Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Paul The Apostle School

Private | PK-8 | 400 students

We are best known for accelerated academics.

 
 

Living in Joliet

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2014

We've had a great experience at St. Paul The Apostle. The teachers are very caring and academically challenging, giving our children an enriching education. They also teach about Christian values which is very important to us as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

St Paul does a wonderful job incorporating Catholicism into all aspects of their curriculum. We feel that our children are safe here while also receiving a well-rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

We transferred to St. Paul after having our children in public school, one for 5 years and one for 1 full year, and 2 years of preschool. I could not be happier with our decision. Our oldest has been challenged and is excelling. Our youngest, we thought was reading at grade level according to the public school - was not. After only 3.5 months our youngest is now reading at grade level. Not only are the academics satisfying our children's needs, but the faith based education is teaching our children far more about community and respect than the public school could ever do. St. Paul is helping reiterate what we teach in our home. This has been the best move for my children and we are extremely happy with our decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

I wanted my son to have an excellent education, in a Catholic setting. I have nothing but great things to say! The teachers put in great effort, my son loves it! The principle is doing a fantastic job, and if you take the time to get to know other parents, you'll build upon the Catholic family foundation. I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

I agree with the last several posts. The principal has no clue on how to run a school or to interact with children. She has a personality of a lump of coal. She puts all her energy in making sure that the sports teams make #1 than worrying about those children that need help academically. They say that they are above average in grades when in fact most of the kids have to get some form of outside tutoring. And if your child has a learning disability she would much rather not even have them in the school. The parents are snobs and have taught their children to be snobs!! There is no christian values be taught by this school. So, if you are looking to send your child here think again, it may not be the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

This school is absolutely horrible. Please save your money and NEVER send your child there. The parents & kids are very cliky and down right mean people. Everything is about status not education.. My child is so behind in school from going there only 3 years. The principal is just as bad as the parents she is so gossipy and rude. The best decision I ever made was taking my child out of that awful school. I never what my children to act like the kids , parents or teachers that go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

Run! The principal is running a formally great school into the ground! The teachers are nice and have good intentions but have to tip toe around a crazy principal. The pastor really does not care about the school and lets her run amok. She will cater to certain families, doesn't even say 'Hi' to some parents, and lets some get away with anything. It is sad! Even if a parent is super involved in the school, she will totally ignore you. The education is lacking, is some areas. My child was way behind in math then I transferred to another school. And there are tons of St Paul kids go to tutoring to keep at the right pace!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

I was promised that my child with ADD would be able to have her educational needs met. They were not. I was also berated for demanding that teachers there follow best practices, which most of the time were not. It is certainly not a "Catholic" school if by definition, it you would expect it to be "universal". The only students who thrive here are those whose children can stand to do worksheet after worksheet and listen to a daily does of guilt for not trying hard enough while the teachers are supported in their mediocrity. Run. Fast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

My child attended St. Paul for 4 years and each year was more disappointing than the last. No parent with even the slightest bit of education can say this school is strong academically. On a good day it is mediocre. Of course the kids all think it's a great school, 70% of every academic class is spent in 'free time'. What kid wouldn't love that kind of 'class'? After 4 years I realized that the parents who 'love' this school are those that believe it is somehow a 'boost' to their own social status to have a child attending. Faculty teeters on encouraging bullying by passively taking part in the humiliation and disdain of the bullied students. Parents willing to subject their child to an inferior education for the privilege of saying they send them to a private school will LOVE St. Paul. Parents who want their children to receive a good education in a welcoming environment will head elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

I am a recent graduate of St. Paul's (2008) and enjoyed the fantastic education I received there since preschool. The teachers are wonderful and it was a fun learning experience. I now attend Joliet Catholic Academy and am in all honors classes and am even taking an Advanced Placement college level History class. I owe all my successes to St. Paul's which built my wonderful foundation. The Catholic atmosphere helped me grow in my faith. I continue my faith life at St. Paul's through the outstanding Youth Ministry program. Overall, I would highly recommend an education at St. Paul the Apostle. It is a great foundation for future success!


Posted August 25, 2010

The school is filled with teachers who do a wonderful job and care about the students. The new principal, Mrs. Robbins, is a welcome addition. The quality of the education is excellent. Also, our children are being edcated with strong Catholic morals and values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

I am impressed with the academic emphasis as well as the value the leadership and faculty places on the student. Parents are truly partners in their childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My family was apart of St. Paul's for 4 years and unfortunately we had some issues that jeporadized the safety of our children. The principal and pastor at the time did not seem to be concerned for the well being of our children and as a family we found a new catholic school to attend and we are very happy now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

St. Pauls' is a good school, but more and more lately there seems to be less focus on discipline. We send our children to catholc school for the discipline. Also, sports are pushed way too much. Academically th school is great, but I would like it to be be more focused on the academics. So today I will only give it 3 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

This school is the best school I have ever gone to, if I was principle I wouldnt change a thing, the teachers are awesome and give me the amount of attention I need. The principle is another story, she is the greatest ever, she has done so much for the school it is unbelievable. Uh, there isnt much more to say except it is a great school and I am for sure sending my kids there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2004

St. Paul's is back on the right track. The old principal, though very good with the students, let the teachers run amok. The new principal has them under control and has been much more selective in her new hires. She is responsive to parents' concerns, but has managed to stay firm with a lot of the naggers. The new pastor is equally enthused about pumping money into the school and we are very proud of the new computer lab, library, art and music rooms, and the new kindergarten rooms. It also helps that he has encouraged a 2-class per grade philosophy. My daughter loves St. Paul and I wouldn't send her anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

The new principal and pastor have definitely turned things around quickly. A string of bad hires by the old principal and apathy by the old pastor were causing problems but things are now headed back in the right direction. Physical improvements have helped as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2004

Our children (2) attend the school and we love it. The current principal is doing a fantastic job of retaining teachers and bringing in quality new teachers. The school has had a number of capitol improvements in the past two years and the pastor and school board have been responsive to any issues that parents bring up. We love St. Paul's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2003

Saint Paul's used to be a top level grade school in this area. However, in the past few years the school had a new principal that negatively changed the school. The teacher turnover has been very high and I really do not think most of the teachers that have been hired are very good at all. However, there is a new principal this year and there are still some great teachers left that compensate (and make it worth it) for the inadequacies of the new teachers. Saint Paul's has wonderful facilities. Their computer lab is beautiful and there is a fabulous gym. Overall, the school has great potential but the academics are suffering greatly due to the recent hiring of some very poor teachers. Hopefully, this will be addressed by the new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 51%
Hispanic 9% 24%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mary K Robbins
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Joliet
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • coed volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball
  • coed volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Joliet Catholic Academy
Providence High School
Joliet Township High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

130 Woodlawn Avenue
Joliet, IL 60435
Website: Click here
Phone: (815) 725-3390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Jude School
Joliet, IL


St Patrick
Joliet, IL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT