Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Landmark Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2016
- a community member
Great teachers and administration! My daughter is in thirs grade and really likes it here.

Landmark Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
Our kids started school at another school in McHenry's district and both we and they were so unhappy there. Since transferring them to Landmark, we have seen such growth both academically and socially. It is so nice to hear that your kids have had a great day when they get off the bus. The teachers, principal, and overall atmosphere is so different than the other McHenry schools. The calendar allows them time for a break in between quarters, minimizing burnout. The school as a whole has a private school feel to it with the level of care and community. With test scores as good as Landmark's I am surprised that the entire district hasn't adopted this format.


Landmark Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
We love this school... Mr Goodman is a fabulous 4-5th grade teacher. He makes class fun, exciting, and my daughter is learning and excelling! It's an all year school and learning continues all year. She misses school on weekends...which never happened before. They have fun activities outside of school too. Right now they are on Fall Intercession for 3 weeks and they have activities the kids can sign up for to make it fun. I would highly recommend this school.

Landmark Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
We continue to live in McHenry JUST because of this school. I feel so lucky to have my kids there, and to have been able and invited to play such a big part in their elementary education. Wonderful place.

Landmark Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
My oldest son is starting 2nd grade in July. He absolutely LOVES it! Their classes are loosely structured with leveled reading/texts, so that each student can learn at their own pace. Volunteerism is greatly encouraged among the parents, there are a lot of learning specialists on staff and we truly are a community in the school. We have talked about moving some place warmer (when it is winter here, hehe), he gets so upset! We asked him why he loves it so much. He loves having the same teacher for 2 years in a row, having the same classmates, & being able to learn from and mentor other kids (younger and older) in his class. He likes having intersession breaks/short summer breaks. He says that it's different, and it's good to be different. My 2nd son is a Kinder in July, and he can't wait!


Landmark Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2007
- a parent
Landmark is more than a wonderful school, it is a caring community. My daughter has flourished there thus far and I am looking forward to my other two children joining her.

Landmark Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2006
- a parent
The all school learning schedule makes it easy for the entire family to participate in extra learning activities. For example when our kinder is learning the names of the planets our fourth grader is learning about the path of comets. The multidisciplinary approach ensures that all learning styles will be helped and the multi-age classrooms give every child the chance to be a helper and be helped all in the same day. Parents are encouraged to be involved and welcomed with open arms. The extra curricular activities planned by the parents are varied in intrest however the district seems to hold them back at times. The school offers the best learning environment and encourages everyone to be their best, whatever that may look like.

Landmark Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2006
- a parent
My daughter and son went to Landmark when it first opened. My daughter was in fourth grade, my son in first. The schedule was great. Nine weeks on, three weeks off. It is the way to learn. We were involved in EVERYTHING! It was great. The music class was great! My daughter, now in ninth grade, still sings the songs from their memorable plays. My son (sixth grade) still has friends from their. As well as my daughter! The acedemics excell. My daughter did better there than any other school. My son, being LD, excelled also. He still remebers when the fourth and fifth graders, would go in and read to them. I highly reccomend Landmark as your choice as a school.


Landmark Elementary School 4

Posted September 02, 2003
- a parent
Landmark School is an incredible education journey for kids. We started our child in kinder, so the year around schedule didn't matter to us. The leadership is awesome and the parental involvement is phenominal! We love it - love the teachers, the staff and leadership! It is progressive yet still based with traditional school concepts. Let alone the summer retention is great!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Landmark Elementary School
3614 Waukegan Rd, Mchenry, IL  60050
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (815) 385-8120
Last modified Landmark Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top