Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joliet Central High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Is a diverse learning community providing relevancy and rigor in instruction and promoting positive experiences and exposures for our students.


Posted January 1, 2013

This school has great deans and staff that help the students achieve more in the community. Another thing that makes this school a great school is that we have a wide variety of diversity... and we all get along. The Bad Incidents: SOME security guards can be overwhelming when confronting students. I've personally experienced harassment by a teacher BUT our deans and principal helped me with situations like this. They have helped me and my peers with incidents you see at any school. The staff really does care about us and how we learn and do more than they are supposed to to make sure we get far. There is a numerous amount of teachers who stay after when they aren't required to and you can feel how determined they are to helping us achieve. Central is a 5 in my opinion. Go Steelmen!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2010

This is my senior Year (CLASS OF 2011!!) I moved from chicago which i have lived in my whole life, to this school. I was scared at first because i didnt know anyone and as you can tell this school is huge, but the students and teachers got me involved in alot of activities. The teachers here care about the students, not only their jobs. I am really happy with this school and how they treat us. They get us ready for the real world. All the teachers know what they are doing. There is alot of mixed ethnicities at this school. I am proud i will be a Steelmen my whole life. GO STEELMEN!!! CLASS OF 2011!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2010

Having my child in a private school for 9 years, I was a little hesitant to send my child to Joliet Central. But with the 1st semester behind us, I can truly say I am proud to be a steelman parent. My child is in all the honor classes and involved in sports. He enjoys his school day. The teachers are very dedicated and committed to learning and seem to enjoy their students. I,m impressed with the communication between parents and teachers. I was afraid with the large student body, that it would be difficult to stay involved in my child's education, but that was not the case!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

I attended Joliet Central for 4 years. I scored a 29 on my ACT, currently attend the University of Illinois, and I am just as well off academically as other students from any other school. As with all schools, Central has it's problems. State test scores show that we tested poorly, and unfortunately at Central, there are a lot of students that don't care about their education. But that doesn't matter, because a student will get out of high school what they're willing to put in. The teachers I had in the honors program are great, and they are some of the best, motivated teachers I have ever met or heard of. All graduates have had different experiences there, but I can say with near 100% certainty that all of us who have moved on to bigger and better things will agree with most of what I have just stated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2009

This a really great school to go to. The teachers are great some of the kids are cool. It helps you get prepaired for college. GO STEELMEN
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2009

This school is run on rules not education. It is a joke! Do not sent your children here they will struggle in college. As for diversity, yes has alot of blacks and mexicans, and whites. The impression I got from those groups was disgraceful. I hope to god that is not how it is in the real world! Please don't send your children here! For there own sake....
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2006

Joliet Central has a lot to offer academically, but I think its greatest strength is the diversity. We have students of so many different cultures, and so many different ability levels and disabilities, that any student who attends here is much better prepared for 'the real world' than those students who attend schools that tend to be all white, or that are more aimed at college prep.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 18, 2006

i go to JTHS Central and I love it there! the teachers are all highly qualified, it's a landmark, and i'm walking through history every time i walk into that school. the music program there is excellent! there is a class in that huge school to meet every student's want and need. they send letters home when needed, but parent involvement could be a bit better. all in all, i love my school and there's nothing anyone can do to change that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2004

Test scores? Children are apathetic at this age to testing unless it involves some sort of personal gain. This is hands down the most excellent school I have ever observed at, attended, or sent my children to. The racial/ethnic mix is very condusive to learning. For the person who graded the school so low based on cleanliness, a teacher's job is to teach not enforce petty rules. The only thing that this school is lacking is parental support and involvement, which it needs. If parents care, students tend to care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

I went to JT for three years, then I moved to Oklahoma. I love JT more than anything, and I miss it more than anyone will know. So what if the test scores aren't that good? That doesn't mean that the school isn't teaching us, it just means that the junior class doesn't care. Don't put the blame on the whole school for something that a couple of kids do. I don't see anyone complaining about West, which isn't fair. And plenty of kids care about Central. Central would be a better school if we got some funding now and then. Everything goes to West, which isn't fair at all. Get more involved!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2004

I am recent graduate of Joliet Central and I think that its is a fantastic school! There are many oppertunities there for students to take advantage of. The school is very diverse. You don't get that from most schools. It also has rich tradition, history, and alot of school spirit. I was accepted to every college I applied to because of that great education I received there. I am so glad that I had the oppertunity to go there. I couldn't imagine going to any other high school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 4, 2004

A lot more needs to be done about the cleanliness of the school. Teachers, this falls on you. Students need more enforcement on this issue. Also, more individual teaching for our learning disability students. What happened to no gum chewing in school. We need to take better care of a historic building like Central. Central can look that good. When the staff shows the students they care, then they will care, and have more pride in their school. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

I attended this school for three and half semesters. This school is not to bad for the students, but I would not want to send my kids here (if I had some). As you can tell by the test results, it is not very academically friendly. Not the most quality education. There are too many class interuptions to deal with discipline problems. I only had three classes my senior year. This school provides you with hte bare minimum requirements.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students31%
Female32%
Male30%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracial27%
Native Americann/a
White52%
Low income28%
Non-low income39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities37%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students38%
Female42%
Male35%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracial33%
Native Americann/a
White62%
Low income34%
Non-low income51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities46%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students28%
Female29%
Male26%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracial33%
Native Americann/a
White50%
Low income24%
Non-low income39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities33%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

64.7%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 24%
Black 22% 18%
White 21% 51%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John Randich

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 East Jefferson Street
Joliet, IL 60432
Phone: (815) 727-6740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT