Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Troy Heritage Trail School

Public | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

troy heritage trial elementary, I like this school there very organized and treat every student fare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Troy Heritage Trail. My child has went to Heritage Trail for the last 3 years and I couldn't be more pleased. Mr. Munch is always available and visable for the children. Teachers set high expectations of every student and encourage every student to do their personal best. Our teachers have been Mrs. Bennington, Mrs. Walker and now Mrs. Kula. My daughter is reading a year above her grade and loves school. Their specials programs of Art, Music , and Computers are a special plus. The art and music direction/ programs are outstanding and they have a yearly art / concerts that all the children participate in. My only draw back is the lack of PTA communication for the parents. Memos aren't timely, fund raisers are so-so, and directions to other schools are never provided. However, the schools office is always available with great information to help. I like the fact that an ID must be shown to come in the building. VERY SECURE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

I have one child that went from Kdg - 4th and I currently have another child in Kdg at THT. My third child will attend Kdg next year at Troy and I couldn't be happier with the school, teachers and curriculum. They have pushed my children to do their best and rewarded them when they have. All the teachers I have come across thus far have been excellent...Bennington, Tyrell, Vitas, Nelson, etc. etc. have all played in important role in our lives and I'm thankful there are such caring, devoted teachers at Troy. Some people have said the reading program is not good ... let's just say my now 5th grader reads about an hour a day and loves it and my Kdger was reading after 2 months into his first year in school... remarkable I say!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

The communication is where this school really fails. They set up policies, but never enforce them or enforce them without any consistency. Picking your child up is a horrible experience. Its a real safety problem. I have had a good teacher, but sadly enough, I have found the majority (at least in my experience) do bare minimum and do not go out of their way at all. They really fail in the category of reading and the merit program is a joke... I moved to get out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

My son is in 2nd grade and is doing well but having trouble with his reading and they have been going above and beyond to helop out
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

I think this school is OKAY, but I think it has a lot of room for improvement. I would like to see some more updated teaching methods and there are some really nice teachers, but A LOT of teachers who don't seem to really even like teaching or teaching children. 'Centers' is a waste of time, none of the kids are really working, they are all messing around and talking. I think the school day could be utilized much better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

I love the school and all of the staff, I have never had a complaint about any teacher or staff from any parent whose child attends there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

My son is entering the second grade this year and we couldn't be happier with the education and attention he has recieved from his teachers. That includes everyone from his classroom teachers to Mr. Nelson and every other teacher involved. Thank you THT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

I think they over-estimate the ISAT scores. Some teachers are exceptional. Some are so-so and some are just not good at all. One good thing I can say is that they have tried to help my son who does have some academic problems. Overall, I do not like the school district at all and would move in a heart beat if I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I found that my daughter's kdg teacher was not very encouraging, she definitely had her favorites. My daughter is a well behaved child, who needed a little extra help with her letters/sounds - thank God that her merit teacher was outstanding in that department. I can only hope that her 1st grade teacher is a lot more caring and helpful. Also, the fact that art and music are no longer a part of the class schedule is very depressing and all the teachers wanted to know was if they could send the kids home earlier now ... how pathetic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2004

I have been very satisfied with my son's teachers and the administration here. I think his teacher this year (2nd) is exceptional. He has many friends and loves his school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

I think that Troy is a wonderful school. My son is entering 3rd grade and although we did have some issues with keeping him 'interested' staff was extremely helpful in working through everything with us. Also, even though there were some issues in his home class - he still loved going to school everyday and interacting with the other teachers and staff members on a regular basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

Personal I think there are too many kids per class. I am a single father and it is hard for me too spend a lot of time with my son during the week for school home work. Not that he gets overwhelmed with home but I think all the kids could bennefit more if there were less kids per class.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female45%
Male42%
Black8%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income31%
Not low income50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities47%
English language learners10%

Reading

All Students60%
Female63%
Male56%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income47%
Not low income67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
English language learners10%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female55%
Male52%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Low income38%
Not low income68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
Students without disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female61%
Male66%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Low income60%
Not low income68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
Students without disabilities66%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students79%
Female73%
Male85%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Low income76%
Not low income83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)83%
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 51%
Hispanic 25% 24%
Black 15% 18%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Munch

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3389 Longford Drive
Joliet, IL 60431
Phone: (815) 577-9195

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Jude School
Joliet, IL


Troy Shorewood School
Shorewood, IL




Holy Family School
Shorewood, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT