Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

College Preparatry School Of America

Private | PK-12 | 420 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Lombard

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $182,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

We are fortunate to have an Islamic high school like CPSA that can prepare students for colleges like Harvard. Yes Harvard. The curriculum is demanding. Teachers are very good. If there is a downside it would be that the athletic facilities are minimal, and there is no separate area for prayer like attached masjid. The gym is small, about 5/8 the size of regulation basketball court. It's enough to get by. They have an expansion proposal for a new building but that is some time off till money is raised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

100% of our students go on to college and most of them to top universities. We offer around 10 AP courses each year. It is a great school to work in and to learn in.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 21, 2013

CPSA is a very good at weeding out all the trouble some kids due to their 'hard' admissions test. The people that have an issue with the school are not amongst the brightest so I agree that CPSA's a bit neglectful when it comes to helping slower kids. I love how everyone that tries to start a convo with the opposite gender gets in trouble because it keeps the standard high. If you excel in math and science, CPSA is the place for you. Everyone competes academically and good grades/SAT scores are looked up to.


Posted August 10, 2013

I absolutely hate CPSA. It was the worst thing ever. Like I had to choose between this place and Islamic Foundation and with much regret, I'd like to say that I chose CPSA. They never let me express my feelings enough. Sure I had friends there, but all they did was either bully or backbite. They are very strict on gender issues, for example once I said sorry to a guy and got in trouble. It is very small and claustrophobic. On the academic level it was great, but school is more than just studies, and I feel that's what they failed to implement into each kid. Overall, I wish I had not chosen CPSA and I hope they get better someday.


Posted August 1, 2013

Established in 1991, CPSA is a top private Islamic school with around 450 students PK through 12th grade. 100% of our students go on to college and most of them to top universities. We offer around 10 AP courses each year. It is a great school to work in and to learn in.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 7, 2012

I'll give the school that their curriculum is rigorous and challenges me. Before, I have never been challenged, no matter how many AP and Honors classes I took. But the challenge here is for the wrong reason. My grades are dropping because I simply do not have time to finish the sheer amount of homework we are given. Even after dedicating about 8 hours to homework, I am still not done. At my old high school, 1-2 hours was more than enough. That, and many of the teachers do not teach at all. One of my teachers spend the whole class period going over last nights homework, then assigns more without teaching. Another makes us read and take detailed notes on like 15-20 textbook pages on week nights. This does not mean, however that there are not good teachers. I do actually like many of my teachers. The people are also a plus. Religiously, they are wayy too strict with the whole gender thing, and some of the Islamic studies teachers teach the wrong things. The few extra curricular a are enjoyable; I think debate has made me some of the most awesome friends ever. Another thing is, these kids are not exposed to the real world unless they are on debate or MUN and that's very few of them


Posted April 22, 2010

great school for my kids. academically and religiously also.dedicated teachers and staff.hardworking parents and volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Great institution, excellent in academics and discipline. Cant beat the atmosphere of learning and morality it provides for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

This school is for those who are part of the elite. One student's parent told me to come there because I'd be given extra tutoring and extra classes to help me on the standerized tests and AP Exams. This school is great for those who are part of the elite. Those elite students are the ones that boost the school's high standerized test scores. The rest of the school don't receive much attention at all. Not only that, but the extra curriculars are lacking. There has to be something related to service and not just academic activities. CPSA also fails to give a realistic environment of the real world. They emphasize math and science, and becoming a doctor like that is the only profession that one can go in. If you are more interested in English and History, get out of there. CPSA doesn't care about the average student much.


Posted April 6, 2008

The golden years of CPSA have passed. The original staff Dr. Nafe PhD, Dr Parvez PhD, and Mr. Iftikhar MS that built the school under the founder Dr. Saleem are nearing the end of their tenure at CPSA. These individuals dedicated their lives to provide quality education to our teenage youth. The new staff that are coming in are far less productive, but it's not their fault. The problem is that CPSA has been increasing the class sizes to 35+ for the last several years (in the elementary grades). But now those elementary children have reached middle and early high-school. Can you imagine having 37 students in a single classroom with one teacher??? How can they teach that many kids in one class? The answer: They Can't! The teachers are frustrated and the quality of education has dropped considerably. The problem has now reached middle school as well as 9th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

CPSA was a great experience. Socially, the friends I made there are the best friends I've ever had. Cpsa gives the opportunity to develop relationships with your peers that public schools (which I also attended) could never offer. Although there are no music and art programs available, there is some focus on sports and and academia after class. Most students are involved in the Debate Team, Decathlon Team, WISE Team, peer tutoring, SAT classes, ACT classes, and long after school study sessions with the teachers themselves. I have never met more dedicated teachers in my life. The teachers stay extra hours to help the students. The results are astounding; show me one school that offers higher testscore averages, percentage of students in tops schools, and high moral values all in one. CPSA is a winner.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2006

CPSA has the best educational program in its area and is totally cool and fun, having gone there myself! CPSA is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2006

Really good academic progarams, very interactive activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

CPSA lacks in morality and respect. The staff is very unorganized and not effective at all. The students are very loud and rude. I had an awful experience there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2005

CPSA is an excellent institution providing top notch education and preparing students very well for college. The Islamic environment and discipline is what takes its students a long way-and what the students really need. It is sad that many people take Islamic schools for granted and don't appreciate for what it is giving us. The staff and teachers are always willing to help whether its teachers helping students with homework or parents needing assistance in paying tuition.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2005

CPSA IS THE BEST! It has the most devoted teachers and the Principal is one of a kind who can handle everything and the extracurricular activities are wonderful and many parents are involved, for there seen all around school, and it has one more thing no other school lets happen: fun. And on top of that we all learn what truly matters, once again, unlike any other school: Islam, so yes, it is better than all of you say, although it being not all high tech. So in the end, cpsa is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2005

Cpsa is the best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2004

If you want a 'rude' but highly educated child then you would send them here. This school pushes high achievement on tests but sorely lacks in the basics such as respect and good behavior. But why should they when you have a principal who is known to have a problem respecting both Muslim women and African-American Muslims. (But you will not have the problem if you are neither of the above.) I would not recommend CPSA if you want to wholly develop your child in both discipline, respect for other ethnicities, and good character development. Why teach the good principles of respect in Islam but not actually practice it? Socially the kids are really lacking. My advice, is try to visit them during recess. It has been cancelled due to the boys constantly fighting. What does that tell you?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

Although it is a Muslim Church School, it is meant for high income people only. It was in 1998 Once I was late for two days for fee payment my daughter was kept standing outside the class instead of informing me. I talked to the concern cashier/clerk he told me this is our policy and we will do what ever you like to do. This gave very bad psychological pressure to my daughter. The principal was kind enough to listen but the staff was rude. I took my daughter to public school and she was treated well with high level of education. I never advise any muslim to go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2004

The school is in a bad shape. Students freeze in the winter and sweat in summer. The quality of education has detoriated over the past 5 years. Lack of discipline, lack of parent involvment, lack of teacher follow-up, poor teaching techniques have reduced student interest and challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Farhat Siddiqui
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

331 West Madison Street
Lombard, IL 60148
Website: Click here
Phone: (630) 889-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sacred Heart
Lombard, IL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT