good for my nephews they are learning more and sheltered from oall of the evil in public schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I absolutley love this school. It is like a home away from home, very inviting! As we all know it takes a villiage to raise a child; and that is what St. Luke Lutheran Church and School is.... my villiage! In society today is is hard to instill high morals and values in our children. This school helps re-enforce the high standards that I expect from my boys. It is quite refreshing to be all on the same page. The education is remarkable and exceeds any public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The teachers truely care about each child and help them to excel. They give the child confidence to try new things out of their comfort zone and this will only help them in the future. I thank all the hard work and time that the staff at Saint Lukes puts in for all the Children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

It is the School my self and siblings were educated At as well as my nephew at this time, this is my choice for Schools in the area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

St Luke is not only a school, but a family. They not only teach academics, but also teach the love of God and give children a firm foundation on values and morals that stay with them for the rest of their lives. The staff is ever present to consult with, and are dedicated to giving and finding any and all resources your child may need. Your child is not just one of the crowd to blend in and be lost among many faces; your child is given the utmost attention in all areas of growth and everyone there (not only the staff but other parents as well) truly want your child to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

They truly teach the kids to think out of the box. Not just to take a test and get funds from the governnment. Our alumni excel at most everything they do in life. A very well rounded education and investment in your child. The soild moral background is installed at an early age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Great teachers, excellent curriculum and focus on building self-esteem in kids. These reasons combined with the family-like atmosphere of the school make it unmatched in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Saint Luke is a very caring Christian environment with an emphasis on academic excellence. The educators truly care for their students and take pride in their work. My children look forward to school each day and I know they are safe when they are at Saint Luke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Our children are treated with Love and Respect and the teachers care. Each of my children when they have gone onto high school they have AP classes and make the honor society and even do well in college achieving sclorships
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I love it because I know that I grew tremendously when I attended it for all of my elementary and middle school years. I grew in my academics, athletics, social skills, and my faith in Christ. Since St. Luke is a Lutheran school one should expect to further the work of Christ in the world, and I believe that this school does just that. Besides being a Lutheran school, St. Luke is a place where children feel safe and confident when giving their opinions on certain subjects. The teachers are facilitators of learning. The small atmosphere keeps that school centered in the focus of always putting a child's academics and faith first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Saint Luke is a place where children grow in their faith and education everyday. It is a small community the feels like family. All of the children Pre-K to 8th grade know each other and care about their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

In addition to the excellent education the children receive, they are also guided in their faith. They learn the importance of community and charitable involvement, and are nurtured to build a healthy self esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

The children that attend St. Luke are given the greatest christian education available and the teachers, staff and parent volunteers take a personal interest with loving attitudes. You are a part of a family at St. Luke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

very unchristian attitudes from the students up to the administrators. This school messed up my kid
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

St. Luke used to be great, but as another year came and another principal took over and again different rules apply I am sorry to say but this year will be a last for my child in this school. Teachers are not working with children who need more attention therefore blame them on their shortcomings, and a teacher is not a great one when even one child is not reached, or s/he takes easy way out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

St Luke is by far the best school in this area. A parent implied that the new principal has something to do with children being 'unfairly punished', by what standard is zero tollerance unfair? She is a wonderful principal and a superior leader. The parents here respect her leadership and decisions. This school is well worth every penny both academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

St Luke started out as a wonderful place for my child. With nurturing, loving and brilliant staff, it was worth every penny. It was a happy place to learn about the world, God and oneself. This year the school has hired a new principal. Students are being unfairly punished and St. Luke is no longer the positive learning place it once was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2006

This School works with the parents to build your child's spiritual, academic, and social personal best. It's helping each child individually that separates it from all the others.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 51%
Hispanic 8% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pastor Alex Duff
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

410 South Rush Street
Itasca, IL 60143
Website: Click here
Phone: (630) 773-0396

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Holy Ghost School
Wood Dale, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT