Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-4
Public
La Grange, IL
Students enrolled: 468
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
My husband I moved our two boys to District 107 in January of 2014. My older son is attending First Grade at Pleasantdale Elementary and he has grown leaps and bounds and has greatly accelerated in all areas of academics. My son was in need of an IEP Program and the staff and team of educators have done a tremendous job creating a learning environment that helps my son learn in a way that works for him and his learning disability needs, he never feels different from the other children in class and his confidence and self esteem have also greatly improved. Pleasantdale Elementary is a top notch school and deserves a 20 on a scale of 1-10.....we are very thankful and blessed to be part of a great school as well as a fantastic community that District 107 provides to the families and residents in the surrounding area!

Pleasantdale Elementary School 3

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
I agree with a previous review in that this school only cares about isat test scores and district assessments. If your child does not test well, they will be thrown in to the special education black hole. I really like the principal he truly cares about the children. Most teachers are very caring and attentive. The PTA is very helpful as well.


Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2011
- a parent
This truly is one of the better schools in the area. The curriculum is geared towards teaching the children in a structured system while keeping them engaged in the learning process. Staff is fantastic with all children and has the experience to back it up. They go out of their way to make sure children who are behind get extra attention, they have teachers who will work with children that need the extra help. You definately see the tax dollars at work. Parents are expected to be actively engaged in their child's learning process. I am amazed at the amount of preparation and work that goes into teaching these children and the care the staff takes to ensure a solid learing environment. This folks is in my opinion one of the best schools in the area.

Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
Great school, amazing teachers, great principal!

Pleasantdale Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a teacher
The May poster has not been in this district long enough to really see what goes on here. The superintendent does not care about special needs children. The focus on the brightest of the bright because they are what will keep the test scores high. Yeah the elementary school principal is nice enough if you like puppets. And forget about the middle school principal. She is asleep at the wheel. If you want the best for your kids, look into Western Springs because you won't find it at Pleasantdale.


Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
This is an excellent school, great school principal, excellent staff and an extremely supporting and caring superintendent. We are fortunate to have such a great staff to take care of our children. I can not say enough good things about Mr. VanderCar (the principal). Teachers of our kids (KG and 1st grade) are excellent too. I am sure your kids will thrive in this school.

Pleasantdale Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 28, 2009
- a parent
This school is so over rated. It is all about the isat test scores. If your kid is not a brainiac forget it

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pleasantdale Elementary School
8100 School Avenue, La Grange, IL  60525
(708) 246-4700
Last modified Pleasantdale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pleasantdale Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top