Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-5
Public
Joliet, IL
Students enrolled: 277

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eisenhower Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I am very glad that my child attends to Eisenhower, it is a school where I can see my son's progress every day! I see my son very motivated and happy. Professional teachers and highly skilled, a respectful and profecional principal and a very friendly staff. Thank you Eisenhower Team.

Eisenhower Academy 5

Posted January 02, 2013
- a community member
Lets be clear, Eisenhower is a magnet school for Joliet residents. In order to be accepted into the school you have to meet or exceed grade level requirements. So Eisenhower doesn't only accept gifted students. Students are given multiple opportunities to succeed and meet the requirements for their grade level, if they can not meet the requirements they are dismissed back to their neighborhood school. So the students are not dismissed after a lack luster quarter or semester, or even a year. Like I said before they are given multiple opportunities to succeed. Students can also be dismissed for behavioral problems and if the student isn't meeting the schools discipline policy. The school is relatively small therefore the students and staff know one another, for the most part. And this provides an environment that feels safe and nurturing for the students to learn in.


Eisenhower Academy 4

Posted December 05, 2012
- a parent
Let's be clear- this is a gifted school. I know they don't call it that, and I know all the kids aren't gifted, but the kids who excel here are the gifted ones. I've heard of more than one child being basically shown the door because they can't handle the expectations. The reason for the high test scores and 'great school ranking', is that Eisenhower is selective admission. You could basically stick these kids with the mediocre teachers in a mediocre school, and they would still test well. Having said all that, it is a good school for kids who are gifted or above grade level. During kindergarten S basically did nothing but drew pictures- there wasn't learning, as he was academically at the 2nd-3rd grade level. Eisenhower was fantastic for him because he is now challenged. The teachers are good, the curriculum is good (and almost identical to the neighborhood schools), but the fact that they are basically working with very bright and gifted kids means they can better meet their needs. On the other hand, P is right where he needs to be. He is bright, but at grade level. Thankfully, really, he wasn't accepted into Eisenhower and is thriving at his neighborhood school.

Eisenhower Academy 5

Posted October 20, 2009
- a student
i loved eisenhower so much. i am now a junior at Joliet West in the honors program. the teachers were great at eisenhower, and i miss it so much. the only problem i have had is the fact that the academy (the junior high for eisenhower students) was placed at Washington junior high, the worst school i have ever attended. the teachers in the academy are great, but the principal and other students were terrible. We were made fun of by the other students on a regular bases and i couldn't wait to leave. eisenhower is definetly the best school ever, and i recomend it to everyone. i made a lot of great memories and friends.

Eisenhower Academy 5

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Eisenhower Academy 5

Posted July 30, 2008
- a student
i loved this school, this was my last year and now i am going into hufford i.e. I loved the teachers, and the principal was great!! i wish i could spend another year there. It was awesome.

Eisenhower Academy 5

Posted January 25, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Eisenhower Academy 5

Posted October 10, 2007
- a student
I once went to this school and it was the best school i ever went to. The staff and teachers were amazing, I was challenged but I enjoyed it with all my classes throughout my five years. I miss Eisenhower and I wish I still went there. I had tons of fun, and i give this school a double thumbs up and feive stars as a over all reveiw! Student of 2001-2006 ke


Eisenhower Academy 3

Posted August 08, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Eisenhower Academy 5

Posted October 02, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eisenhower Academy
406 Burke Drive, Joliet, IL  60433
(815) 723-0233
Last modified Eisenhower Academy is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eisenhower Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top