Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Cletus Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 33 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in La Grange

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $263,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2014

We were at this school for 11/2. 5th & part of 6th grade. Teachers were fine. Parents, kids are terrible. Pretentious and very cliquey. If you are not rich, you have no voice. The rich kids bully the other kids and you have no recourse. My son was never given a chance by the other boys and I was rarely spoken to. Very unfriendly people. Administration only cares about the families who can donate money. I was a single, working mom and was judged negatively because I worked. The other moms are as deep as a bath. There is no diversity at St. Cletus. The rich families run all the sports and events, so their kids and their friends get all the good playing times. They price events so high$, that only the clique can afford to go. We could'nt wait to leave. Moved across the country and never looked back. Just wanted to give a heads up. Don't waste your money. It is very expensive to get treated badly.


Posted May 15, 2010

Great school! Great pastor....too bad my parochial school can't emulate this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

St. Cletus is my community, both in and out of school, both in and out of church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

It provided a great education for our children and it has a great sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

My two sons now attending St. Cletus represent the second generation of our family at the school, with my wife and I meeting there and graduating in the same class many years ago. Throughout the years, St. Cletus has given students a strong educational and religious base from which to grow and learn through their high school years and beyond. For us, St. Cletus is more than just a school, but an important part of our everyday lives and will be for many years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

After sending three chldren through St Cletus I can honestly say that all of my cildren were well prepared for high school as well as life. Thanks to all of the past & current staff. Go Cardinals!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The teachers and staff are very caring and friendly. Each child is treated as an idividual. We are very proud and touched at how well rounded our children have become as a result of attending St. Cletus. St. Cletus is part of our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Besides the top notch educational program for all grades, technologically speaking we are head and shoulders above the local schools. There is also a great sense of community and faith. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Have watched young children grow with knowledge and pride and foster their commitment to the Catholic faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

The quality and commitment of the faculty to each student


Posted May 6, 2010

All of the people at St. Cletus make it a GREAT school!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 6, 2010

I really love this school and enjoying looking at the smiling teacher face everyday greeting the kids.The school has a wonderful and caring teachers.I am sure any kid would enjoy this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

The focus on faith, family and the future of our children. St. Cletus is a great community consisting of amazing staff, great parents who get involved and wonderful children who love and support one another and make us proud! It's a great place to spend 9 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

We feel so blessed to be able to send our son to St. Cletus where he receives a top-notch education, solid formation in the Catholic Faith, a faculty and staff that treats each child (and parents too) with great respect, and classmates from truly wonderful families. I can't imagine a better school for my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

St. Cletus offers more than a great education. I love the dedication of the faculty and staff and the sense of community provided by the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

St Cletus's has a strong community of caring parents and a faculty and staff that take a personal interest in developing the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

St. Cletus wasn't the closest Catholic school to our home but we chose this for our children because: the faculty cares; the students care for one another; the messages learned during weekly Masses are carried throughout the school day. Life lessons are learned every minute of every day! Thank you St. Cletus Administration for nurturing, teaching and caring about our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I love the warm inviting feel of a close knit community. All the adults, staff and parents included, look out for the children. The academic education my children are receiving is even beyond the top notch public schools in our community. The teachers are firm with high expectations, yet nurturing at the same time. I am so pleased with all St. Cletus has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I must admit its a family network, not only for school and religion. But for the interest of the child's long term education as well as there well being. The teachers and the staff here not only teach education. use their parenting skills on being fair and not leaving anyone out.This is a must in todays society. This is what makes us Saint Cletus
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

So much to offer. I love that all the parents volunteer and are involved with their childs education. We researched other schools and found St Cletus to be the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 24%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jolene Hillgoth
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 West 55th Street
La Grange, IL 60525
Phone: (708) 352-4820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ideal Elementary School
Countryside, IL


Highlands Elementary School
La Grange Highlands, IL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT