Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rockland Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
We love everything about Rockland including the teachers, other parents, and principal. It's a wonderful, caring place that will go above and beyond to help children.

Rockland Elementary School 2

Posted January 08, 2013
- a community member
Math program weak. Most of the kids who are good at math have parents who supplement the sucky Every Day Math program. The ISAT scores are impressive but misleading and can be attributed in large part to parents/ demographics, quite a few Science and Engineering types. I am also guessing that some of the very low ISAT scores by some students are not counted in the mean because these students are classified as special ed.


Rockland Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2012
- a parent
My two children had an excellent education here. Families get to know each other well as there are many great opportunities to get involved. The new (2012) principal is fantastic - he creates an optimistic environment for teaching and learning.

Rockland Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2011
- a parent
My children's teachers at Rockland have been exceptionally qualified, dedicated and caring. Many of the parents are down to earth and really value education. I was surprised, however, in the polarity of reading levels in my daughter's first grade class at the end of the school year. A good quarter of the class read below grade level, but then another quarter read way above grade level. Perhaps this reflects the demographics at the school? In addition, I believe there is too much funding and attention directed toward special education and special needs programs. This is not to say that these programs are not important, but if you look at the Rockland school staff, there are 4 special education/ paraeducators, 1 resource teacher, 1 OT specialist and 3 speech teachers serving a student body of 320 kids. No wonder our property taxes are outrageous! In contrast, the gifted program relies heavily on parent volunteers.

Rockland Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
The staff really cares about the students. The parents work to help make it a better place to learn. There is a family atmosphere at Rockland.


Rockland Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
Throughout the years, D70 schools, including Rockland, have scored FAR ABOVE state standards in the ISATs. The schools hit in the 90-98 percent range of meet or exceed state standards. Teachers and administrators aim for 100 percent, a near impossibility, but it shows how the district competes against itself, not state scores. Since EveryDay math was introduced, the district has continued to see increasing scores in ISATs for math, at all the schools. It is one of the strongest areas for Rockland and the district. Check the State School Report Card. It tells the story.

Rockland Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2009
- a parent
I love Rockland, not only as a student, but as a parent.

Rockland Elementary School 3

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
Although students compare well against state some of that has to be attributed to demographic / parents. Math Curriculum is weak and the kids don't get any homework - good for parents :) Unfortunately are kids will not be competing against Illinois students to get into UI...they will be well prepared students from around the world. Our schools need to stop with the high five's when they perform well against the states low standards. Love the School but can't rate any of the above average unless they set higher standards.


Rockland Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2008
- a parent
Last child is graduating this year - excellent school and teachers for all of years here.

Rockland Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2007
- a parent
Rockland School is a nice neighborhood school in a close-knit community. The teachers and administration really care about the students and work to help them achieve academically. My biggest complaint is the use of Everyday Math (which is district-wide.) At times the 'spiraled' format presents concepts before some children are developmentally able to comprend them. Parents are assured not to worry, since the concepts will reappear at some future point. This results in a disjuncted approach to math, and can be very frustrating to students and parents alike.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rockland Elementary School
160 West Rockland Road, Libertyville, IL  60048
(847) 362-3134
Last modified Rockland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rockland Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews.