Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Jacksonville, IL
Students enrolled: 81
 

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westfair Christian Academy 5

Posted February 06, 2012
- a parent
Our children have been enrolled in Westfair throughout several different grades. As with every school, there are excellent teachers - and some that have to be weeded out....and they have been. Our college student credits the High School courses that he took for his success so far. He says that Mrs. Rothering [H.S. English] thoroughly prepared him for college entry classes and the types of expectations professors would have of him and this is why he is making high honors as a college student. My children all love it here. They have experienced public school before attending Westfair. Parents/students have to understand that there are some things you can't shield your children from and they will face at Westfair some of the same challenges as public school. However, there will be christian teachers and staff who will listen to them, pray with them and help them through their problems. You can't put a price on that. My children have homework almost nightly and have had many outside assignments to complete at the Junior High and High School level. Currently there are very qualified teachers there who challenge my children and require them to put in their best work. 2011-2012

Westfair Christian Academy 1

Posted April 18, 2011
- a community member
I cant seem to understand why you would choose to send your child to a school where the majority of the "teachers" do not have teaching degrees, or any degree at all. I went to this place and I remember going on donut runs, I remember getting extra long gym class because teachers werent available, I remember not paying attention but still gliding right through. There is a current teacher that falls asleep in the middle of class?! While other kids are learning your kids are watching their teacher sleep. This is not a place of education. Is it a place to sheild your kids from the outside so they have no idea what hit them when they get out there? Yes, yes it is. I am sad to say that I went and graduated from this place. I have had tons of making up to do. former student


Westfair Christian Academy 5

Posted March 19, 2011
- a parent
I have been very pleased with Westfair. The curriculum is very challenging and the teachers have good control of the classes. The small classes provide a environment where kids can get a lot of individual help and care.

Westfair Christian Academy 5

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
I think there is a misconception out there amoung young people today...COLLEGE IS HARD... there is a reason it is called a "Higher Education". There is no school that is going to perfectly prepare you for college. At some point you have to grow up and take resposibility on the choices you make and how you have applied yourself. Drive, determination, motivation, comes from within. Anyone can teach you how to read and write, homeschoolers are proving that every day. My children recieve a good, quality, Christ-centered education that "prepares them for life" each and every day. I am not only proud to be a parent of WCA students, I am even prouder to be an ALUMNI.

Westfair Christian Academy 5

Posted March 12, 2010
- a student
I love, love, LOVE Westfair. The small classes are great for more attention on each particular student and their own individual needs. I loved the Bible-based education as well with the teachers who let us create into our own. We had instruction but not too much. Each student is different, but accepted by most. If you are unique but don't give other people a try to get to know you, then it's just as much your fault as it is theirs. I have been attending a public school for my last two years of high school in another state and it is okay. I dearly miss the small classes and more of a family-like atmosphere. It is true - public schools have more opportunity. But, I would pick the Bible classes and trust you recieve between teacher and students any day. --Delana Sewell


Westfair Christian Academy 1

Posted August 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Westfair Christian Academy 4

Posted November 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Westfair Christian Academy 1

Posted September 18, 2008
- a community member
As a former student, I would have to agree with the others about the decline in educational value, as well as opportunities, that Westfair had to offer once a student moved past the 6th grade. I realize that it has probably changed some since I was there, but the smaller classes were a plus; however there was also a lot of harassment and intimidation that I went through because of being different. This is one reason why I would not recommend this school to any parent. Children should be allowed to blossom into who they are, instead of being brought up to be forced into a mold that isn't who they are. That's the experience that I had with WCA. - Former Student


Westfair Christian Academy 1

Posted May 27, 2008
- a student
When I attended WCA in elementary it was GREAT!! but after that PLEASE remove your children. The High school is/was pathetic. I had a teacher there who gave us OPEN BOOK SPELLING TESTS for an entire year. The teachers for the most part where not motivated with the exception of a few who have left recently. The students do not recieve the education they need to keep up when they go to college. Elementary-GOOD Jr. High/High School- Awful/pathetic

Westfair Christian Academy 1

Posted March 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westfair Christian Academy
14 Clarke Drive, Jacksonville, IL  62650
(217) 243-7100
Last modified Westfair Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Westfair Christian Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top