Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Alphonsus/St Patrick School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lemont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $298,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 22, 2011

To make it simple, the school is small but I have not found it to be personal at all. My child's individual needs were not met and no attempt was made to meet those needs. For me, there was a gross lack of issue recognition by the staff and administration and a gross lack of follow through and implementation of solutions when problems arise. On a positive note, their test scores are very good, but I imagine there are other schools also with good test scores. I feel the teachers and administration do not take a holistic approach to education and the parents concerns are not appropriately addressed. Its a shame being that the school is so small and has the potential to be great. If you are a parent who is involved and appreciates your concerns being properly addressed, this school might not be for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

I am one three siblings going to this school. We all love the faculty, students, and of course the school it's self. This school is an amazing school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2008

I have had kids at St. Al's/St. Pat's for 10+ years - it has been a great experience for us. Since my oldest have moved on to high school, It is easy to see the great education they received at the school. Every year most of our 8th grade students score at the top of their high school placements tests & are honor roll students at their high schools. Our students test among the highest in the area (if not the highest) on the Terra Nova tests. They also have a great athletics program that stresses getting as many kids as possible to participate in boys & girls volleyball & basketball and cheerleading - they also offer a Football program through the Parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

We've been at this school since the fall of 2001. I was impressed with welcoming attitude I felt the minute I stepped into this quaint, family oriented school. It is one of the few Catholic schools that offers weekly mass to our students (we came from another Catholic school) that only had it twice a month. Throughout these years, like it happens in many families, we've encountered rocky roads, but the family atmosphere, loyalty, and support from by many fellow parents in this school prevailed in these circumstances. Religion is incorporated in every aspect of the wonderful education that St.Al's/St. Pat's offers. If we had to do again, yes, we would send our kids to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

We researched all the schools in the area before we chose St. Al s/St. Pat s. We have been here for six years and not once have we regretted our decision. It is small school with a family atmosphere. The teachers are excellent. We feel our children s individual needs are taken into consideration. The students continually test well above the national average on standardized tests. Most of the students are usually on the honor roll in high school. We love the idea of being in one school for K through 8th. We are extremely happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

Our children have been attending St. Als & St. Pats for six years. We have been very pleased with the teachers at the school - they can really teach kids! They have an ideal combination of strict classroom standards, extraordinary expectations of students and a warm and caring attitude toward the children and their parents. What is very important to us as parents is the strong morals and values that are reinforced everyday in school. Children learn to live by 'The Golden Rule' - priceless is today's society and impossible to enforce in a public school setting. While we think the Lemont Public Schools are very good schools, we selected this environment for our kids because of its small size, religious education and strong moral component. We got lucky - the academics are excellent! Graduates go on to earn scholarships to many nearby private college prep programs. Overall, an extraordinary school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 11, 2007

My family became part of the St Al's - St. Pat's Family 4 years ago. Every time I am in the building I am reminded of the reason I wanted my daughter to attend St. Al's - St. Pat's; It is a warm, friendly, mind-evolving environment. Each and every facility member shows a great deal of respect toward all of the children and parents, they make it a wonderful place to be. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

We have been part of the St. Al's/St. Pat's school family since 2001. We chose this school for our children because learning about their faith was just as important to us as their academics. This school succeeds at providing a wonderful learning atmosphere for my kids with caring, dedicated teachers, strong academics and the ability to learn about, appreciate and practice their faith without inhibition, something that would not be possible at our local public schools. St. Al's/St. Pat's school is a small school where all the children know one another. It is definitely a family atmosphere where parental involvement is welcome. My children are thriving both socially and academically and we all could not be happier with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

My children have been at St.Al's/St.Pat's for 4 years. They are thriving academically and socially. They have formed close friendships with the kids that are in the school. They are happy, confident, well rounded kids. They love school! They really enjoy the specials, like computer class and Great Books. I appreciate that parents are always welcomed to participate in classroom/school activities. And it also pleases me to see that the 8th graders coming from our school are choosing to go to college prep high schools (many with an academic scholarship) and that they are well prepared for these schools. Overall I feel that our family made a great choice in St. Al's/St. Pat's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

Our family has left this school even after generations of family members have previously attended. Our five children now attend the public school, which has been a wonderful change for our family, while preparing our children for many changes in their lives. The main reason for leaving St ALS/ST PATS School was the lack of professionalism by our Principal, lack of cooperation also by the Parish Priests and overall disregard for a family's needs and involvement to correct current problems that arise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

My children have attended St. Alphonsus/St. Patrick Catholic School for seven years now. I love the teachers, the principal, the values and everything about it. It is like a second family to us, not to mention their excellence in academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2003

We moved in to neighborhood two years ago and we didn't know where to send our kids to school. The oldest was starting fourth grade, the second was starting first and the third one just started pre-school this year. They all love St. Als-St.Pats and so do we!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 51%
Hispanic 6% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Renee Payne
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20w145 Davey Rd
Lemont, IL 60439
Phone: (630) 783-2220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Furqaan Academy
Bolingbrook, IL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT