Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aux Sable Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1057 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, April 21, 2014

My Son attended Aux Sable and I have nothing but good things to say! Mr. O'Hara Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Awful experience. Went to principal with a problem and it was completely ignored. He told us he would deal with our concerns but he failed to. When we went back to it with him to find out why he hadn't handled it didn't apologize or take responsibly for not addressing what he assured us he would. We feel taken advantage of. His perceived authority makes him think he is not accountable to the parents of kids in his school. We feel absolutely trapped with no place to turn., Please other parents with similar problems with the principal or his staff please share your experience and any ideas or solutions you might have had success with. Ty Ty !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

I use to attend this school last year. And I can just my three years here were FANTASTIC!! The teachers were awesome! Everyone there were awesome! I loved my middle school experience at Aux Sable! It was the best! I miss it soooo much! LETS GO BULLDOGS<3


Posted September 13, 2013

I hated this school. I was constantly bullied, and nobody seemed to want to do anything about it. I wouldn't recommend this school to anybody or your child.


Posted June 28, 2012

My oldest child attended Aux Sable. My younger child went to a different middle school. As I compare the two schools, I realize I did a real disservice to my oldest child by sending her there. She was constantly bullied, to the point where she would cut herself at night. Teachers tried to help but they made the problem worse by making public comments to her and not knowing how to communicate their concerns to me. I tried to get her involved in activities, but meetings were often cancelled and information was not relayed to me. The teachers were very young and immature . When I contacted them they were defensive and unresponsive. The school had a lot of cliques. The positive reward system in place only worked for the kids with out of control behaviors. Little was done to recognize the "good" kids. This was a horrible three years that my child had to endure. She still has the scars on her legs and arms to show it. (She has not had these problems since transferring schools)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

I am currently in my last year at A.S.M.S. I agree that sometimes behavior does get out of hand & students receives little or no consequences whatsoever. But I do not agree that it is all the teachers fault. We are good students with the exceptions of a few & yes students misbehave we aren't perfect but the teachers also do their best to maintain a healthy environment to study. There are not many teachers that i am personally comfortable talking to. Honestly there were about 3 which 2 of them got transferred or laid off due to changes in the district. There are lots of clubs & sports that students can get involved in but if you want to join a club you must fill out an application & get teachers sign them & if you do not make it then it kind of sucks 'cause you can put your heart into the application but they usually only accept people they know. As a student leader i try to stay out of as much drama as possible because it gets you into nothing but trouble at Aux Sable. & just like a review said about teachers loving or hating you... It's true even though teachers say it's not. But overall , Aux sable is a pretty good school , it's not the teachers it's the students. RESPECT.


Posted July 26, 2011

I am an Aux Sable parent...and have had a great deal of contact with the teachers as well as the administration at this school. The team of teachers (6 green) that my daughter had this past year was EXCELLENT. They took a personal interest in my students learning...and did everything they could to help her meet her goals and to keep pace. She was honor roll all four quarters through her hard work as well as this amazing group of teachers going above and beyond to help her understand her studies...even cutting into their personal time to do it. The administrators can be strict, but seem fair. Mrs. Alexander (Principal) is a wonderful lady who seems ot handle everything in stride...Mr. Merrick (Vice-Principal) is stern yet pleasant and both appear to not only take their jobs seriously but are consummate professionals. The students tend to have more behavioral issues and out of control behavior than you would like to see (and that wasn't displayed at the elementary school they came from) but I think this is due to the parents. I have never seen a group of people more collectively rude than the parents at Aux Sable. It only makes sense that they would pass it on to their kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

Boring. Too cliche. This school should be getting a 1. A teacher either loves you or hates you. It's obvious who they love.


Posted November 27, 2010

The teachers here are so immature. They do not understand kids at all and baby them so much, all they care about is the money. They hound on the kids for everything and stress them out. Giving them a harder environment to work in. The worst part is they think they are the greatest school ever and the staff are very stuck up. Only very few of the staff members are good. VERY FEW. I wish i could rate this school 1 star.


Posted March 28, 2010

I am a substitute teacher and therefore, visit many schools within district 202. This is my least favorite school. In general, the students' behavior is the worst I have witnessed over the years. In my opinion, the school is partially to blame as it seems the students get away with poor behavior with little consequence. I have chosen to not substitute teach at this school again when so many other schools in the district have a much better learning environment. The administrators at this school really need to focus on ways to support positive behavior and find suitable negative consquences for poor behavior because whatever they are doing now is not working.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2009

it is a great school amazing teachers and the best principal in the world mrs.alaxander
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2009

Aux Sbale Middle School is beast!! It has the best teachers,students,and well everything there is preety awesome!!!Im a 7th grader this year and I love this school!!!And thats from the heart!!The kids of ASMS can connect with thier teacher much better then Drauden or any other middle school!!Just saying....
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2009

Teachers here aren't strict enough. A kid can get away with just about anything, even if it hurts the other students learning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2009

My son goes to this school and his grade point average raised of the charts! Lovin' It!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

The teachers are very immature & very unproffesional. They don't understand us kids in any way. Their disiplan has been getting way out of hand, so in return so has our behavior. They dont know how to run a school. I feel sorry for all the teachers that work thier.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

Great school! Good caring staff.My kids love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

Aux Sable is a great school! There are many programs for the students. There is a great diverse staff. Any child would feel in place at this school. The principle has shown great leaderships skills and works well with the students and staff. It has been a pleasure for my son to have recently graduated form Aux Sable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

Awful environment for a teacher to work in. Principal attempts to micromanage and when it doesn't work she assumes the worst and turns on the teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female68%
Male69%
Black58%
Asian80%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial58%
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income63%
Non-low income71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female67%
Male57%
Black58%
Asian73%
Hispanic54%
Multiracial58%
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income60%
Non-low income63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities66%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female70%
Male62%
Black52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial30%
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income56%
Non-low income70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female71%
Male54%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income56%
Non-low income65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities70%
English language learners20%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female86%
Male77%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income76%
Non-low income83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)37%
Students without disabilities89%
English language learners53%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female75%
Male75%
Black56%
Asian83%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income65%
Non-low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities81%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female70%
Male65%
Black50%
Asian75%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income55%
Non-low income73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 51%
Hispanic 27% 23%
Black 9% 18%
Asian 3% 4%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 Wildspring Parkway
Joliet, IL 60431
Phone: (815) 439-7092

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Troy Middle School
Plainfield, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT