Advertisement
Advertisement

Montessori Elementary School Southwest

Private | PK-K & ungraded | 130 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lemont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $298,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2013

Montessori School of Lemont offers a superb program for both elementary and preschool children. As a former student of the school, (pre-school-5th grade) I will forever cherish my montessori education. The montessori method used here gets children excited about learning. The grounds are beautiful and develop every year to meet the growing needs of the school. Teachers here are passionate about their jobs and will go great lengths to meet the needs of each and every student. As a college student, I am still involved at the school and my younger brother is currently enrolled here. The education I recieved from this school jumpstarted my love of learning, and I will continue to come back for more!


Posted February 20, 2012

Great school excellent teachers. KIids can really bloom as they are not held back and can learn at their own rate
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

We are very happy with the quality of the teachers, staff and administration. They provide an excellent educational environment for our children. People wondering about Montessori really need to look into the Montessori approach to education used at the Lemont Montessori School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

Sending my 2 children to this school was the best thing I could have done for their education. Both of my children transitioned beautifully to new schools and have always been ahead of their classmates. The independence and love for self learning has given them the confidence to become leaders in their respective classes. My children are often invited back by their Montessori teachers to work in the classrooms. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

The teachers are great, and the admin is always willing to speak with parents. We love the location and beautiful campus as well. No complaints and can't understand why people would have some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

Montessori School of Lemont provides a respectful, supportive learning environment for my son. The students are thoughtful, happy and focused. Their academic and social development is amazing. Family / School relationships are developed and nurtured as can be demonstrated by the many families that have multi-generational history with Montessori of Lemont.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2010

It is with a sad heart that I write this review. This is a school my husband and I wholeheartedly supported for several years. When we had to transfer our child to another school because of a job relocation, we discovered our child was two whole grades behind academically. This came as a shock to us considering we had been told that our child had been progressing nicely and is right where she ought to be at every conference. When we immediately brought our concerns to the board of the school (the adminstrators would not directly speak with us about this matter), the school took no responsibility for this. For two of the years our child attended, the teacher left for maternity leave during the school year and both times she was not replaced by a trained Montessori directress. Needless to say, that class was woefully behind academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

My son has been here for two years, coming from a Montessori toddler program at another school, and he has grown academically in leaps and bounds. His teachers are very patient and caring and very knowledgeable. I love the campus and the fact that he is surrounded by nature. He can garden in the spring and sled in the winter. The administration is wonderful and really listens to parents' needs. Coming from a school that was constant fundraising and asking for money for the endowment all the time, it's so refreshing that this school is not like that. I feel as though they really care about our family and not just about our money. The parent education at the school is excellent with great speakers and topics. I know my son will be here until he graduates 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Prior to enrolling my daughter at this school, the administrator encouraged me to visit other Montessori schools. After observing a number of different schools, I recognized that any school can call itself Montessori, but only a select few are true to Maria Montessori's philosophy. This school is an authentic Montessori school. My daughter is now in her 4th year at the school and has blossomed under the care and guidance of her classroom teacher. My experience as a parent has only been positive and I can't wait for my second child to begin at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

This is my daughters first year at this school. Her experience this year has changed her life. She has come so far socially, emotionally and academically this school year. I thank her teachers and the administration for this growth. I have observed many Montessori classrooms before I chose this school and can honestly say that this particular school follows the Montessori philosophy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

We pulled our child out of this school after 1-1/2 years. Our main issue was with the preschool administrator, whom we felt was unprofessional at times, rigid and inflexible. We also witnessed a high rate of teacher turnover in that short time. Too many red flags to list here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

My main issue is with the way the school is run. Unfortunately, some of this negativity rolls downhill. When teaching little children, modeling is the biggest influence on their behavior. However, the administration really is rigid. On a postive note, many teachers and staff are friendly and truly care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

Our child just turned four and is completing the first year at this school and we are very happy with the curriculum and the authentic Montessori approach. I have spent time in the classroom and helped with the students. The classroom has 3-6 year-olds all working at their own levels. When time is spent in the classroom the respect among the staff and the students, the students respect for one another and their work is self-evident. Students are all taught a foreign language, a third language is optional. At four our child is beginning to speak a second language, has developed even longer periods of concentration, is sounding out letter sounds for fun at home and performing pre-math exercises. I believe some of the work she is doing now at 3-4 is advanced compared to the other schools, both public and private, in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 60%
Two or more races 12% N/A
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 8% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Therese Colby
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NIPSA
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16427 135th St
Lemont, IL 60439
Phone: (815) 834-0607

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St John The Baptist
Winfield, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT