Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Francis Xavier

Private | PK-8 | 598 students

We strive for academic excellence while nurturing a call to serve others.
 
 

 
 

Living in La Grange

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $263,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

St. Francis Xavier in La Grange is an excellent school! Our students excel in academics, athletics, and many other extracurricular activities. Our students thrive in a faith-filled, service-orientated environment supported by an outstanding community of teachers, staff and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Tuesday, April 15, 2014

St. Francis Xavier in Lagrange, Il is outstanding! We have been so blessed and pleased to have had both our daughters educated at this fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Tuesday, April 15, 2014

SFX in La Grange is an excellent example of how academic achievement can be obtained while still finding time for a community-focused, faith-based enrichment program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

I feel so blessed that we ended up at SFX! My kids are thriving there and I am constantly impressed by the teachers, programs and environment. It was a tough decision to send our kids to school here because the public schools in our area are so good and our taxes are so high, but it is worth it. I really feel like it's the best decision we have made for our children. The service program adds a lot to their eduction. SFX is helping the kids become caring, thoughtful and empathetic people. Every grade has a different service theme for the year and throughout the year they volunteer and talk about the theme. I am just so thrilled my kids can go to school at SFX.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

I am so happy I decided to send my kids to this school. Everyone has been excellent from the office staff to all the teachers. Would recommend this school to anyone in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

My family couldn't be happier with SFX! The teachers and the families are outstanding. It's a fabulous, supportive community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

St. Francis Xavier of La Grange is an amazing place to learn, pray grow and serve!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

St. Francis Xavier is a community based in learning and service. Our students are encouraged to do their best, be their best and share their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

My children are recent graduates of SFX, and with the benefit of hindsight, we see how well prepared they were for challenging academic environments in both high school and college. But SFX does not excel only in academics. The service program is amazing. There are numerous opportunities for social growth with a wide variety of extracurricular and social activities. And most importantly, an emphasis on Catholic values and character. We have never regretted our decision to send them to SFX. Their experience there was priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

My husband and I decided to send our children to SFX for preschool and have never looked back. Not only are they learning academics, they are learning to be caring, supportive, understanding individuals. The staff is amazing--they take the time for every individual in our school, not just the students in their classroom. We couldn't be happier at SFX.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

St. Francis Xavier school is a community where teachers, staff, and parents together put education and excellence first. It's the sort of place where every adult working in the school knows the names of all the children, the parents, and assorted grandparents or aunts and uncles they interact with. Parent volunteers come together for a variety of activities throughout the year, including the school wide service day when every single student participates in a service activity off campus. Students have art, music, physical education two days a week, and Spanish classes in addition to a basic curriculum. They leave well prepared for high school, and also well grounded in values of service and compassion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

Simply amazing institution of higher learning and strong community based morals. Children are well prepared and properly grow as both students and quality members of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

My school is great! Great teachers, special help when needed, excellent religion lessons daily, excellent service opportunities, wonderful sports, art, music, plays, talent shows, have met lifelong friends, dedicated people to family, church and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

Our kids span both the east and main campuses. We have found the quality of education to be very high; the teachers to be attentive and caring, and willing to do whatever it takes to help the kids be comfortable and excel. The school as a whole seems to foster a sense of respect, warmth, academic excellence and Catholic character. We are so glad our kids are spending their grade school years at SFX. We couldn't ask for anything better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

The most beneficial part of SFX is the quality of students that attend the school. These kids come from solid families which strive for success in academics and focus on loving God and each other. The good-spirited camaraderie centered around learning and our shared Catholic backgrounds is something that has made me lifelong friends and is something that I will never forget. In short, St. Francis Xavier laid the groundwork for my social and academic success in high school and ultimately my acceptance into an Ivy League institution. The vast majority of "frannies" , at least in my graduating class, would share similar stories of fondness for this great school community.


Posted September 9, 2013

When my oldest child entered high school and hit the ball out of the park academically, I knew St. Francis Xavier deserved a huge portion of the credit. His high school is quite large and he is excelling amid formidable competition. In my view, the curriculum and processes at SFX have prepared him exceptionally well. Our other two children are also doing very well at SFX. On top of the strong academics, the school focuses on serving others, acting with integrity and working as a team in athletics. SFX rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

St. Francis Xavier was one of the best parenting decision my husband and I have made. Not only have my children received a tremendous education but they have had exposure to great programs and extracurricular activities such as; athletics, student council, service opportunities and socials hosted by the school. Two of my children are SFX graduates and many of their closest friends are still their friends from SFX, even the kids who went off to other high schools. The community of parents are welcoming and very involved which adds to the richness of the kid's school experience. Lastly, and most importantly, St Francis Xavier, has provided and continues to provide the perfect partnership in faith formation for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

St. Francis Xavier School continues to exceed our expectations year after year. We carefully chose SFX over ten years ago when the oldest of our 4 children was entering kindergarten. Since that day, we have watched our children grow and succeed both in academics and in their understanding of service. The teachers are remarkable, the athletic experience is fantastic, and the community is warm, welcoming, and kind. We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

As a graduate from this school (I graduated years ago), I can honestly say it was a great experience. The students were generally a friendly bunch and whenever we got a new student they were welcomed and pretty quickly found their niche. It's fairly diverse in terms of interests for its relatively small size. Racially it wasn't that diverse, but everyone was still friendly to those that weren't fully (or at all) white. When I graduated, about half or so went to public school and the other half to private. The academics were good and prepared me to go to nearly any high school I wanted. Some students even said high school was easy in comparison. It was a small school, so not many activities, though they did just start a newspaper club. The math club members were selected, it wasn't open as far as I knew. Peer mediators were chosen as well, and it was a great fun program. When I got to middle school, I felt the teachers there weren't quite fit for teens and tweens. They were often oblivious to what we were doing and didn't know how to handle us. All in all, it was a great school and I am proud to be an SFX graduate!


Posted March 3, 2012

SFX has been an exceptional experience for our daughter. From the dedication and quality of their teachers/staff to the robust parental involvement. There is a genuine commitment towards not just academic excellence, but also in developing caring, service oriented students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 60%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence Award (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Maxine Donahue Award from NCEA (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Debra Rodde
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
  • District 102
  • SASED
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • Peer Mediation
  • Peer Tutoring
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
  • Youth Initative
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

145 N Waiola Ave
La Grange, IL 60525
Website: Click here
Phone: (708) 352-2175

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Park Junior High School
La Grange Park, IL




Field Park Elementary School
Western Springs, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT