Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
527 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cathedral Of St Raymond School 2

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
I have been doing a lot of research on the schools in the area & find it very interesting that the schools in Joliet Diocese are ALL VERY DIFFERENT!!! The tuition rates differ, the teaching differs, the extra curricular differs & the rate of what they are being taught even differs!!!!! Shame on the diocese! It's quite obvious that St. Raymond is a hoarder of it's money & that only the rich & leaders in the community will succeed there. These children are ALL children of GOD & none of them should be treated any different!!!

Cathedral Of St Raymond School 3

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
While we were happy with the teachers at St. Raymond school, our family will not be returning as we can no longer withstand the atrocity that is the administration.


Cathedral Of St Raymond School 5

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
very friendly & faith filled people attend the school & church. all are welcome in this place. our family enjoys all the activities offered. we have had a very good experience their.

Cathedral Of St Raymond School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
thank you for bringing in the programs that help the slow learning students learn the skills that they need to make it in school!

Cathedral Of St Raymond School 3

Posted May 15, 2014
- a community member
As a graduate of St. Rays I have mixed feelings on this school. When I first started I loved it, but as I grew older the classic Catholic School problems started to happen. Kids became mean to you if you didn't have money and didn't see things their way. The parents where very much like teenagers only talking to those in their little group and gossiping about others. Near the end there was a lot of bullying which was one of the main reasons I couldn't wait to leave the private school system. I now attend Joliet West and have lots of friends who you might consider popular so I was not exclude because of the way I acted, but because I didn't have a lot of money and didn't put up with their attitude. Also, Yes I'm so glad I chose Joliet West over JCA. If you can get past that though the teachers are great and prepare you for high school.


Cathedral Of St Raymond School 5

Posted December 16, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school! Both my son and daughter graduated from St. Ray's. Both are now college graduates. They both made life-long friends there. Some went on to JCA, some to Joliet West or Central. All are still close. St. Ray's, St. Pauls, Holy Family, same kids. Nice kids from nice families. Well worth looking into if you are a parent.

Cathedral Of St Raymond School 3

Posted December 16, 2011
- a parent
I have had both positive and negative experiences at this school. I have 2 children that are at St. Rays. I am not wealthy nor do I own any business in town. I did not attend JCA or St. Francis and have friends that go "way back" but I want to be involved in my childrens school and llives regardless of "cliques or gossip" so I volunteered and made friends and became active. I have noticed many new families also get involved and make friends fast. Yes there is a LOT of gossip but that is anywhere--you can become part of it or ignore it. Lately I have noticed an VERY LARGE increase in fights, bullying and violence at the school. I would really like to see the administration step up and make a stronger example before it becomes an epidemic. This year has been the worst I have seen and am growing slightly concerned in that regards.

Cathedral Of St Raymond School 4

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
I have had 4 children attend this school. Two have graduated and two remain. Like any other small school setting people do know other people's business. This can be good and bad. Yes, there are those parents who choose to gossip but there have also been parents who have given their time and talents to the school and each other in a very positive way. I myself am not rich by any means and I do take offense to those who say the parish school is made up of the those who are and who shun others. The problem with this attitude is it may be based on your own jealousy.Of course there are affluent families that attend but there is also plenty of middle class families such as ours. The school is not perfect and if it is not what you are looking for then you need to make the choice to leave. My husband and I have had many experiences at St.Ray's and for the most part they have been wonderful! God bless to all who attend and still feel left out. I hope that you will see that we are not all the same. Let's all be there for our children and try to inspire them by living a truly Catholic as well as Christian way of life . Gossip and ostracizing does not belong at any school!


Cathedral Of St Raymond School 5

Posted June 16, 2011
- a parent
My children have attended this school for a number of years. We are very happy with administration, teachers and academics. As far as gossiping goes, you will find it at any school if you look for it. My advice to parents that are worried about it is to avoid these people, if parents would simply drop off their children and go on with their way there would be less gossiping. As for the gossipers, you must be doing it because you are not happy at the school so you should probably go elsewhere or quit complaining to every ear that will listen.

Cathedral Of St Raymond School
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
The different grade levels have their own section of the school. Preschool-1st in one section of the building,2 & 3,4& 5, jr. high each have their own section of the building. A lot of parent involvement.The faith family program where diferent grade levels are grouped to together to form a family to learn about each other and the catholic faith. Caring staff and teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cathedral Of St Raymond School
608 North Raynor Avenue, Joliet, IL  60435
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (815) 722-6626
Last modified Cathedral Of St Raymond School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top