Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Minooka, IL
Students enrolled: 2,534
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Minooka Community High School 1

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
I moved to Minooka for the quality education. Now they are making cuts in the High School and eliminating key teachers. I am super disappointed with the school board and would not recommend moving to an over taxed expensive area like Minooka. Especially when they are trying to reduce the quality of the schools.
1 person found this helpful

Minooka Community High School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a student
I am a student at MCHS and i am so happy with that. Teachers,students,principals and other persons are very nice to me and i didn't know any of English when i first started to high school at MCHS and now i am a junior and my English is really improved because of my friends', teachers' and hard works. I am glad I am in this school.


Minooka Community High School 5

Posted January 26, 2013
- a parent
This is my childs first year at Minooka South which has grades 9 & 10. She likes the school and is definitely being challenged in her classes. No problems with the teachers. As a parent I feel my child is getting a very good education that is preparing her for college.

Minooka Community High School 1

Posted December 22, 2012
- a parent
I have had three children attend the school and the amount of racism they experience from other students, teaches, and athletic coaches is extremely disappointing. I regret that they had to experience this type of treatment.
1 person found this helpful

Minooka Community High School 2

Posted October 06, 2010
- a parent
If your child is athletic this is a great school. If your child is an average student it is a good school. If you child is an high achiever this school is a disaster. Guidance is non-existant. Trying to get someone to respond to phone calls or e-mails is nearly imposible. Geting info. on classes for the next year or info. on colleges is totally your responsability. The split campus fresh/soph and junior/senior is a total failure. Most classes are offered to all students, but, then you are told that not enough kids chose a class at one campus or the other and therefore your child will not be able to take the class at that particular campus. It's is an absolute mess.
1 person found this helpful


Minooka Community High School 4

Posted June 22, 2010
- a parent
I was concerned about my son transitioning from a K-8 grade school to high school. Due to his father and I living in different school districts he had the opinion of either Minooka HS or Joliet Central. My son being on the shorter side (5ft) and white he was extremely overwhelmed with the size of Joliet Central and decided to go to Minooka HS. He is extremely happy and has done well with his grades as well being an A/B. student. I love having access to his grades and teachers emails at all times. Also with the school having 2 campuses, one for freshmen/sophomores and junior/seniors it is not overcrowded at all.

Minooka Community High School 2

Posted August 08, 2008
- a parent
I am concerned with the level of supervision available to the students due to the severe overcrowding! It remains to be seen whether or not it is addressed when the new school opens. Sometimes supervision is overbearing and invasive for no reason, while other times you see masses of students causing trouble in the hallways. Many teachers refuse to return phone calls too. Very disappointing.
1 person found this helpful

Minooka Community High School 5

Posted October 17, 2006
- a student
Im actually a student at MCHS and am very proud of the school and the education i recieve. The teachers really care and work their hardest to teach us what we need to know. The marching band is incredible in contest and exhibiton. The director Rick Anderson really knows what he's doing and works with the students to keep things improving. The school allows the students and parents alike to check grades near-realtime with an internet grade system known as powerschool. The principal, other administration, and teachers work hard to make the school the best they can.


Minooka Community High School 4

Posted January 22, 2006
- a parent
MCHS is a very good school. My son is doing fantastic at this school. His grades are up and he is sports focused. He is doing well and finds much success.

Minooka Community High School 2

Posted December 28, 2005
- a parent
Minooka Community High School had a wonderful reputation until growth in the area exploded. Now Minooka has turned from a small town, progressive school, to a place that holds a little bit of everything you hoped to escape by moving there. The halls and classrooms are overcrowded as are the busses- some kids have reported sitting in the aisles. Seniors this year had to sacrifice lockers due to lack of space.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Minooka Community High School
301 South Wabena Avenue, Minooka, IL  60447
(815) 467-2140
Last modified Minooka Community High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Minooka Community High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top