Advertisement
Advertisement

Joliet Catholic Academy

Private | 9-12 | 721 students

Our school is known for our outstanding academics and champion athletic teams.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Joliet

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2011

I am a host parent for a foreign exchange student.Trying to figure out which classes he should actually be in at first was a little challenging. He absolutely loves this school & ALL his classmates. They have made him feel so at home there that he would like to come back to our country to finish out H.S. & attend college. Because of their kindness, he barely had any homesickness & said he did not realize that school could be so much fun!!!


Posted October 24, 2010

I have a son that just graduated from JCA, and I want to say that he not only grew intellectually but spirituality as well. He made many friends, got involved in sports, clubs and most of all volunteered, in and out of school. My son is now in college and I can honestly say that JCA prepared him. I have a Freshman that just started at JCA this fall and he is off to a great start also. As for JCA's drug testing,I am all for it. I feel that the peer pressure is lifted off the kids. I trust my kids to do the right thing, and I'm glad that I have that extra support from the school. Definitely money well spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

This is a "Great" college prep Catholic h.s., rich in tradittion. Teachers and entire staff will do whatever it takes to make a student become welcome and sucessful. From band to sports they help students become involved. It is amazing how students, faculity, staff and parents become a family. They provide mandatory drug testing for all students which creates a safe learning enviroment. They are 99.99% drug free. I am not an alum but wish I was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I Love the close family feel. The teachers make learing enjoyable for all the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

An excellent preparation for young men and women to prepare for their lives in a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

I am not an alum, but a parent, and was concerned how high school would help or hurt my child. Seeing her flourish and meet new friends; meet the academic challenges and getting involved confirms our choice to send our child to JCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

JCA is an excellent school that has given me a true foundation in academics and spirituality. You can find negatives at any school but the positives far out weigh any negatives at JCA. The teachers truly care about their students and from my experience the friendships last a life time.


Posted April 4, 2008

JCA is so much more than just a high school; the teachers are dedicated, students on every academic level are supported and encouraged to succeed. I am proud to say that I back Joliet Catholic Academy!


Posted April 3, 2008

My daughter goes to Joliet Catholic Academy and we couldn't be happier. She has made new friends and while the school took a bad rap with a drug bust 2 years ago, she is hanging around with kids and we have a parent network where they go to one another's homes and are hanging out (and there isn't any drinking allowed) and they are having fun because the kids are good kids. We really like the kids and they come from nice families. The teachers are interested in her doing her best and the academics are excellent. We are very happy with her education and we have seen our daughter grow so much over the past year. We are very pleased in so many ways. Athletically it is excellent too! They work her so hard!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2007

We pulled our son after 10th grade. The academics were excellent, but if you are not an alum it is hard to fit in. Our son felt very excluded. As parents we signed up for several activities, and were never contacted. This was not a good fit for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

We are now sending our second child to JCA - and it is worth every penny of the tuition it costs. Each of our children have been happy there - and never a worry about their safety. The instructors will stay late or come in early to help. We couldn't be happier - and the kids love it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

Joliet Catholic Academy is a strong Catholic college prep school. My two children always tell me they love going to a school where the biggest problems are untucked shirts and chewing gum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Joliet Catholic Academy is a fun school to learn and just have a great time. The teachers are always there for you, if they are not availble, the guidence counslers are there to help you. The family atmosphere is wonderful. All students get along and have a good time. You meet new people every day.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
School Leader's name
  • Jeffrey Budz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 N Larkin Ave
Joliet, IL 60435
Website: Click here
Phone: (815) 741-0500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT