Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


James C Bush Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
This school has been excellent. The teachers are wonderful and children flourish in this building.

James C Bush Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
The teachers in this school are excellent, compassionate, and help the students that are needing extra help without making them feel awkward. I would highly recommend this school for your little ones!


James C Bush Elementary School 2

Posted March 29, 2011
- a parent
The school was great when Derek Straight was the principal. Since he has been promoted and they have a new principal Melanie Junge the kids and staff are not as enthused about the educational experience anymore. She has greatly affected the overall atmosphere of the whole school. My daughter has nothing but problems and the teachers dont help. They are behind in math and to get them up to speed they are jumping teaching 4th and 5th grade math in one year so they can use a new book with little regards towards the childrens academic performance. The bullying is out of control and they also call your child to the pricipals office and give them warnings without ever notifying you and when you call because your child comes home crying they never return your phone call! You have to stalk the school principal to get answers! I grew up here when it was great now its just so so and mediocre! I will be looking for a new school!

James C Bush Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
I have been very happy with Bush Elementary School. My daughter went there for 3rd and 4th grade. The teachers were have had are excellent. My daugher received extra help in areas she needed help. The principal was wonderful in dealing with any problems in a timely manner. The school goes on many educational field trips. There are many activities to keep the kids busy and excited about school. Their is great school spirit. I would definately reccommend to a friend to come here.

James C Bush Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
I've had two go through this school and it's great! lot's of parent involvement.


James C Bush Elementary School 3

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful Principal and office workers, Teachers are ok, some are great some are not so great.

James C Bush Elementary School 1

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
Negative reinforcement is used by the teachers and school policies are not clear. Staff is kind and helpful, teachers could be more involved.

James C Bush Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2007
- a parent
school is very clean,teachers are very understanding,this school has integrity,not overcrowded,nice environment outside,most children are very well behaved,my child attended there a couple years,5 star school compared in the suburbs ,my children been from elgin,carpentervill,to,mchenry ,this school is like night and day compared to the rest!!


James C Bush Elementary School 2

Posted May 02, 2007
- a parent
I chose JB for the schools but have been disappointed with many teachers. Teachers aren'theld to a high enough standard. Ringwood was good no luck with JJH and Bush.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James C Bush Elementary School
2117 Church Street, Johnsburg, IL  60051
(815) 385-3731
Last modified James C Bush Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 3-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James C Bush Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top