Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Lombard, IL
Students enrolled: 219
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sacred Heart 3

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Classic neighborhood parish school. Good core values, underwhelming academics. Very much teaches to the average, enrichment or talent development parents must provide/pay for outside of school. That said, there are far worse places you could send your child. If you go in understanding the school's limitations and can fill in the gaps yourself, then by all means consider this school. If you expect a rigorous curriculum or differentiated learning, look elsewhere. Same for learning disabilities and behavioral issues - this is not the school for you. As stated, it caters to the average child, both intellectually and socially. If yours is on either end of the spectrum just be aware. Again, the social environment is very positive, parents get to know one another, children overall have good manners and know each other across different grades. A number of teachers live in the neighborhood and it becomes common for see them out and in general, reinforcing the community feel. Celebrating holidays is very special. So, a middling school with a great Catholic family environment, overall good but not great, does the best it can for what it is, a one class per grade parochial achool.

Sacred Heart 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
I have a child in pre-school, and I must say the teacher is terrific, warm, and supportive. The learning materials are highly educational as well as appropriately faith based. So far, I have been pleased with Sacred Heart. There is also a lot of parental involvement which gives a wonderful community feel to the school.


Sacred Heart 5

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children enrolled ( in grade school & preschool). We have many family friends with children in local public & private schools; Sacred Heart stands out to me as having a strong community/family feeling. We are transplants to Lombard but truly feel part of the community where students seem to look out for & care for each other. At least for my 1st grader, the academics seem to offer better options than the local public grade schools w/ advanced reading, language arts, & math. There is a focus on technology with smart boards in classrooms & computer/ technology classes starting in preschool. The preschool benefits from being part of the larger school as they leverage the gym, music & P.C. labs & teachers, etc. There is an added level of moral teachings infused into the curriculum that sets it apart. Most kids are involved in multiple extra-curricular activities, and gain leadership skills from built-in mentoring programs such Guardian Angel program (older students pair up w/ younger ones as mentors), older students running Track & Field Day, etc. There is definitely Catholic education & great moral training as well. Overall I highly recommend the school.

Sacred Heart 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
Sacred Heart school is a small catholic school that offfers a quality education followed by the opporttuniitty to participate in many actvities and a sense of community within the school. This past year has been a treat with improvements in our technology program and pre-school. I would highly recommend any new famiilly come check out this school near downtown Lombard!

Sacred Heart 5

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
Since I wrote my 1st review in 2006 so many changes have happened to our school to make it even a greater place to send your children to school. Our math program has taken the neccessary steps to insure our children are where they need to be in math. We have a wonderful art program! Our families continue to stay involved and make our school the best it can be..


Sacred Heart 5

Posted January 04, 2007
- a parent
We couldn't be happier with Sacred Heart. Our oldest child will be entering high school next year, and has tested into all honors classes. The school's computer program is unmatched among Lombard schools. The music program is much improved since Mr. Benning came on board as principal, and the older children are now learning basic Latin. Most children participate in the sports program, and no child is ever cut from a team, regardless of ability. Most importantly, we know the priests and faculty do an amazing job of instilling values and teaching our Catholic faith--the very reason we send them to a Catholic school.

Sacred Heart 3

Posted March 21, 2006
- a parent
Mr Benning has made a huge impact and is more receptive than anyone in the past. Changes in math are necessary as SHS kids are behind in math when the get to high school. Mr Benning is helping the 'advanced' kids with algebra but the rest of the kids are lacking in keeping on track in math.

Sacred Heart 4

Posted January 19, 2006
- a parent
Now that we have a new principal (Mr Benning), things are improving! Fr Tom as the adminstrator is a huge asset. High parental involvement. Lots of sports options, not enough music classes.


Sacred Heart 3

Posted August 23, 2005
- a parent
I have three kids at Sacred Heart. We are very happy with the small school atmosphere and the interest taken by other parents. I am very happy to see the changes that are being made at Sacred Heart this year. the new Principal sounds like he has a strong background. I feel that Sacred Heart, like any Catholic school is not equipped to handle any child with special needs. If you have a child that excels at reading or math they may not be challenged in this environment. Also, all extra-curricular activities are run by volunteers. If you have a child that excels in sports, this can be an issue. All team sports are coached by parents. The school does offer a Christian atmosphere and Mass is a regular part of the curriculum. All in all it is a great school with a lot of spirit.

Sacred Heart 5

Posted January 12, 2004
- a parent
My daughter is in 8th grade and has attended Sacred Heart since 2nd grade. She loves this school and the friendships she has made and will miss it tremendously. The parent involvement is overwhelming!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacred Heart
322 West Maple Street, Lombard, IL  60148
(630) 629-0536
Last modified Sacred Heart is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Sacred Heart Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top