Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 57 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mokena

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $225,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

My son started at St. Mary School this Fall. The staff has been wonderful in their work with him as he tends to be a bit hyperactive. The school has so much to offer from art, music, theater, athletics and clubs. There are tons of social opportunities and ways to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

Great school. I am alumni and currently have 3 children attending St. Mary. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

This is a great school,with a great staff. I learned the most from this school than I did any other.


Posted February 14, 2013

This school was great prior to the new leadership, now it is poorly run and the discipline and direction is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

This school has a well rounded, faith based education. Our children have been at St. Mary's for over 5 years. My husband and I are very pleased with the level of education our children are receiving. Past issues such as math skill deficiencies have been addressed and now the students are learning at the next grade level. St. Mary's has been growing in enrollment since we arrived and the administration has successfully managed its growth. We would like to see more consistent discipline in and out of the classroom, but the level of discipline depends on the teacher. My children's favorite period is Faith Families because it reinforces their faith and helps build a bridge between all grade levels. We are also pleased with the extracurriculars such as spanish club, band, chess club, basketball, Battle of the Books, etc. The wonderful teachers are in sync and this helps build cohesiveness throughout the school and the curriculum. The school and the parents have made a major investment in technology this year and now all of the junior high students and teachers are using I-pads to further their education. Parents and staff are committed to making this a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

We have been at St. Mary School 4 years. Our experience has been most positive. My husband and I are extremely involved with school activities and feel we are knowledgeable about goings on in the school. Our children are happy and learning. I do get bothered by the casual clothes days for 50 cents and every time you turn around there is money needed for something, but that is life in a private school. I do believe the junior high grades, class sizes are too large. I think Spanish should be offered for the younger grades. It would also be great to have an after school program for children of working parents. I hope the new principal is as good or better than our current one. Mrs. Rozgo is an outstanding administrator and runs a tight ship. She deeply cares for the school and the children. She takes care of the staff and consistently works with them on team building. We have a very clean school. Our lunch program is top notch, but it takes a lot of volunteers to pull it off. The teachers go above what is expected of them. I LOVE St. Mary School! I'd also like to see Father Jim walk in to the classrooms a few times per week to say a hello to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

I too have been so disappointed with this school. It has low tuition but you get what you pay for. The upper grades have class sizes of 34 to 36 kids with no teacher's aid. The teachers consistently yell at the students; the yelling can sometimes be heard in the parking lot. Constructive discipline is nonexistent as the same students disrupt the classroom on a daily basis. The curriculum is woefully stale and the teachers seem to lack any ambition to do something about it. And the principal seems to be biding her time until retirement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

class sizes for upper grades are large +34-35 students to a class with no teacher aides. Families at school seem to be cliquish
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

Great school! The staff is fantastic and the Catholic teachings are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Hispanic 3% 24%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Beth A Cunningham
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Joliet
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11409 195th Street
Mokena, IL 60448
Phone: (708) 326-9330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT