Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lyons Twp High School

Public | 9-12 | 3883 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2013

The school itself is good as far as eduacation but some of their policies are very stupid. They suspend people for little things and treat it like the school is in a bad neighborhood by having police there 24/7. The principals are not very nice and take everything way too seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

My daughter goes to this school and Lyons is an excellent high school. She works very hard to get good grade.The post on 7/18/2012 is totally wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

I can't wait to send my two boys to LTHS! They haven't even started preschool yet, but I'm excited and will be so proud to be sending them to the school I graduated from. I feel it's a great school and say with pride that I'm an LT alumni!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

I would love to send my son to this school. This is where his older sisters graduated and where I attended. He, unfortunately, goes to Proviso West High School. Just horrible.


Posted July 18, 2012

Worst school ever! Terrible! Never sending any of my kids there again! Everything was just terrible from the teachers to the principal. My kid almost failed and no one bother to tell me! I am disgusted at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

The dear old school of gold and blue. Overall it has been a great school for our two boys . Mr Franson the principal is a caring person for the students. He is dedication to the distric as will as the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

LT is a fantastic school. The teachers are so caring and dedicated to the students. They allow students to come in before and after school daily for extra help. A large variety of course levels is offered, easily meeting students' academic needs. However, the bus service has been extremely frustrating. The bus can be either twenty minutes early or twenty minutes late and the kids have no idea what to expect. They can potentially be standing out in below zero temperatures, waiting for the bus, for up to forty minutes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

Lyons Township is an excellent school. Overall, the teachers are first-rate, with the occasional exception that one can expect from any large organization. They show dedication to teaching and to their students and many will do whatever they can to help students succeed. The school has a diverse curriculum and has educational programs for every academic level. The school atmosphere is in control with students and teachers showing mutual respect for each other. The school takes drug and alcohol use seriously and will eject any student found connected to alcohol and illegal drug use from participating in extracurricular activities, (this includes off campus behavior). The student body is reasonably diverse with respect to household income and ethnicity. The arts and sports programs at LT are outstanding. My daughter is in the LT orchestra and the program is nationally recognized and award winning. I am amazed at the number of students whose parents are LT Alumni. They feel so strongly about their LT experience that they relocate to the district to raise their children. I think that is the ultimate testament to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

I went to LT and I have to say it's a great public HS. the music programs are AMAZING and the sports are fabulous. Because it is so large, there are tons of extra-curricular options and level of classes for every kind of student. I was in the honors/AP track and felt SO well prepared for college. It's well-funded, diverse, and overall has excellent teaching. It can seem very big and the two campus system is a bit different, but I really felt I got an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2007

I have 2 sons attending lths.We actually moved to this area so they could attend this high school because of all the good things we have heard about it. The only thing that bothers me is the dress code.I think they need to tighten up on what is appropriate to wear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

Lyons Township school is great in that it has numerous extra-curricular activities and has a variety of classes that no other school in the state can rival. Parent involvement is good but school spirit is very low.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2005

Very high level of academic acheivement at this school. The size of the school allows for all types of students to get what they want and need out of the school. The music programs are fantastic, especially the choirs. Sports, in general, perform well and are well-funded. Everything is pretty well-funded and the kids are taken care of. The buildings themselves are in great shape.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 9, 2004

Being a former student of LT, I believe that this high school was one of the top high schools in IL, if not the US. The school principal always took an active role in heling to shape young peoples' lives. The teachers were well-educated, and eager to teach and learn themselves. The variety of extracurricular activities was very expansive, including social based clubs as well as problem solving groups and beyond. I felt that the parental involvment was very high, being that their were many opportunities for parents to get involved, as well as a high parent turnout at athletic events. Safety was key, and there was no tolerance for violance and/or vandalism. Overall, I would not have traded my High School for any other. Go LT Lions!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 10, 2004

Lyons Township High School is one of the best in the country in my honest opinion. I was a student there and now my kids have gone to 5 different high schools between them in their 4 yrs and not 1 comes even close to the experiences I had at good ole LTHS! The Quality of education to Athletics to the people that run and attend the school are top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

I have had the opportunity to speak with parents of young adults attending a number of different schools in the Chicago metropolitan area. Few view the schools their children attend as positively as LTHS parents view LTHS. LTHS teachers are knowledgeable and responsive, and the administration exemplary, particularly with the recent return of an LTHS grad as principal. As an LTHS grad myself, I can speak from personal experience that LT is a school that provides abundant opportunity for both learning and social engagament. The co-curricular activities are a must, and there is such a tremendous variety that any student is bound to find something that he or she will enjoy. Participate early, and participate often! With only a bit of LTHS grad bias I can say that LTHS helps to cultivate responsible young adults with a passion for lifelong learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

As a parent of two recent graduates of LTHS, we were both pleased and frustrated at times. Teaching staff runs the gamut, from very dedicated, to those just waiting to retire-with little or no interest in actual teaching. Is this common in all schools? Our only real complaint was the lack of discipline/consequences - drugs/alcohol seemed a problem that was ignored by the district. Overall our children enjoyed their four years at LTHS, active in sports, student government, and various clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

It is an excellent school because of the diversity of the student body, financially and ethnic background. I have three daughters, two are graduates and the third is a junior. All have participated in student government, the choral program, athletics, and the theatre. The school is large and is well funded with extracurricular actvities. I think students have to be above average to participate in the high profile activities but also has a large number of activities that any student interested can find something outside the classroom to be involved. The school has world class student newspaper, radio and televison station. I give a lot of credit of the success to an outstanding principal in John Young, an interested faculty and energetic Booster Club and Home School Council.Recently, some activities had to be eliminated because of lack of participation. The school is well funded because it serves a large population base and serves many elementary districts and communities. It could also be a criticism in that the area provides a very inefficient elementary system to the high school. A lot of resources are wasted trying to get new students on an equal academic standing because of poor preparation at the lower grade levels. The good side is that each students can be challenged due to a tracking system that challenge students at every level. While every student has a chance to be successful (with effort), it is not automatic and each student has an equal opportunity to fail which I think prepares them well for college and life's experiences. We have been very pleased with Lyons Township High School and our daughter's educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Lyons Twonship is an all around great school. From academics to sports LT knows its stuff!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female73%
Male75%
Black44%
Asian86%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial79%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Low income40%
Non-low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)26%
Students without disabilities80%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female80%
Male71%
Black36%
Asian86%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial84%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Low income42%
Non-low income81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities81%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students73%
Female72%
Male74%
Black33%
Asian79%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial74%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Low income44%
Non-low income78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities79%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

92.8%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 51%
Hispanic 16% 24%
Black 4% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Franson

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 South Brainard Avenue
La Grange, IL 60525
Phone: (708) 579-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nazareth Academy
La Grange Park, IL




St Joseph High School
Westchester, IL


Acacia Academy
La Grange Highlands, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT